省际线

当您沿着省线徒步或骑自行车沿着 LHT 时,您就是在追随测量官乔治·基思 (George Keith) 的足迹。 1687 年春天,基思用了两个月的时间勘察了一条穿过殖民地新泽西州荒野的线路,试图解决其英国所有者之间的土地纠纷。他所划定的边界,被称为基思线或省线,多年来将新泽西州分为东泽西和西泽西两个省。
LHT Province Line Old Map
想象一下,当欧洲人认为新泽西州是处女地时,这片土地由第一位可以宣称并保有它的君主神圣权利拥有。英国的土地掠夺始于 1664 年,当时国王查理二世的兄弟约克公爵詹姆斯从荷兰西印度公司手中夺取了新荷兰殖民地。詹姆斯将新泽西州授予两位朝臣,乔治·卡特雷特爵士和约翰·伯克利勋爵,他们是第一批所有者。他们以英吉利海峡的泽西岛命名他们的殖民地泽西岛。
1676 年,卡特雷特和四名购买了伯克利最初一半股份的人一致认为,将殖民地一分为二的边界应从大西洋海岸的小蛋港向西北延伸到特拉华河上游的假定交汇点。当时东泽西和西泽西之间的边界尚未正式确定。
殖民测量工具依赖于基本的几何学和天文学。金属链在地面上延伸来测量距离,磁罗盘确定方向,经纬仪测量角度。这些工具制作精美,但并不准确,按照现代土地测量的标准,会产生很大的误差。
东泽西和西泽西的划分导致了混乱。业主出售并细分土地,通常从未踏足泽西岛并使用粗略的地图。
1686年,东泽西首任总督罗伯特·巴克利在西泽西总督丹尼尔·考克斯博士的默许下,任命乔治·基思测量两省之间的分界线。基思从小蛋港出发,完成了大约三分之二的任务,然后被叫停。省线向西延伸太远,将剥夺西泽西业主数百万英亩的土地。作为权宜之计,边界重新向东延伸,沿着主要河流到达纽约边境的一个点。
如果不是业主、英格兰当局和定居者之间因土地租金和有争议的契约而关系紧张,新泽西可能仍然是两个独立的殖民地。 1702 年,在土地所有权日益混乱的情况下,东泽西和西泽西重新统一为皇家殖民地。创建省线的原因早已消失在历史中,但它仍然存在于新泽西州的政治边界中。这里省线公路是劳伦斯镇和普林斯顿之间的分界线。附近,它也是亨特登县、萨默塞特县和默瑟县之间的边界,以及霍普韦尔-蒙哥马利、霍普韦尔-普林斯顿和劳伦斯-韦斯特温莎的市政边界。
LHT Province Line Keith Line Digitization
Keith Line 1687 数字化
LHT Province Line Colonial Instruments
经纬仪和冈特链(colonialinstruments.com 和 Antique Nauticals India)。
LHT Province Line Governors
从左至右:西泽西州州长 Daniel Coxe;乔治·基思 (George Keith),监察长;罗伯特·巴克利,东泽西州州长。
LHT Province Line Map
单击 Google Maps™ 中的图像了解详细信息

感谢您的支持!

© 版权所有 2024. Lawrence Hopewell Trail
是非营利性组织,符合 501(c)(3) 条款。EIN:20-0511132

劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道

历史悠久的狩猎屋
布莱克威尔路197号
新泽西州彭宁顿 08534
info@lhtrail.org

留在循环中。

zh_CNChinese

PROVINCE LINE

As you hike or bike the LHT alongside Province Line Road, you are following in the footsteps of Surveyor-General George Keith. For two months in the spring of 1687, Keith surveyed a line through the wilderness of colonial New Jersey in an attempt to settle a land dispute between its English proprietors. The boundary he established, referred to as the Keith Line or the Province Line, for many years divided New Jersey into the two provinces of East Jersey and West Jersey.
LHT Province Line Old Map
Imagine a time when Europeans considered New Jersey virgin land, owned by divine right by the first monarch who could claim it and hold onto it. The English land grab started in 1664 when James, Duke of York, the brother of King Charles II, seized the New Netherland colony from the Dutch West India Company. James granted New Jersey to two courtiers, Sir George Carteret and John, Lord Berkeley, the first proprietors. They named their colony Jersey, after the Isle of Jersey in the English Channel.
In 1676, Carteret and four men who had bought Berkeley’s original half share agreed that a boundary splitting the colony in two should extend northwesterly from Little Egg Harbor on the Atlantic Coast to an assumed point of intersection on the Upper Delaware River. The boundary between East Jersey and West Jersey was not formalized on the ground at the time.
Colonial surveying tools relied on basic geometry and astronomy. Metal chains were stretched out on the ground to measure distances, magnetic compasses determined direction, and theodolites measured angles. The tools could be beautifully crafted, yet inaccurate, introducing large errors by the standards of modern land survey.
The division of East and West Jersey was a recipe for confusion. The proprietors sold and subdivided land, often never having set foot in the Jerseys and making use of sketchy maps.
In 1686, Robert Barclay, the first governor of East Jersey, with the tacit approval of Dr. Daniel Coxe, the absentee governor of West Jersey, appointed George Keith to survey the dividing line between the two provinces. Starting in Little Egg Harbor, Keith completed about two thirds of his mission before being called to a halt. The Province Line was trending too far west and would rob the West Jersey proprietors of millions of acres. As a stopgap solution, the boundary was re-routed to the east, following major stream courses to a point on the New York border.
New Jersey might have remained two separate colonies but for the strained relations among the proprietors, the authorities back in England and the settlers over land rents and disputed deeds. In 1702, amidst growing land ownership chaos, East and West Jersey were reunited as a royal colony. The reasons for creating the Province Line have long faded into history, yet it persists in New Jersey’s political boundaries. Here Province Line Road is the boundary between Lawrence Township and Princeton. Nearby, it is also the boundary between Hunterdon, Somerset and Mercer counties, as well as the municipal boundaries of Hopewell-Montgomery, Hopewell-Princeton and Lawrence-West Windsor.
LHT Province Line Keith Line Digitization
Keith Line 1687 Digitization
LHT Province Line Colonial Instruments
Theodolite and Gunter’s Chain (colonialinstruments.com and Antique Nauticals India).
LHT Province Line Governors
Left to right: Daniel Coxe, Governor of West Jersey; George Keith, Surveryor-General; Robert Barclay, Governor of East Jersey.
LHT Province Line Map
Click the image for details in Google Maps™

Thank you for your support!

© Copyright 2024. Lawrence Hopewell Trail
is a not-for-profit, section 501(c)(3). EIN: 20-0511132

The Lawrence Hopewell Trail

The Historic Hunt House
197 Blackwell Road
Pennington, NJ 08534
info@lhtrail.org

Stay in the loop.

en_USEnglish