作者:约翰·特雷迪亚(John Tredea),特约撰稿人, 合和谷新闻 发布日期:2006 年 4 月 6 日

3 月 29 日的听证会约有 65 人出席

   3 月 29 日,在霍普韦尔镇市政大楼举行的劳伦斯霍普威尔步道 (Lawrence Hopewell Trail) 公众会议上,大多数居民和官员在出席人数众多的公众会议上发表讲话,对部分完工的劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道 (LHT) 表示强烈支持。
约 65 人出席了由州交通部 (NJDOT)、LHT、霍普威尔镇和劳伦斯官员举行的听证会。
霍普韦尔镇副镇长大卫·桑达尔最近表示,听证会将是“霍普韦尔镇和劳伦斯镇居民了解更多关于这条步道的机会,并为步道计划提供意见。”
桑达尔先生还指出,“在向新泽西州交通部和其他州机构提出技术规划和建设拨款申请之前,成功的公开听证会是关键的一步。该路线的资金最终将通过联邦、州、县、市和私人资金筹集,包括个人和企业的捐款。”
如果按照目前的提议完成,劳伦斯霍普威尔步道将成为一条 20 多英里的多功能休闲步道,穿过劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇的公共和私人土地。这条路线的施工工作于五年前开始。
“这条步道正在进行中,最终步道的确切路线将取决于默瑟县劳伦斯镇和霍普威尔镇、私人土地所有者和相关公民的意见,”该步道的网站:lhtrail.org
该计划旨在使这条步道适合步行者、慢跑者、骑自行车者,并为残疾人提供尽可能多的通道,因为它穿过企业园区、学校操场、村庄、田野、林地以及沿着现有的道路和街道。
步道的四段已完工并可供公众使用。以绿色三角形 LHT 标志为标志,它们的位置是:
o 劳伦斯村公园 – 铺好的小路从 Yeager Drive 穿过公园,沿着 Craven Lane,穿过村庄到达 Gordon Lane 和 Main Street 的拐角处(206 号公路)。
o 劳伦斯维尔学校 (Lawrenceville School) – LHT 标志引导步道使用者穿过绿树成荫的校园,到达路易斯维尔路 (Lewisville Road) 的出口。
o 霍普韦尔镇区 Pennington-Rocky Hill 路 – 百时美施贵宝园区内铺设的一英里长小路位于 Old Mill 路和 Titus Mill 路之间,为这段非常繁忙的道路提供安全通道。 LHT 经过一个受欢迎的季节性农产品摊位,让用户可以欣赏周围国家保护的农田的景色。
o 劳伦斯镇 (Lawrence Township) 的 ETS 校区 – 在主汽车入口附近的 Rosedale 路上寻找 LHT 步道标志,即可进入这个公园般的校区,其中包括石溪 (Stony Brook) 沿岸的 Green Acres 开放空间。步道的另外两段正在积极规划中。第一条将连接劳伦斯维尔村公园和彭宁顿-洛基山路段。第二个项目将启动劳伦斯维尔学校和 ETS 之间的联系。这两个部分是:
o 默瑟县公园西北区 - 默瑟县规划者正在为默瑟县公园西北区制定总体规划,其中包括一条长长的 LHT 步道,穿过劳伦斯镇 Keefe 路上的旧 AT&T 地产,以及县马术中心和 Rosedale 公园,与合和镇联邦城市路接壤。最终计划将在今年秋天的听证会上征求公众意见。
o 劳伦斯镇 – 已为两个新步道请求 NJDOT 拨款。其中一段将穿过该镇的卡森路伍兹地产。另一条较长的路段将从路易斯维尔路开始,穿过与普林斯顿派克接壤的乡镇开放空间,穿过区域堆肥场的普林斯顿派克,继续穿过法克勒路拐角处的加特丹县公园。
在 3 月 29 日的会议上进行提问和评论之前,州交通部 (DOT) 的自行车和行人协调员谢里·戴维斯 (Sheree Davis) 做了简短发言。她表示,LHT 与提议的全州自行车和步行网络“非常契合”。戴维斯女士表示,“培养支持骑自行车和步行的道德”需要“致力于建设基础设施”。她说,此类基础设施带来的好处有很多,包括健康锻炼的机会,以及在锻炼的同时在有吸引力的地方与邻居见面的机会。
会议公共部分的第一位发言者是劳伦斯镇市长迈克尔·鲍尔斯(Michael Powers),他说:“我个人非常致力于这条路线……我们正在成为一个沙发土豆的国家。我们必须鼓励体育活动,而不仅仅是年轻人。”
“这将是家人和朋友一起骑自行车和步行的机会。已完成的路段正在得到大量使用。它将年轻人与自然世界联系起来。希望其中大部分都适合轮椅使用者,”副市长桑达尔说。
许多居民也发表了类似的评论,其中包括联邦城市路的欧文·布劳迪(Irv Broudy),他说:“我和我的妻子都赞成这条步道。允许人们骑自行车上下班确实会给我们的社区带来一些好处。”布劳迪先生补充说,他认为小路的铺设应保持在最低限度。然而,参与 LHT 规划的官员表示,这可能会减少步道上的残疾人通道数量。
居住在劳伦斯卡森伍兹附近的几位居民坚决认为不应该在那里铺设这条小路。 “现在那些树林里有五英里长的小径,”住在卡森伍兹附近的劳伦斯男子说。 “沥青没有任何意义。”
劳伦斯农民特德·赫伯特表示,多年来,他一直面临着无数入侵者的麻烦,并且担心如果这条步道靠近他的农场,问题将会增加,就像目前提议的那样。
几位发言者回答说,这条线索实际上可能对赫伯特先生有帮助。 “我倾向于相信,他们可以遵循的道路实际上会让人们远离你的土地,”一名男子说。

