我们在劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇的 20 英里步道提供了大量引人注目的植物群,我们希望帮助我们的朋友识别它们。欢迎来到 LHT上盛开着什么, 正在进行的默瑟县工厂系列“现场指南”。

LHT 上最后的秋色为我们许多本土蜜蜂和蝴蝶提供了芬芳的天堂。在野外,您能认出多少这种艳丽的花朵?

作为向日葵家族的一员, 高黄花或巨型黄花 (一枝黄花) 是一种本土野花,从加拿大到墨西哥盛开。该植物是多年生植物,可以达到四英尺高,并通过地下根茎迅速蔓延。它的特点是高大、有叶的茎,顶部有数百朵金黄色小花的三角形羽毛,在夏末出现,开花直至霜冻。高大的黄花在路边、草地和季节性水源丰富的开阔林地中茁壮成长。虽然豚草通常被认为是季节性过敏的罪魁祸首,但造成鼻窦问题最多的是豚草。相反,庆祝高大的黄花吸引了当地和候鸟和蝴蝶。

LHT Blooming on the Trail Goldenrod
LHT Blooming on the Trail Late Purple Aster

晚紫翠菊或传播紫苑 (Symphyotrichum patens) 是一种多年生草本野花,常见于从缅因州到墨西哥湾东海岸的草地和开阔林地。这些植物的高度可达三英尺,顶部开有淡蓝色到电紫色的花朵,中心直径约为一英寸,呈鲜艳的黄色。同样值得注意的是深色的椭圆形叶子,颜色几乎是黑色的。这些植物传播迅速,耐干旱和部分遮荫,是蜜蜂和蝴蝶的最爱。紫苑家族很大,晚紫苑很容易与其他物种混淆,包括新英格兰紫苑和光滑紫苑。

 另一种本土紫苑, 霜紫菀或毛白奥菲尔德紫菀 (柔毛交生霉) 也是一种多年生草本植物,原产于北美密西西比河以东从加拿大到墨西哥湾的地区。这种花对多种蜜蜂具有吸引力,常见于草原、林区、农田边界和路边。该植物生长茂密,高超过三英尺,茎基部为木质,呈红棕色,但顶部有绿色且略带绒毛的茎和椭圆形针状叶子。花朵很小,呈羽毛状,白色,中心呈鲜黄色,随着年龄的增长,花朵会变成深红色。开花一直持续到霜冻,丛生的花朵会产生纤细的白色种子,并迅速传播。

LHT Blooming on the Trail Frost Aster
LHT Blooming on the Trail Japanese Knotwood

 日本虎杖或亚洲虎杖 (虎杖) 是一种原产于东亚的入侵物种。这种植物像竹子一样,能长到 15 英尺高,有中空的茎、宽阔的椭圆形叶子,有红色的脉纹和微红色的茎,在夏末和秋季,会开出白色的小花。这种多年生木本植物于 1890 年代被引入纽约、新泽西和宾夕法尼亚州作为观赏园林植物,现已传播到北美大部分地区。日本虎杖能耐受大多数土壤类型、极端温度和各种湿度水平,繁殖迅速,沿着小溪和林地边缘形成单一栽培,窒息了原生植被。如果你看到日本虎杖,把它拔出来——只是要小心,不要散布它的小而大致呈三角形的种子。

zh_CNChinese

Our 20 miles of trail in Lawrence and Hopewell Townships offer an abundance of eye-catching flora, and we want to help our friends identify them. Welcome to What’s Blooming on the LHT, an ongoing series of “field guides” to Mercer County plants.

A last gasp of fall color on the LHT offers a fragrant haven for our many native bees and butterflies. How many of these showy blooms can you spot out in the wild?

A member of the sunflower family, Tall Goldenrod or Giant Goldenrod (Solidago gigantea) is a native wildflower that flourishes from Canada to Mexico. A perennial, the plant can reach four feet tall and spreads rapidly via underground rhizome. It features tall, leaved stalks topped with a triangular plume of hundreds of tiny golden yellow flowers appearing in late summer and blooming until frost. Tall goldenrod thrives along roadsides, in meadows, and in open woodland where water is seasonally abundant. Though commonly blamed for seasonal allergies, it’s ragweed that causes the most sinus trouble. Rather, celebrate tall goldenrod for attracting local and migrating birds and butterflies.

LHT Blooming on the Trail Goldenrod
LHT Blooming on the Trail Late Purple Aster

Late Purple Aster or Spreading Aster (Symphyotrichum patens) is an herbaceous perennial wildflower common in meadows and open woodlands along the east coast from Maine to the Gulf of Mexico. Growing up to three feet in height, the plants are capped with soft blue to electric violet flowers with vivid yellow centers that measure about an inch in diameter. Also notable are dark oblong leaves that can be almost black in color. The plants spread rapidly, are drought and part-shade tolerant, and are a favorite of honeybees and butterflies. The aster family is large, and late purple asters are easily confused with other species including New England aster and smooth aster.

 Another native aster, the Frost Aster or Hairy White Oldfield Aster (Symphyotrichum pilosum) is also an herbaceous perennial native to North America east of the Mississippi River from Canada to the Gulf. The flower, a magnet for several varieties of bee, is common in grasslands, wooded areas, farmland borders, and along roadsides. Growing bushy and over three feet tall, the plant’s stems are woody and reddish brown at the base but top off with green and slightly fuzzy stems and oblong, needle-like leaves. Flowers are small and feathery, white with vivid yellow centers that turn rich red as they age. Flowering continues until frost, and the clumped blooms produce wispy white seeds that spread rapidly.

LHT Blooming on the Trail Frost Aster
LHT Blooming on the Trail Japanese Knotwood

 Japanese Knotweed or Asian Knotweed (Reynoutria japonica) is an invasive species native to East Asia. Bamboo-like and capable of growing up to 15 feet tall, the plant has hollow stems, broad oval leaves with red veining and reddish stems, and, in late summer and fall, sprays of small white flowers. Brought to New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania in the 1890s as an ornamental garden plant, the woody perennial has spread to most of North America. Tolerant to most soil types, extreme temperatures, and various moisture levels, Japanese Knotweed multiplies rapidly, creating a monoculture along creeks and the edges of woodland, choking out native vegetation. If you see Japanese Knotweed, pull it out – just be careful to keep from spreading its small, roughly triangular seeds.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!