作者:约翰·特雷迪亚(John Tredea),特约撰稿人, 合和谷新闻 发布日期:2006 年 4 月 27 日

YAC 的另一个主要重点是研究拟议的青少年中心

   霍普韦尔镇青年咨询委员会 (YAC) 敦促地区官员完成劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道 (LHT),因为它在娱乐和交通方面将是一项安全且重要的资产。
目前完工还不到一半,这条小路将是一条 20 英里的环路,穿过两个乡镇。一些官员和居民提议修建支线,其中包括一条连接霍普韦尔谷中央高中和主环路的支线。
4月24日致镇委员会的一封信中写道:“由于缺乏安全的交通,我们许多青少年无法参加课外活动。”
YAC 成员苏姆拉·艾哈迈德 (Sumra Ahmed) 在周一晚上的镇委员会会议上大声宣读了这封信,信中补充道:“这条步道的竣工将……建立从学校到其他地方的安全连接,例如霍普韦尔谷滑板公园(位于该镇市政局附近的 546 号公路上)建筑)。同样,这条小径本身就是一项娱乐活动,因为它可以骑自行车、滑旱冰、健身步行等。请放心,我们将教育我们的同学了解以下活动的好处和积极使用的必要性:踪迹。”
YAC 成员 Desiree Grace 周一晚上告诉委员会,YAC 目前的另一个主要重点是研究拟议的硅谷青少年中心。
YAC 包括 10 名青少年和 4 名成年人。除了 Ahmed 女士和 Grace 女士,学生还包括 Kaitlyn Gregory、Eileen Guo、Rosie Rarich、Lena Klett、Lauren Sheidler、Kevin Smith、Tim Korwin 和 Tom Petrino。
成年成员包括镇委员会委员 Mark Iorio、居民 Kim Bruno、中央高中社会研究系主任 Jack Wolff 和中央高中副校长 Dennis Vinson。
镇委员会成员周一表达了对YAC的支持。一位官员表示:“感谢您的光临,请继续努力。”
YAC 致乡镇政府的信函副本已发送给 LHT 委员会、州交通部、新泽西学院市政土地使用中心、美国国会议员 Rush Holt、州议员 Reed Gusciora 和州参议员 Shirley Turner。

©邮包在线 新闻分类娱乐业务 – 普林斯顿和新泽西中部 2006 年

zh_CNChinese

By: John Tredea, Staff Writer , Hopewell Valley News As published 04/27/2006

YAC’s other main focus is to study a proposed teen center

   Hopewell Township’s Youth Advisory Committee (YAC) is urging area officials to complete the Lawrence-Hopewell Trail (LHT), because it would be a safe and important asset in terms of both recreation and transportation.
Less than half finished at present, the trail would be a 20-mile loop through the two townships. Some officials and residents have proposed spurs off the trail, including one linking Hopewell Valley Central High School to the main loop.
“Many of our youth are unable to participate in after-school activities due to lack of safe transportation,” an April 24 letter to the Township Committee stated.
The letter, read aloud during Monday night’s Township Committee meeting by YAC member Sumra Ahmed, added: “Completion of the trail would … create safe connections from the schools to other places such as the Hopewell Valley Skate Park (on Route 546 near the township’s Municipal Building). Similarly, the trail would be a recreational activity in itself because it would allow for bike riding, roller-blading, fitness walking, etc. Please rest assured we will educate our fellow students on the benefits of, and the need for positive use of, the trail.”
The YAC’s other main focus at present is to study a proposed teen center for the Valley, YAC member Desiree Grace told the committee Monday night.
The YAC includes 10 teens and four adults. In addition to Ms. Ahmed and Ms. Grace, the students are Kaitlyn Gregory, Eileen Guo, Rosie Rarich, Lena Klett, Lauren Sheidler, Kevin Smith, Tim Korwin and Tom Petrino.
The adult members are Township Committeeman Mark Iorio, resident Kim Bruno, Central High School social studies department head Jack Wolff and Central High Vice Principal Dennis Vinson.
Members of the Township Committee expressed their support for YAC Monday. One official said: “Thanks for coming and keep up the good work.”
Copies of the YAC letter to township government have been sent to the LHT Committee, the state Department of Transportation, the Municipal Land Use Center at the College of New Jersey, U.S. Congressman Rush Holt, state Assemblyman Reed Gusciora and state Sen. Shirley Turner.

©PACKETONLINE News Classifieds Entertainment Business – Princeton and Central New Jersey 2006