志愿者 是 LHT 的支柱 — 清理步道、安装标牌、对铺好的区域进行模板印刷,并密切关注我们交通繁忙的步道需要解决的许多维护问题。我们非常感谢这些人,我们想分享他们的 LHT 故事。如果您想加入我们的志愿者团队之一, 给我们发电子邮件 — 我们很乐意拥有您!

见面 弗吉尼亚纱丽 – 普林斯顿大学实验室协调员、杰出的助贷人、劳伦斯维尔居民、LHT 的明星志愿者之一。

LHT Volunteer Virginia Sari

2019 年 Sanna 和 Ginny 科学奥林匹克奖,由 Virginia Sari 提供

左心室: 您能向我们介绍一下您自己吗?
弗吉尼亚州: 我的名字是弗吉尼亚(金妮)莎丽。自 2007 年以来,我和丈夫图尔古特 (Turgut) 一直住在劳伦斯维尔,我有三个孩子:安吉拉 (Angela)、文森特 (Vincent) 和哈坎 (Hakan)。我在汉密尔顿广场长大,但在特伦顿的圣约阿希姆学校读小学,然后去了汉密尔顿的圣安东尼高中。随后,我以优异的成绩从菲尔莱·狄金森大学获得化学学士学位,并主修数学。到今年九月我就已经在普林斯顿大学工作了30年了!我是化学系的高级实验室协调员。我为本科生(大部分是新生)准备实验室,制作化学溶液,填充样品,设置和清理每周的实验室,并订购所有化学品、用品和设备。我在学年期间管理 11 名学生工人。在秋季学期,我为大约 350 名学生做准备,在春季学期为 200 名学生做准备。我热爱我的工作,希望还能再工作十年。这很有趣,我非常感激!

多年来,我一直为当地和全国的各种组织提供志愿服务。其中包括担任国家科学材料管理者协会 (NAOSMM) 的财务主管两届,我于 2012 年获得了该协会的服务奖,并于 2019 年获得了年度经理奖;并于 2006 年获得圣母无染原罪教会颁发的服务奖。此外,我还担任女童子军领袖六年,并担任童子军领袖六年。除了与当地学校的其他工作外,我在宾果游戏室里数了十年的钱,在 ICS 的篮球赛事中管理了大约 6 年的厨房。 2003 年之前,我还在特伦顿为 ISLES 经营着一个社区花园。目前,除了担任劳伦斯霍普威尔步道志愿者之外,我还是西特伦顿花园俱乐部的董事会成员以及尤因伯明翰花园委员会的成员。如果有人寻求帮助,我必须帮助他们!

左心室: 您在 LHT 做志愿者多久了?是什么促使您伸出援手?
弗吉尼亚州: 大约五年前,当我儿子还是一名童子军时,我开始为 LHT 做志愿者,当时 LHT 向男孩们发出了志愿者邀请。当我检查后,我发现他们也确实需要成年人。所以,我自己报名了。

左心室: 您从事过哪些类型的项目?
弗吉尼亚州: 在最初的四年里,我在附近的小径上工作 布雷利庄园 我主要修剪小径上悬垂的植被,并报告我是否发现任何问题。我还协助 Kurt Vollherbst 和其他人将步道标记挂在附近 普林斯顿派克省线公路。 今年,我被调到另一段路段进行监测。我现在拥有梅登黑德草甸部分 卡森路伍兹 我很享受我的新任务。

左心室: 您在其他步道或其他公园工作吗?在哪里以及什么类型的工作?
弗吉尼亚州: 我不在其他步道上工作,但我在尤因公园大道和熊酒馆路拐角处的伯明翰公园除草。我和其他五名成员是委员会的成员,负责识别公园里的所有植物并为它们做标记。这是一个正在酝酿中的好项目!到目前为止,西特伦顿花园俱乐部已经识别出许多植物,我们能够为该地点购买蓝星纪念标记。

左心室: 您是如何发现 LHT 的?您最喜欢哪些片段?
弗吉尼亚州: 直到我成为一名志愿者,我才知道 LHT!当然,我最喜欢的部分是我正在做的部分!

