明天不会步行庆祝卡森路伍兹成立 20 周年

计划中的穿过卡森路伍兹的劳伦斯霍普威尔步道徒步旅行推迟至 7 月 17 日下周六上午 9:30 开始

虽然 LHT 周六早晨步行俱乐部原计划于 7 月 10 日在卡森路伍兹举行会议,但由于热带风暴艾莎的影响,这次步行活动以及步道本身都遭到了破坏。艾尔莎在最后一天倾盆了 1.5 英寸的降雨——加上本周之前的强降雨——使劳伦斯·霍普威尔步道 (Lawrence Hopewell Trail) 这段美丽的路段大部分被淹没在水中,无法容纳明天的步行。

LHT SMWC Carson Road Woods

7 月 10 日卡森路伍兹的小径路线。谷歌 地图。

步行俱乐部成员原计划与卡森路伍兹之友的领导层一起庆祝劳伦斯镇保护公园伍兹成立 20 周年。但正如 CRW Friends 负责人约翰·马歇尔 (John Marshall) 报道的那样,道路太湿了。他指出,一周后,沿途的黑莓和其他食物将会更加茂盛。

俱乐部会员和其他任何希望下周步行的人都被邀请在卡森路附近的停车场见面,靠近省线路的交叉口。步行者将穿越约三英里的树林,欣赏美丽的田野、伟大的小径(包括劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道)、一些野生动物、山毛榉森林、野生葡萄、黑莓和黑胡桃等。 (请参阅下面有关卡森路伍兹 20 年历史的信息。)

步行预计将于上午 11 点左右结束,之后约翰和一些邻居邀请所有有兴趣的人多停留一段时间,了解更多有关卡森路伍兹的信息。

卡森路伍兹 20 周年

二十年前的这个月,在地方、县和州政府、营利性和非营利性公司及其他实体以及 300 多名公民的努力下,最终签署了购买劳伦斯镇 183 英亩土地的合同。该地块现在被称为卡森路伍兹 (Carson Road Woods),原计划成为一个拥有 200 户住宅的社区。

2001 年,D&R Greenway Land Trust 牵头筹集了 $300 万的私人捐款(其中包括来自 Bristol-Myers Squibb 的 $100 万),并汇集了来自 Green Acres、默瑟县、劳伦斯镇保护基金会和新泽西州农田保护计划的资金从开发商处购买房产。

当年12月18日,劳伦斯镇政府将其永久保留,使其成为第二大市政公园。因此,183英亩未受破坏的森林和农田没有在过去二十年的一系列开发商的手中遭受迫在眉睫的破坏。

在最初的保存后不久,一个名为“卡森路之友”的非正式团体
伍兹”开始规划和监督该地产从活跃的农业区向被动的休闲保护区的转变。

朋友们最初只是一小群当地居民,后来人数迅速增长。 2003 年 7 月,由于朋友会的活动范围不断扩大,以及公众参与持续保护财产的强烈愿望,朋友会被合并为 501(c)(3) 公共慈善机构。

作为一个正式组织,之友会维护着五英里长的有标记的煤渣小径、草皮小径和树木繁茂的小径。之友还组织公共自然远足,为社区团体提供导游服务,带领维护人员保持财产清洁并可供公众使用,并编写了一份详尽的历史纲要,描述了该财产 300 年的历史。

劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道 (Lawrence Hopewell Trail) 于 2012 年并入卡森路伍兹 (Carson Road Woods)。它从卡森路东侧附近的百时美施贵宝 (Bristol Myers Squibb) 出发,穿过伍兹中心,到达罗斯代尔路 (Rosedale Road) 附近的米亚大道 (Mya Drive),继续前往教育考试服务中心。

欲了解更多信息,请访问 www.carsonroadwoods.com。

zh_CNChinese

Walk to Celebrate 20th Anniversary of Carson Road Woods Won’t be Tomorrow

The planned Lawrence Hopewell Trail walk through Carson Road Woods is postponed until next Saturday, July 17, starting at 9:30 a.m.

While the LHT Saturday Morning Walking Club had planned to convene in Carson Road Woods on July 10, the walk — and the trails themselves — were a washout, thanks to Tropic Storm Elsa. The 1.5 inches of rain Elsa’s dumped over the last day — on top of previous heavy rainfall this week — left too much of this beautiful segment of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail literally under water to accommodate a walk tomorrow.

LHT SMWC Carson Road Woods

July 10 trail route in Carson Road Woods. Google Map.

Walking club members had planned to join with the leadership of the Friends of Carson Road Woods to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the Woods a preserved park in Lawrence Township. But as John Marshall, lead for the CRW Friends, reports, the paths are just too wet. And he points out that the blackberries and other edibles along the trail will be even lusher a week from now.

Club members and anyone else who wishes to walk next week are invited to meet at the parking lot off Carson Road, near its intersection with Province Line Road. Walkers will crisscross through approximately three miles of the Woods, enjoying beautiful fields, great trails – including the Lawrence Hopewell Trail – some wild critters, a beech forest, and wild grapes, blackberries and mockernuts, among other features. (See information about the 20-year history of Carson Road Woods below.)

The walk is expected to finish around 11 a.m., after which John and some neighbors have invited all who are interested to stay a bit longer and learn more about Carson Road Woods.

CARSON ROAD WOODS 20TH ANNIVERSARY

Twenty years ago this month, efforts by local, county and state governments, for-profit and non-profit corporations and other entities and more than 300 private citizens culminated with the signing of a contract to purchase 183 acres of land in Lawrence Township. Now known as Carson Road Woods, the parcel had been slated to become the site of a 200-home neighborhood.

In 2001, the D&R Greenway Land Trust led the effort to raise $3 million in private donations – including $1 million from Bristol-Myers Squibb – and brought together funds from Green Acres, Mercer County, the Lawrence Township Conservation Foundation and the N.J. Farmland Preservation Program to purchase the property from a developer.

On December 18 that year, Lawrence Township government permanently preserved it, making it the second largest municipal park. Thus, 183 acres of unspoiled forest and farmland was spared imminent destruction at the hands of the latest in a long line of developers spanning the previous two decades.

Shortly after the initial preservation, an informal group called the “Friends of Carson Road
Woods” began to plan and oversee the transition of the property from an active agricultural area to a passive recreational preserve.

Starting out as a small group of local residents, the Friends quickly grew in number. In July 2003, due to the growing scope of the Friends’ activities, and the public’s overwhelming desire to participate in the continued preservation of the property, the Friends were incorporated as a 501(c)(3) public charity.

As a formal organization, the Friends maintain five miles of marked cinder, turf, and wooded trails. The Friends also organize public nature hikes, conduct guided tours for community groups, lead maintenance crews to keep the property clean and accessible to the public, and have produced an exhaustive historical compendium describing the 300-year history of the property.

The Lawrence Hopewell Trail was incorporated into Carson Road Woods in 2012. It wends its way from nearby neighbor Bristol Myers Squibb on the eastern side of Carson Road through the center of the Woods to Mya Drive off Rosedale Road, continuing on to Educational Testing Service.

For more information, please visit www.carsonroadwoods.com.