新泽西州彭宁顿 #41 部队的童子军最近帮助童子军同伴 Neal Bakshi 完成了他的 Eagle 项目,在霍普韦尔百时美施贵宝研究中心园区的劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道旁建造了一个新的信息亭。巴克希 (Bakshi) 是一位来自彭宁顿 (Pennington) 的 15 岁学生,是普林斯顿走读学校 (Princeton Day School) 二年级的优等生。

“我喜欢骑自行车,并且认为 LHT 对社区很有好处,”Bakshi 说。 “作为成为一名 Eagle Scout 工作的一部分,我必须管理信息亭的规划、采购、审批、捐赠、建设和完工。合和谷狮子俱乐部是我最大的财务捐助者之一。”
据 Bakshi 介绍,整个项目耗时 400 多个小时。他说,大约一半的时间都花在沿着 3000 平方英尺的步道建造亭子和清理灌木丛上。童子军还美化了景观并种植了三棵果树(苹果、桃子和油桃)。

LHT 联席总裁兼 ETS 副总裁 Eleanor Horne 表示:“我们非常感谢 Neal、#41 部队的其他童子军、合和谷雄狮队和百时美施贵宝为我们的路线添加了一个新的信息亭。” “这对于需要查阅整体地图、路线和其他参考资料的追踪用户来说将是一个很大的帮助。”

Bakshi 和 Horne 指出,新的售货亭与劳伦斯镇 ETS 校园步道附近已有的售货亭相匹配。

“尼尔展现了鹰级童子军所需的领导力,”LHT 联合总裁丽贝卡·泰勒 (Rebecca Taylor) 说道。 “他的主动性和干劲让我们所有人都感到非常自豪。有了尼尔和百时美施贵宝等支持者的支持,我们知道这条道路将会发展壮大。”

新亭位于泰特斯米尔路 (Titus Mill Road) 旁,沃戈路 (Wargo Road) 正对面,位于步道一英里路段的入口处,为沿着彭宁顿落基山路 (Pennington Rocky Hill Road) 非常繁忙的路段旅行的徒步旅行者、慢跑者和骑自行车者提供安全通道。

20 英里 LHT 沿线的其他一些目的地包括劳伦斯维尔学校、劳伦斯维尔主街区、劳伦斯镇公园、西北默瑟县公园、罗斯代尔公园、霍普韦尔镇开放空间、石溪-米尔斯通流域协会农田和教育考试服务中心 (ETS) 校园。步道组织者表示,超过一半的 LHT 将于今年年底向公众开放,预计于 2012 年全面竣工。

巴克希从六岁起就成为一名童子军,他很快就赞扬了其他人的帮助。
“我要感谢 LHT、我的童子军同伴、合和谷狮子俱乐部、我的其他捐助者以及百时美施贵宝的支持,”他说。 “先生。丹尼斯·弗林和百时美施贵宝的布莱恩·帕内克先生在整个过程中为我提供了帮助。”

Bakshi 还感谢 Inder Kapoor 博士的贡献,他是一位朋友和导师,提供了构建工具和指导;他的童子军队长,来自霍普韦尔的吉姆·诺维茨基先生;百时美施贵宝公司的 Lisa McCormick Lavery 女士;以及他的父母 Aneesh 和 Simi,感谢他们“总是帮助我做任何需要做的事情,为我的项目自愿贡献时间和资源,并相信我和我成为一名鹰级童子军的梦想。”

zh_CNChinese

Boy Scouts from Troop #41 in Pennington, NJ, recently helped fellow Scout Neal Bakshi complete his Eagle project by building a new information kiosk next to the Lawrence Hopewell Trail on the campus of the Bristol-Myers Squibb research center in Hopewell.  Bakshi, a fifteen year-old from Pennington, is an honor student in his sophomore year at Princeton Day School.

“I love to bike and think the LHT is great for the community,” said Bakshi.  “As part of my work to become an Eagle Scout, I had to manage the planning, procurement, approvals, donations, construction and completion of the kiosk.  The Hopewell Valley Lions Club was one of my biggest financial donors.”
According to Bakshi, the entire project took over 400 hours.  He said about half of the time was spent building the kiosk and clearing brush along a 3000 sq. ft section of the trail.  The Scouts also landscaped and planted three fruit trees (apple, peach and nectarine).

“We are very grateful to Neal, the rest of the Scouts from Troop #41, the Hopewell Valley Lions and Bristol-Myers Squibb for adding a new kiosk to our trail,” said Eleanor Horne, LHT Co-President and Vice President of ETS.  “It will be a big help to trail users who need to consult an overall map, directions and other reference materials.”

Bakshi and Horne noted the new kiosk matches one that already stands near the trail segment running through the ETS campus in Lawrence Township.

“Neal has shown the leadership required of an Eagle Scout,” said Rebecca Taylor, LHT Co-President.  “His initiative and drive make all of us very proud.  With supporters such as Neal and Bristol-Myers Squibb, we know the trail will grow and thrive.”

The new kiosk is located off of Titus Mill Road, directly across from Wargo Road, at the entrance to a one-mile section of the trail that provides safe passage for hikers, joggers and cyclists traveling along a very busy stretch of Pennington Rocky Hill Road.

Some of the other destinations along the 20-mile LHT include Lawrenceville School, the Main Street district of Lawrenceville, Lawrence Township parks, Mercer County Park Northwest, Rosedale Park, Hopewell Township open spaces, the Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association farmlands, and the Educational Testing Service (ETS) campus.  Trail organizers say over half of the LHT will be accessible to the public at the end of this year, with full completion slated for 2012.

Bakshi, who has been a Scout since he was six, was quick to praise others for their assistance.
“I want to thank the LHT, my fellow Scouts, the Hopewell Valley Lions Club, my others donors, and Bristol-Myers Squibb for their support,’ he said.  “Mr. Dennis Flynn and Mr. Brian Panek of Bristol-Myers Squibb assisted me throughout the process.”

Bakshi also acknowledged the contributions of Dr. Inder Kapoor, a friend and mentor who provided construction tools and guidance; his Scoutmaster, Mr. Jim Nowicki of Hopewell; Ms. Lisa McCormick Lavery of Bristol-Myers Squibb; and his parents, Aneesh and Simi, for “always helping with whatever needed to be done, volunteering their time and resources for my project, and believing in me and my dream to become an Eagle Scout.”