玫瑰山

也许您注意到了,LHT 这段路段的路况比较艰难,也比较崎岖。从这里开始,小径向东蜿蜒至省线,穿过玫瑰山山脊的高地地貌的岩石南侧。这条山脊以路边的十字路口小村庄命名,从洛基山和金斯敦东西走向,经过普林斯顿以北,终止于霍普韦尔自治市以西。玫瑰山 (Mount Rose) 的定居点于 1820 年代扎根,建立了两家商店和一所校舍,并因当地园丁种植的优质玫瑰而得名。
LHT Mt Rose Traprock Quarry

特拉华河沿岸采石场之一的辉绿岩采石场,约 1938 年(新泽西州档案馆,新泽西作家项目照片集)。

从地质学上来说,玫瑰山山脊是一个辉绿岩岩台,是由于火山侵入而在地下形成的,它向上、穿过较古老的沉积岩层并在它们之间形成,但实际上从未到达地球表面。
由于周围较软的页岩被磨损和冲走,坚硬、耐用的辉绿岩(此处以红色显示(左))已暴露出来。该山脊是新泽西州几个相关的侵入火山地貌之一,包括附近的彭宁顿山、鲍德佩特山和苏兰山,以及哈德逊河西侧曼哈顿对面的帕利塞德山高耸的悬崖。它们均形成于约 1.75 亿至 1.95 亿年前的侏罗纪早期,当时恐龙在地球表面漫步。
直到 20 世纪 30 年代,辉绿岩一直在距这里以西几英里的 Cope 采石场的 Crusher 路开采,直到最近,这里还是一个珍贵的游泳洞。这条路以采石场的碎石机命名。
辉绿岩(也称为圈板岩)不再沿玫瑰山山脊开采,很快就会在霍普威尔地区仅存的一个活跃采石场停止开采,该地区位于毗邻特拉华河的鲍德佩特山西端。破碎的陷岩非常适合用于道路建设以及保护大西洋海岸线的码头和挡土墙。
LHT Historic Site Mt Rose

新泽西州地质调查局,三叠纪地层,1867 年。

LHT Mt Rose Cradle Rock
在摇篮岩拍照:距此约一英里的玫瑰山脊上有一块巨大的辉绿岩巨石,是野餐和拍照的绝佳地点,拍摄时间约为 1890 年。乔治 H. 弗里斯比摄影作品集,霍普韦尔谷历史学会。
LHT Mount Rose Map
单击 Google Maps™ 中的图像了解详细信息

感谢您的支持!

© 版权所有 2024. Lawrence Hopewell Trail
是非营利性组织,符合 501(c)(3) 条款。EIN:20-0511132

劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道

历史悠久的狩猎屋
布莱克威尔路197号
新泽西州彭宁顿 08534
info@lhtrail.org

留在循环中。

zh_CNChinese

MOUNT ROSE

Perhaps you noticed, the going has been a little tougher and hillier along this section of the LHT. From this point, winding eastward to the Province Line, the trail traverses the rocky southern flank of an upland landform known as the Mount Rose ridge. Named for the crossroads hamlet just up the road from here, the ridge runs east-west from Rocky Hill and Kingston, passing north of Princeton and terminating just west of Hopewell Borough. The settlement of Mount Rose took root in the 1820s with the establishment of a pair of stores and a schoolhouse, soon after acquiring its name from the fine roses grown by a local gardener.
LHT Mt Rose Traprock Quarry

Diabase quarry at one of the quarries alongside the Delaware River, circa 1938 (New Jersey State Archives, New Jersey Writers’ Project Photograph Collection).

Geologically, the Mount Rose ridge is a diabase sill, formed underground as a volcanic intrusion forcing its way up, through and between older layers of sedimentary rock, but never actually reaching the earth’s surface.
The hard, durable diabase, shown in red here (left), has since been exposed as the softer surrounding shale has been worn down and washed away. The ridge is one of several related intrusive volcanic landforms in New Jersey, including the nearby Pennington, Baldpate and Sourland Mountains and the soaring cliffs of the Palisades Sill along the west side of the Hudson River across from Manhattan. All were formed in the Early Jurassic period some 175 million to 195 million years ago, a time when dinosaurs roamed the earth’s surface.
Up until the 1930s, diabase used to be mined just a couple of miles west of here on Crusher Road at the Cope Quarry, until recently a treasured swimming hole. The road is named for the quarry’s stone crusher.
Diabase, also known as traprock, is no longer mined along the Mount Rose ridge and will soon cease at the one remaining active quarry in the Hopewell area, at the western end of Baldpate Mountain adjacent to the Delaware River. Crushed traprock is well suited for road building and for the jetties and retaining walls protecting the Atlantic shoreline.
LHT Historic Site Mt Rose

Geological Survey of New Jersey, Triassic Formation, 1867.

LHT Mt Rose Cradle Rock
Photo op at Cradle Rock: a massive diabase boulder along the Mount Rose ridge a mile or so from here provides a perfect perch for a picnic and a fetching photograph, circa 1890. George H. Frisbie Photograph Collection, Hopewell Valley Historical Society.
LHT Mount Rose Map
Click the image for details in Google Maps™

Thank you for your support!

© Copyright 2024. Lawrence Hopewell Trail
is a not-for-profit, section 501(c)(3). EIN: 20-0511132

The Lawrence Hopewell Trail

The Historic Hunt House
197 Blackwell Road
Pennington, NJ 08534
info@lhtrail.org

Stay in the loop.

en_USEnglish