意见来源:《特伦顿时报》 发布日期:2008 年 8 月 19 日

风景和公民的自豪感……

一开始是“这不是很好吗?”大约八年前的想法现在是劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道。
这条 23 英里长的远足和自行车道将穿过劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇风景优美的林区,这证明了当不同的团体和个人为了共同的利益而聚集在一起时可以取得什么样的成就。

这条步道的大部分功劳都归功于劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道组织的负责人丽贝卡·泰勒和埃莉诺·霍恩。由于他们的辛勤工作和奉献精神,他们为自然之路赢得了支持,特别是来自企业捐助者百时美施贵宝和教育考试服务中心的支持,他们为该项目提供了资金和土地。泰勒女士曾在 Bristol-Meyers Squibb 工作。 Horne 女士是 ETS 社会投资基金的副总裁。

同样参与资金或规划的还有乡镇、默瑟县、州以及 Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association、D&R Greenway Land Trust、Lawrenceville Main Street、Princeton Free Wheelers 和 St. Lawrence 等团体康复中心。对于使这条道路成为现实同样重要的是无数为此付出时间和金钱的人。

这条踪迹已经零零碎碎地拼凑在一起。最近,穿过劳伦斯 184 英亩戴森地区的一段 3,000 英尺长的小路的计划获得批准,有必要改变路径,使其环绕受污染的土壤和湿地区域。据官员称,当戴森大道部分就位时,也许在今年年底之前,这条步道将完成一半。

大部分路线都已绘制出来,但有些路段的路线仍有待确定。劳伦斯的卡森路伍兹地区是一个关键区域。这片占地 183 英亩的保护区归劳伦斯所有,但通过公共和私人资金联合购买。一些私人投资者是附近的居民,他们对开辟一条穿过未受破坏的林区的道路持谨慎态度。我们希望合作精神将占上风,并找到妥协方案来完成这部分路线。幸运的是,$9百万条路线将于2012年完工。

这条小径的独特之处在于它穿过劳伦斯和霍普韦尔的一些最原始的部分。它还将连接到穿过城镇的其他小径。这条步道将为子孙后代提供欣赏风景宝藏的机会——如果没有开放空间倡导者的保护努力,大部分土地可能会因开发而消失。

五十年后,那些在这条小路上徒步旅行或骑自行车的人会认为这是理所当然的,没有意识到社区的努力使这一切成为可能。对于所有接受“这不是很棒吗?”的人想法并使其成为现实,我们表示感谢。

©特伦顿时报,2008

zh_CNChinese

Opinion By: Times of Trenton As published 08/19/2008

Of scenic and civic pride…

What started out as a “wouldn’t-it-be-great?” idea about eight years ago is now the Lawrence-Hopewell Trail.
The hiking and biking path that will make a 23-mile loop through scenic wooded areas of Lawrence and Hopewell townships is a testament to what can be accomplished when varied groups and individuals come together for a common good.

Much of the credit for the trail goes to Rebecca Taylor and Eleanor Horne, who head the Lawrence-Hopewell Trail organization. Thanks to their hard work and dedication, they have rallied support for the nature path, particularly from corporate donors Bristol-Myers Squibb and Educational Testing Service, which have contributed funds and land to the project. Ms. Taylor formerly worked for Bristol-Meyers Squibb. Ms. Horne is vice president if ETS’s Social Investment Fund.

Also playing a part either with funding or planning are both townships, Mercer County, the state, and groups such as the Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association, the D&R Greenway Land Trust, the Lawrenceville Main Street, the Princeton Free Wheelers and St. Lawrence Rehabilitation Center. Just as critical to making the pathway a reality are the countless individuals who contributed time and money to the effort.

The trail has been coming together in bits and pieces. Recently, plans were approved for a 3,000-foot section of the trail through the 184-acre Dyson tract in Lawrence, where it was necessary to alter the path so it would loop around contaminated soil and a wetlands zone. When the Dyson Tract section is in place, perhaps before the end of the year, the trail will be halfway complete, according to officials.

Much of the trail is mapped out, but there are sections where the route is still to be defined. A critical section is the Carson Road Woods tract in Lawrence. The 183-acre preserve is owned by Lawrence, but was purchased through a combination of public and private funds. Some of the private investors are nearby residents who are wary of cutting a path way through the unspoiled wooded area. We hope that the spirit of cooperation will carry the day and a compromise can be found to complete that part of the trail. With luck, the $9 million trail will be completed in 2012.

The trail is unique in that it goes through some of the most pristine sections of Lawrence and Hopewell. It will also link to other trails that run through the townships. The trail will provide future generations a chance to enjoy a scenic treasure — much of that land might have been lost to development if not for the conservation efforts of open-space advocates.

Fifty years from now, those hiking or biking on the trail will take it for granted, unaware of the community effort that made it possible. To all who took that “wouldn’t-it-be- great?” idea and made it a reality, we extend our thanks.

©The Times of Trenton, 2008