志愿者是 LHT 的支柱——清理步道、安装标牌、对铺好的区域进行模板印刷,并密切关注我们交通繁忙的步道需要解决的许多维护问题。我们非常感谢这些人,我们想分享他们的 LHT 故事。如果您想加入我们的志愿者团队之一, 给我们发电子邮件 — 我们很乐意拥有您!

见面 特里·德尔·卡萨莱 – 一位退休工程师、狂热的自行车手、劳伦斯维尔居民以及 LHT 的明星志愿者之一。

左心室: 您能向我们介绍一下您自己吗?
特里: 我叫特里·德尔·卡萨尔,住在劳伦斯维尔。我拥有新泽西学院的工程学位,在航空航天工业和企业软件领域工作了 35 年,帮助向全国各地的企业销售复杂的技术解决方案。我和我的妻子艾德丽安娜最近退休了。我们花时间徒步旅行、散步和探索新泽西州当地的一切。所有我们工作时没有时间做的事情!

左心室: 您在 LHT 做志愿者多久了?是什么促使您伸出援手?

LHT Volunteer Terry Del Casale

由特里·德尔·卡萨莱提供

特里: 我已经为 LHT 做志愿者大约六年了。作为一名狂热的“混合”自行车手(使用我的混合动力模型自行车在公路和小径上骑行)和 LHT 步行者,我受到启发而提供帮助。我以前每天都会骑 LHT,每天行驶 10 英里——在 LHT 和镇上的丘陵街道上,我真的得到了很棒的锻炼!我和我的妻子也喜欢步行 LHT,尤其是 极地农场 我们喜欢在这里观赏鹰、候鸟、狐狸、鹿和众多野生动物。几年前的一个夏天的早晨,当我骑自行车时,我曾经发现一条非常大的赛车蛇穿过 LHT!志愿服务是我能提供的最好的“回馈”,小径和当地公园为我提供了所有的乐趣!

LHT Trail Sign

由特里·德尔·卡萨莱提供

左心室: 您从事过哪些类型的项目?
特里: 很多的。但首先,我要向我们的维护团队负责人 [兼 LHT 董事会成员] Kurt Vollherbst 致敬。 Kurt 是 LHT 所能要求的最好的步道维护领导者。我从他那里学到了很多东西,尤其是如何在水泥上安装标牌!他教我(和许多其他人)如何进行道路模板、正确的标志安装和道路清理。我曾经帮助 Kurt “开拓”LHT 的连接器部分 梅登黑德草甸 (普林斯顿派克)到布雷尔利别墅。那真是辛苦了!我在该地区安装了数十个 LHT 标志,并根据需要修复或更换它们。多年来,我一直是劳伦斯维尔部分的维护主管之一。但最重要的是,我总是尝试就 LHT 的状况以及需要改进的地方(尤其是引流方面)提供健康的反馈。

左心室: 您在其他步道或其他公园工作吗?在哪里以及什么类型的工作?
特里: 并不真地。 LHT 一直是我的主要关注点和热情所在,因为它就在我家附近!不过,我很高兴有机会在其他公园做志愿者。

左心室: 您是如何发现 LHT 的?您最喜欢哪些片段?
特里: 嗯,我们在这里居住了 24 年,所以我在它最初开发的时候就发现了它,并成为了当地报纸的头条新闻。我最喜欢的部分是杆农场(以 20 世纪 50 年代和 60 年代该地区排列的前高耸的 AT&T 天线杆命名,可用于拨打海外电话)。顺便说一句,该地区冷土路入口附近的展示和标牌是必看的。作为一名前电气工程师,我仍然惊叹于这个领域如何在这一关键电话传输技术的开拓中发挥如此重要的作用!

左心室: 您对其他考虑加入 LHT 的人有什么建议吗?
特里: 好吧,如果您经常使用 LHT,请考虑志愿服务。库尔特和这里伟大的团队总是可以使用额外的双手来帮助保持这条步道的宝藏处于最佳状态。这是一次非常有益的经历。

zh_CNChinese

Volunteers are the backbone of the LHT — clearing trails, installing signage, stenciling paved areas, and keeping an eye out for the many maintenance issues that our heavily-travelled trails need addressed. We owe a lot to these folks, and we wanted to share their LHT stories. If you want to join one of our volunteer teams, shoot us an email — we’d love to have you!

Meet Terry Del Casale – a retired engineer, avid cyclist, Lawrenceville resident, and one of the LHT’s star volunteers.

LHT: Can you tell us a bit about yourself?
Terry: My name is Terry Del Casale, I live in Lawrenceville. I have an engineering degree from the College of New Jersey, and I’ve spent 35 years in the Aerospace Industry and in the Enterprise Software space, where I helped sell complex technology solutions to corporations across the country. I’m recently retired, along with my wife Adrienne. We’re spending our time hiking, walking, and exploring all things locally New Jersey. All the things we didn’t have time to do while working!

LHT: How long have you been volunteering on the LHT? What inspired you to lend a hand?

LHT Volunteer Terry Del Casale

Courtesy of Terry Del Casale

Terry: I’ve been volunteering about six years for the LHT. I was inspired to help as an avid “hybrid” cyclist (riding both road and trails with my hybrid model bike) and walker of the LHT. I used to ride the LHT daily, putting in ten miles a day — I really get a fantastic workout from the LHT and hilly streets here in town! My wife and I also love walking the LHT, especially the Pole Farm area, where we enjoy spotting hawks, migrating birds, fox, deer, and the numerous wildlife here. While cycling one summer morning a few years ago, I once spotting a very large racer snake crossing the LHT! Volunteering is the best “give back” I can provide, with all the enjoyment the Trail and local parks have provided to me!

LHT Trail Sign

Courtesy of Terry Del Casale

LHT: What kinds of projects have you worked on?
Terry: Numerous. But first, I’d like to tip my hat to Kurt Vollherbst, our maintenance team lead [and LHT board member]. Kurt is simply the best trail maintenance leader the LHT could ask for. I’ve learned so much from him, especially how to mount signs in cement! He taught me (and many others) how to do road stenciling, proper sign-mounting, and trail clearing. I once helped Kurt “trail-blaze” the connector section of the LHT from Maidenhead Meadows (Princeton Pike) to the Brearley House. That was a lot of hard work! I’ve installed many dozens of LHT signs in the area and repaired or replaced them as needed. I’ve been one of the maintenance leads here for the Lawrenceville section for many years. Most importantly though, I always try to provide healthy feedback on the condition of the LHT, and where it needs improvement, especially with drainage.

LHT: Do you do work on other trails or in other parks? Where and what type of work?
Terry: Not really. The LHT has been my primary focus and passion, since it’s right here in my neighborhood! I would welcome the chance to help volunteer in other parks, however.

LHT: How did you discover the LHT? What are your favorite segments?
Terry: Well, we’ve been residents here for 24 years, so I discovered it during its initial development, making local headlines in the paper. My favorite segments are the Pole Farm (named after the former towering AT&T antenna poles that lined the area back in the 1950s and 60s, allowing for the first overseas Telephone calls). As a side note, the displays and signage near the Cold Soil Road entrance in this area are a must see. Being a former electrical engineer, I still marvel at how this area was so instrumental in the pioneering of this key phone transmission technology!

LHT: Do you have advice for other folks who have thought about getting involved with the LHT?
Terry: Well, if you use the LHT a lot, consider volunteering. Kurt and the great team here can always use an extra set of hands to help keep this treasure of a trail in top form. It’s a highly rewarding experience.