我们在劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇的 20 英里步道提供了大量引人注目的植物群,我们希望帮助我们的朋友识别它们。欢迎阅读《LHT 上盛开的花朵》,这是默瑟县工厂持续推出的一系列“实地指南”。

十一月来了,这意味着 LHT 被最后的色彩所笼罩。但这不仅仅是秋天的树叶——还有鲜花盛开和浆果成熟。在霜冻之前出去看看是否能发现这些耐寒的花朵。

有翅漆树 (漆树) 也称为闪亮漆树、矮漆树或火焰叶漆树,原产于北美东部。翅漆树实际上是腰果科的一员,是一种中小型落叶乔木,高度很少超过 18 英尺。这些树木用途广泛,能够在阳光下或部分阴凉处茁壮成长;适应几乎任何土壤类型;甚至能够忍受沿海地区的盐雾。这意味着这些树很常见,一旦你知道要寻找什么,就很容易发现它们——它们是圆顶的,通常是灌木状,有低矮或下垂的树枝和多个树干;有光泽的杏仁形叶子;其特点是柔软的黄色夏季花朵丛,在秋季成熟为丰富的紫红色浆果和种子。这些浆果可以食用,也可以用来泡茶——如果你在鸟类之前到达它们,鸟类在秋季迁徙期间会被有翅漆树果实所吸引。现在,这些浆果与有光泽的红色叶子相连——这也是这种树常用于景观美化项目的众多原因之一。

LHT Winged Sumac
LHT Common Milkweed

普通乳草 (马利筋) 有时被称为蝴蝶花、丝草、丝燕草和弗吉尼亚丝草。该品种是原产于北美的多种马利筋之一,所有这些马利筋在切割时都会产生白色乳胶液体,因此得名。普通乳草在美国和加拿大落基山脉以东的大部分地区繁衍生息——除了最干燥的大草原之外的任何地方。这些多年生植物可以长到近六英尺高,在充足的阳光下茁壮成长,并且可以耐受大多数土壤类型。虽然普通马利筋实际上在夏季开花——在卵形、蜡质的叶子和有时微红色的茎和脉之间开出伞状的白色、粉红色或柔和的紫色小花,但最迷人的是它们的种子荚和种子,现在正在爆炸。它们有纹理,看起来很外星人——长方形的豆荚会裂开,露出长长的、蓬松的、毛茸茸的种子。普通乳草是生态系统极其重要的组成部分——超过 450 种传粉媒介和昆虫依赖该植物;帝王蝶幼虫专门以各种乳草为食。随着除草剂、栖息地丧失等原因,马利筋变得越来越不常见,帝王蝶也变得越来越少见。幸运的是,尽责的园丁正在本地花园和授粉花园中引入更多这些根茎植物。

日本金银花 (忍冬) 原产于东亚,1900 年代初作为观赏植物被引入美国和其他地区。虽然它在某些地方被认为是侵入性的,但您仍然可以将藤蔓引入新泽西州的花园 - 它生长速度快,具有可食用的花朵(避免植物的其余部分,但它可能有毒),具有甜味,香草香味,通常用于控制侵蚀或支持鹿和其他野生动物。这些藤蔓可以攀爬超过 30 英尺的树木和建筑物,可以通过其简单的椭圆形叶子和长长的双舌花(颜色从白色到淡黄色)来识别。秋天会产出球形的黑色浆果,伴随着最后一波花朵。年轻的植物有红色的、有毛的茎,而老的藤蔓是木质的,有时是空心的。植物通过枝条、根茎,甚至是以花朵和浆果为食的动物传播的种子,迅速传播——因此日本金银花出现在野外,特别是林地边缘或空地上。日本金银花适应性强,但在充足的阳光下生长最好。而且,在中医中,花和干叶可用于治疗流感、喉咙痛、炎症和其他疾病。

LHT Japanese Honeysuckle
LHT Carolina Horsenettle

卡罗莱纳州马荨麻 (卡罗林茄) 它不是荨麻,它实际上是茄科植物(包括茄子和西红柿)的成员。这种多年生草本植物也被称为魔鬼番茄、激进杂草、轻踩、沙荆棘或牛荨麻等地区和通用名称,原产于美国东南部,但已传播到这里的大多数温带地区,甚至欧洲。亚洲、澳大利亚。在卡罗莱纳马荨麻周围要小心:这些植物可能有毒,它们的茎和较大叶脉的底面布满了小刺。叶子有毛,长圆形,不规则浅裂;五瓣花较小,颜色从白色到浅紫色,中心呈黄色。这些花的结构与前面提到的番茄和茄子花(以及有毒的茄属植物)相似。这些植物长约三英尺高,结出类似西红柿的小浆果,从夏季到秋季都会开花和结果。各种鸟类、昆虫和哺乳动物以卡罗莱纳马荨麻为食,这种植物通过根茎或种子传播,无论土壤类型或湿度水平如何,都可以在阳光充足的牧场和道路上生长良好。

zh_CNChinese

Our 20 miles of trail in Lawrence and Hopewell Townships offer an abundance of eye-catching flora, and we want to help our friends identify them. Welcome to What’s Blooming on the LHT, an ongoing series of “field guides” to Mercer County plants.