©邮包在线 新闻分类娱乐业务 – 普林斯顿和新泽西中部 2006 年

zh_CNChinese

By: John Tredea, Staff Writer , Hopewell Valley News As published 04/06/2006

About 65 people were on hand for March 29 hearing

   Strong support for the partially complete Lawrence Hopewell Trail (LHT) was voiced by most of the residents and officials who spoke during a well-attended public meeting on the trail at the Hopewell Township municipal building March 29.
About 65 people were on hand for the hearing, held by state Department of Transportation (NJDOT), LHT, Hopewell Township and Lawrence officials.
Hopewell Township Deputy Mayor David Sandahl said recently that the hearing would be an “opportunity for residents of both Hopewell and Lawrence townships to learn more about the trail, and provide input on trail plans.”
Mr. Sandahl also noted that “a successful public hearing is a critical step before technical planning and construction grant applications can be made to NJDOT and other state agencies. Funding for the trail ultimately will be raised through a mix of federal, state, county, municipal, and private funds, including contributions by both individuals and corporations.”
If completed as presently proposed, the Lawrence Hopewell Trail would be a 20-plus mile loop of multipurpose, recreational trails through public and private lands in Lawrence and Hopewell townships. Work on the trail began five years ago.
“The trail is a work in progress, and the exact route of the final trail will depend on input from Lawrence and Hopewell townships, Mercer County, private landowners and concerned citizens,” states the trail’s Web site: lhtrail.org
The plan is to make the trail suitable for walkers, joggers, bikers, with as much handicapped access as possible, as it passes through corporate campuses, school grounds, villages, fields, woodlands and along existing roads and streets.
Four sections of the trail have been completed and are available for public use. Marked by green triangular LHT signs, their locations are:
o Lawrence Village Park – Paved trail leads from Yeager Drive through the park, down Craven Lane and through the Village to the corner of Gordon Lane and Main Street (Route 206).
o Lawrenceville School – LHT signs lead trail users through the leafy campus to an exit onto Lewisville Road.
o Pennington-Rocky Hill Road, Hopewell Township – Paved mile-long trail on the Bristol-Myers Squibb campus runs between Old Mill Road and Titus Mill Road to provide safe passage on this stretch of a very busy road. The LHT passes a popular seasonal produce stand and allows users to enjoy views of surrounding state-preserved farmlands.
o ETS campus, Lawrence Township – Look for the LHT trail sign on Rosedale Road near the main auto entrance to enter this park-like campus, which includes Green Acres open space along the Stony Brook. Another two sections of the trail are actively being planned. The first will connect the Lawrenceville Village Park with the Pennington-Rocky Hill Road section. The second will initiate a link between the Lawrenceville School and ETS. These two sections are:
o Mercer County Park Northwest – Mercer County planners are developing a master plan for Mercer County Park Northwest that includes a long stretch of LHT trails through the old AT&T property on Keefe Road in Lawrence Township, as well as the County Equestrian Center and Rosedale Park, which border Federal City Road in Hopewell Township. Public input on the final plan will be sought at a hearing this fall.
o Lawrence Township – NJDOT grants have been requested for two new trail sections. One section would lead through the township’s Carson Road Woods property. Another, longer section would start on Lewisville Road, go through township open space lands that border Princeton Pike, cross Princeton Pike at the Regional Composting Site to continue on through Gatterdam County Park at the corner of Fackler Road.
BEFORE QUESTIONS and comments were taken during the March 29 meeting, Sheree Davis, bicycling and pedestrian coordinator for the state Department of Transportation (DOT), spoke briefly. She said the LHT “fits in nicely” with a proposed statewide bicycling and pedestrian network. Ms. Davis said “fostering a pro-bicycling and walking ethic” requires a “commitment to build the infrastructure.” The benefits such infrastructure would make available are many, she said, including opportunities for healthy exercise and a chance to meet neighbors in an attractive place while getting it.
The first speaker during the public section of the meeting was Mayor Michael Powers of Lawrence Township, who said: “I’m personally very committed to the trail… We’re becoming a nation of couch potatoes. We have to encourage physical activity, and not just in young people.”
“This would be an opportunity for families and friends to bike and walk together. The completed sections of the trail are getting heavy use. It will connect young people to the natural world. Hopefully much of it will be wheelchair accessible,” said Deputy Mayor Sandahl.
Many residents made similar comments, including Irv Broudy of Federal City Road, who said: “Myself and my wife are in favor of the trail. To allow people to commute by biking would really add something to our communities.” Mr. Broudy added that he thought the paving of the trail should be kept to a minimum. That could reduce the amount of handicapped access on the trail, however, officials involved in planning the LHT said.
Several residents who live near the Carson Woods in Lawrence were adamant that the trail should not be paved there. “There are five miles of trails in those woods now,” a Lawrence man who lives near Carson Woods, said. “Asphalt doesn’t make any sense.”
Lawrence farmer Ted Herbert said he has had myriad troubles with trespassers for many years and fears they will increase if the trail goes near his farm, as it would if created as currently proposed.
Several speakers replied that the trail might actually help Mr. Herbert. “I’m inclined to believe a path they could follow would actually tend to keep people off your land,” one man said.

©PACKETONLINE News Classifieds Entertainment Business – Princeton and Central New Jersey 2006