左心室: 您对其他考虑加入 LHT 的人有什么建议吗?
弗吉尼亚州: 我鼓励其他人参与其中,并引起了一个人的兴趣,她报名了。

zh_CNChinese

Volunteers are the backbone of the LHT — clearing trails, installing signage, stenciling paved areas, and keeping an eye out for the many maintenance issues that our heavily-travelled trails need addressed. We owe a lot to these folks, and we wanted to share their LHT stories. If you want to join one of our volunteer teams, shoot us an email — we’d love to have you!

Meet Virginia Sari – a laboratory coordinator at Princeton University, help-lending extraordinaire, Lawrenceville resident, and one of the LHT’s star volunteers.

LHT Volunteer Virginia Sari

Sanna and Ginny Science Olympiad Awards 2019, courtesy of Virginia Sari

LHT: Can you tell us a bit about yourself?
Virginia: My name is Virginia (Ginny) Sari. I have lived in Lawrenceville since 2007 with my husband, Turgut, and I have three — children Angela, Vincent, and Hakan. I grew up in Hamilton Square, but attended St. Joachim’s School in Trenton for elementary school, then I went to St. Anthony’s High School in Hamilton. I followed up with graduating Summa Cum Laude from Fairleigh Dickinson University for my bachelor’s degree in Chemistry with a second major in Mathematics. I will have worked for Princeton University for 30 years as of this coming September! I am the senior laboratory coordinator for the Chemistry department. I prepare the labs for the undergraduates, mostly freshman, and I make the chemical solutions, fill the samples, set up and clean up the weekly labs, and I order all the chemicals, supplies, and equipment. I supervise 11 student workers during the school year. In the fall semester, I prep for about 350 students, and 200 students in the spring semester. I love my job and hope to be able to work another ten years. It is lots of fun and I am so grateful!

I have volunteered for many years for various organizations locally and nationally. This includes serving two terms as treasurer for the National Association of Scientific Materials Managers (NAOSMM), where I received the service award in 2012 and manager of the year award in 2019; and receiving a service award from Immaculate Conception Church in 2006. Also, I have helped scouts as a girl scout leader for six years, and a cub scout leader for an additional six years. I counted the money in the Bingo room for ten years and ran the kitchen at the basketball events for about 6 years at ICS in addition to other work with local schools. I also ran a community garden in Trenton for ISLES until 2003. Currently, besides being a Lawrence Hopewell Trail volunteer, I am also on the board of trustees for West Trenton Garden Club and I’m on the Birmingham Garden committee in Ewing. If anyone asks for help, I must help them!

LHT: How long have you been volunteering on the LHT? What inspired you to lend a hand?
Virginia: I started volunteering for the LHT when my son was a boy scout about five years ago when the LHT sent out an invitation to the boys to volunteer. When I checked it out, I learned they really needed adults, too. So, I signed myself up.

LHT: What kinds of projects have you worked on?
Virginia: For the first four years, I worked on the trails near the Brearley House. I mostly clipped the overhanging vegetation on the trails and reported if I saw anything wrong. I also assisted Kurt Vollherbst and others in hanging the trail markers near Princeton Pike and Province Line Road. This year, I have been switched to another section of the trail to monitor. I now have the Maidenhead Meadows section up to Carson Road Woods and I am enjoying my new assignment.

LHT: Do you do work on other trails or in other parks? Where and what type of work?
Virginia: I am not working on other trails, but I am doing weeding at the Birmingham Park at the corner of Parkway and Bear Tavern Road in Ewing. I am on the committee with five other members to identify all the plants we have at the park and make markers for them. It is a fine project in the making! So far, the West Trenton Garden Club has identified many plants and we were able to acquire the Blue Star Memorial Marker for the site.

LHT: How did you discover the LHT? What are your favorite segments?
Virginia: I didn’t know about the LHT until I became a volunteer! Of course, my favorite sections are the ones that I work on!

LHT: Do you have advice for other folks who have thought about getting involved with the LHT?
Virginia: I have encouraged others to get involved and was able to get one person interested and she signed up.