November is here, and that means the LHT is awash in one last gasp of color. But it isn’t just about fall foliage — there are still flowers blooming and berries ripening. Get out there before the frost and see if you can spot these hardy blossoms.

Winged Sumac (Rhus copallinum) is also called shining sumac, dwarf sumac, or flameleaf sumac and is native to eastern North America. Winged Sumac is actually a member of the cashew family and is a small to medium-sized deciduous tree, rarely growing taller than 18 feet. These trees are versatile, able to thrive in sun or part shade; adapted to nearly any soil type; and are even able to tolerate salt spray in coastal areas. That means these trees are common and easy to spot once you know what to look for — they are domed and often shrublike with low or dropping branches and multiple trunks; have lustrous almond-shaped leaves; and feature soft yellow clumps of summer flowers that mature into rich purple-red berries and seeds in fall. The berries are edible and can be used in teas — if you get to them before the birds, which are drawn to Winged Sumac fruit during fall migration. Right now, those berries are joined by glossy red foliage — one of the many reasons this tree is commonly used in landscaping projects.

LHT Winged Sumac
LHT Common Milkweed

Common Milkweed (Asclepias syriaca) is sometimes referred to as butterfly flower, silkweed, silky swallow-wort, and Virginia silkweed. The variety is one of many kinds of milkweed native to North America — all of which produce a white latex liquid when cut, hence the name. Common Milkweed thrives throughout much of the United States and Canada east of the Rocky Mountains — everywhere except the driest prairies. These perennial plants can grow nearly six feet tall, thrive in full sun, and can tolerate most soil types. While Common Milkweed actually blooms during the summer — with umbrella like clusters of small white, pinkish, or soft purple flowers among ovate, waxy leaves and sometimes reddish stems and veining — it’s their seed pods and seeds, exploding now, that are most fascinating. They’re textured and alien-looking — oblong pods that split to reveal long, fluffy, hairy seeds. Common Milkweed is a tremendously important part of the ecosystem — over 450 pollinators and insects rely on the plant; and monarch butterfly larvae feed exclusively on various milkweeds. As milkweed has become less common — herbicides, habitat loss, and otherwise — so have monarchs. Fortunately, conscientious gardeners are introducing more of these rhizome plants in native and pollinator gardens.

Japanese Honeysuckle (Lonicera japonica) is native to eastern Asia and was introduced to the United States and other regions as an ornamental plant in the early 1900s. While it is considered invasive in some places, you may still introduce the vine to gardens here in New Jersey — it’s a fast grower, has edible flowers (avoid the rest of the plant, however, it can be poisonous), features a sweet, vanilla fragrance, and is often used for erosion control or to support deer and other wildlife. The vines can climb trees and buildings over 30 feet, and can be identified by their simple, oval leaves and their long, double-tongued flowers ranging in color from white to pale yellow. Spherical, black berries are produced in the fall, alongside a last wave of flowers. Young plants have red, fuzzy stems, while older vines are woody and sometimes hollow. Plants spread quickly via shoots, rhizomes, and even seeds spread by animals who feed off flowers and berries — hence the appearance of Japanese Honeysuckle in wild spaces, especially along the edges of or in clearings within woodland. Japanese Honeysuckle is adaptable but does best in full sun. And, in Chinese Medicine, the flowers and dried leaves are used to treat the flu, sore throats, inflammation and other ailments.

LHT Japanese Honeysuckle
LHT Carolina Horsenettle

Carolina Horsenettle (Solanum carolinense) isn’t a nettle — it’s actually a member of the nightshade family (which includes eggplant and tomatoes). Otherwise known as devil’s tomato, radical weed, tread-softly, sand briar, or bull nettle — among other regional and common names — the herbaceous perennial is native to the southeastern United States but has spread to most temperate regions here and even in Europe, Asia, and Australia. Be careful around Carolina Horsenettle: the plants can be poisonous, and their stems and the undersides of larger leaf veins are covered with small prickles. Leaves are hairy, oblong, and irregularly lobed; and five-petal flowers are small, ranging in color from white to light purple with yellow at the center. The blossoms are similar in structure to those aforementioned tomato and eggplant flowers (as well as the poisonous nightshade vine). Growing about three feet tall, the plants produce small berries resembling tomatoes with both flowers and fruit emerging throughout the summer into fall. Various birds, insects, and mammals feed on Carolina Horsenettle, which spread via rhizome or seed and do well in pastures and along roads in full sun no matter the soil type or moisture level.