这是一个受教的时刻 艺术家杰夫·查尔斯沃斯 建议参加周六艺术节的一位艺术家 “慢看自然写生行走” 沿着劳伦斯·霍普威尔步道 (Lawrence Hopewell Trail),用她的绘图铅笔变得更加大胆。

瓦莱丽·拉什莫尔 是二十个人之一,他们沿着小径画了一棵 30 英尺高的黑槐树。 卡森路伍兹 但她的铅笔痕迹很淡,除了她自己之外,任何人都几乎看不出来。

经过三个小时的步行,穿过小径,进入树林中美丽且凉爽的山毛榉树林,瓦莱丽把这个建议牢记在心。当每个人与小组分享他们的艺术作品和学习成果时,她自豪地举起了山毛榉林中树干的美丽而大胆的草图。她的笔触展现出自信和细节,即使在 15 英尺外,草图也清晰可见。

LHT Art Walk July 2020 Valerie Rushmore

瓦莱丽·拉什莫尔分享她的作品

LHT Art Walk 2020

在 Covid-19 期间特意限制了参加活动的所有步行者,但他们都非常尊重彼此的安全。每个人都戴着口罩,只是在六英尺的“社交距离”内交谈时才放下口罩,或者在许多情况下,彼此之间的距离要远得多。事实上,在其他时候,班级里的人可能会显得格格不入,人们之间的距离最远有 30 英尺甚至更远——当然,除非他们是家庭成员。

甚至 专业摄影师安德鲁·克罗斯, 另一位参加步行的人按照杰夫的指示慢慢地观察一切。杰夫 (Jeff) 教授景观设计、种植设计和图形学 位于多伊尔斯敦的特拉华谷大学, 警告参与者抛开他们对一棵树、一幅风景或一片叶子的先入为主的想法,并重新审视他们要画的东西。对于安德鲁来说,这意味着通过他的相机镜头“素描”。他所看到的叶子或浆果与他想象的非常不同。

此次艺术之旅是 LHT 主办的第二次此类徒步活动,不久的将来还将举办另一次活动。这是因为到周五晚间,即活动前一天,报名表上又列出了 21 人在等待名单上。 请留意即将发布的另一次步行的公告。

LHT Art Walk July 2020 Photo by Andrew Cross

安德鲁·克罗斯摄

zh_CNChinese

It was a teachable moment when artist Jeff Charlesworth suggested that one of the artists participating at Saturday’s “Slow Looking and Nature Sketching Walk” along the Lawrence Hopewell Trail get bolder with her drawing pencil.

Valerie Rushmore was one of a score of people sketching a 30-foot high black locust tree along the trail in Carson Road Woods but her pencil marks were very light, barely discernible to anyone but to herself.

By the end of the three-hour walk that went through trails and into a lovely – and cooler – beech tree grove in the woods, Valerie had taken that counsel to heart. As everyone shared their artworks and their learnings with the group, she proudly held up a beautiful, bold sketch of a tree trunk from the beech grove. Her strokes showed confidence and details, and even from 15 feet away, the sketch was perfectly visible.

LHT Art Walk July 2020 Valerie Rushmore

Valerie Rushmore sharing her work

LHT Art Walk 2020

All walkers at the event, with its purposely limited enrollment during Covid-19 times, were very respectful of each other’s safety. Everyone wore masks, only lowering them to talk at a “social distance” of six feet, or in many cases, much farther away from each other. In fact, in other times, the class might have seemed disconnected, with people ranging as far away from each other as 30 or more feet – unless they were family members, of course.

Even professional photographer Andrew Cross, another attendee at the walk, followed Jeff’s instructions to look slowly at everything. Jeff, who teaches landscape architecture, planting design and graphics at Delaware Valley University in Doylestown, had cautioned participants to put aside their preconceived ideas of what a tree, or a landscape, or a leaf looks like, and to look freshly at what they were going to sketch. For Andrew, that meant “sketching” through his camera lens. And what he saw was very different than he might have otherwise thought a leaf or a berry looked like.

The art trek, the second such walk hosted by the LHT, will be followed by another in the near future. That’s because by late Friday, the day before the event, the sign-up sheet listed another 21 people on the waiting list. Watch for an announcement about another walk soon.

LHT Art Walk July 2020 Photo by Andrew Cross

Photo by Andrew Cross

Share This

Share this post with your friends!