2005 年 8 月 28 日,星期日
泰晤士报,特伦顿

作者:米尔塔·达马托

劳伦斯—卡森路伍兹颇具争议的自行车/远足步道的倡导者呼吁支持者加入他们的写信活动,以支持他们为该项目获得财政支持的努力。

他们敦促那些支持劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道的人在做出州资助决定之前向州交通运输专员杰克·莱蒂尔(Jack Lettiere)发送电子邮件。

劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道项目协调员贝蒂·沃尔夫说:“与任何其他州政客一样,专员也会受到他们认为自己的行为会受到赞扬还是嘘声的影响。” “如果专员能够准确地了解对此的支持程度,那么我们获得资金的可能性就会大得多。”

沃尔夫还表示希望支持性的写信活动能够压倒对该计划的反对。

沃尔夫补充道:“相对少数非常直言不讳、非常有组织性和高度专注的人不赞成自行车道。” “当你有一个非常小、组织严密的团体时,你必须非常努力地组织公众。”

该计划的反对者表示,这条小路会破坏开放空间。

自行车道的支持者担心 2004 年交通部拒绝了 $200,000 州拨款申请时发生的事情会重演。

劳伦斯市市长帕姆·芒特 (Pam Mount) 指责这条道路的反对者减少了获得这些资金的机会。

现在,该镇已向 NJDOT 申请了 $225,000 当地援助自行车道计划拨款,并正在等待消息,该拨款将为 20 英里自行车道中的 0.9 英里路段提供资金,供骑自行车者、步行者和残疾人使用。

芒特表示,她对 NJDOT 将提供资金充满信心。

“这是一个公园,花了 $800 万购买那块土地,这样就不会进行大规模的住房开发,”芒特说。 “劳伦斯镇的居民有权进入该公园。这条步道将成为鼓励人们使用我们公园的一种美妙、令人兴奋、无干扰的方式。”

该镇同意为该步道额外提供 $22,500 或 $225,000 的 10%。

自20世纪80年代以来,卡森路伍兹地区一直受到开发商的青睐。 2001年,该镇筹集了$840万,从南不伦瑞克省G. Rieder & Sons公司的George Rieder和Gary Rieder手中购买了这块土地。

特拉华力登绿道 (Delaware Raritan Greenway) 帮助支付了 $840 万的部分费用,该项目提供了 $300 万的资金;百时美施贵宝 (Bristol-Myers Squibb) 投入了 $100 万美元。

2002年,商人和政府官员提议耗资$6百万修建全长20英里的劳伦斯霍普威尔步道。这条步道将环绕劳伦斯镇和霍普威尔镇,连接三个百时美施贵宝公司中心、教育考试服务总部,并穿过劳伦斯维尔学校、默瑟县公园西北、罗斯代尔公园和石溪米尔斯通流域协会保护区的场地。

此后,步道的几段已经完工,包括霍普韦尔镇区的部分路段和穿过 Rosedale 路 ETS 校区的路段,一条长约 1.2 英里的路线,以及从劳伦斯维尔入口处开始的另一条约 2 英里的连接路段。学校从路易斯维尔路 (Lewisville Road) 出发,终点位于耶格尔路 (Yeager Road) 的乡村公园 (Village Park)。

据沃尔夫称,大约 150 封支持卡森路伍兹路段的电子邮件已发送给专员。

“我们非常期待 NJDOT 的决定,并希望他们能够帮助我们打造真正能够为整个地区的人们带来巨大改变的东西,”沃尔夫补充道。

©2005 时代.

zh_CNChinese

Sunday, August 28, 2005
The Times, Trenton

By MIRTA D’AMATO

LAWRENCE – Advocates of the controversial biking/hiking trail through the Carson Road Woods have called on supporters to join them in a letter-writing campaign in support of their efforts to get financial support for the project.

They are urging those in favor of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail to e-mail state Transportation Commissioner Jack Lettiere before a state funding decision is made.

“The commissioner, like any other state politician, is influenced by whether or not they think they are going to get applauded or booed in what they do,” said Betty Wolfe, Lawrence Hopewell Trail program coordinator. “If there is a sense, an accurate reading by the commissioner, of the degree of support for this, then we are a lot more likely to get funding.”

Wolfe also expressed hope that a supportive letter-writing campaign will drown out opposition to the plan.

“There are a relatively small number of very vocal, very organized and highly focused people who are not in favor of the bike path,” Wolfe added. “When you have a very small, highly organized group, you have to work very hard to organize the general public.”

Opponents of the plan have said the trail would disrupt the open space.

Supporters of the bike path fear a repeat of what happened in 2004 when DOT denied a $200,000 state grant application.

Lawrence Mayor Pam Mount blamed opponents of the trail for diminishing the chances of getting those funds.

Now the township has applied for, and is awaiting word on, a $225,000 Local Aid Bikeway Program grant from NJDOT to finance a 0.9-mile section of the 20-mile bike trail intended for cyclists, walkers and the disabled.

Mount said she is confident that NJDOT will provide the funds.

“This is a public park, $8 million (was spent) in buying that land, so that there wouldn’t be a huge housing development,” Mount said. “The residents of Lawrence Township have a right to have access to that park. This trail is going to be a wonderful, exciting, non-disruptive way of encouraging people to use our park.”

The township agreed to provide an additional $22,500 or 10 percent of the $225,000 for the trail.

Since the 1980s, the Carson Road Woods tract had been sought by developers. In 2001, the township raised $8.4 million to buy the parcel from George Rieder and Gary Rieder of G. Rieder & Sons of South Brunswick.

Helping to foot part of the $8.4 million tab were the Delaware Raritan Greenway, which provided $3 million; and Bristol-Myers Squibb, which kicked in $1 million.

In 2002, merchants and government officials proposed the 20-mile Lawrence Hopewell Trail at a cost of $6 million. The trail would loop through Lawrence and Hopewell townships, and connect three Bristol-Myers Squibb corporate centers, Educational Testing Service headquarters and pass through the grounds of the Lawrenceville School, Mercer County Park Northwest, Rosedale Park and the Stony Brook Millstone Watershed Association Reserve.

Since then, several sections of the trail have been completed, including part of the Hopewell Township leg and segments through the ETS campus on Rosedale Road, a route of about 1.2 miles, and another connection of about 2 miles beginning at the entrance to the Lawrenceville School from Lewisville Road and ending in Village Park on Yeager Road.

According to Wolfe, about 150 e-mails in support of the Carson Road Woods section have been sent to the commissioner.

“We are really looking forward to NJDOT’s decision and hope that they do help us build what is really going to make a huge difference to people in this whole area,” Wolfe added.

©2005 The Times.