偏远地区的磨坊和桥梁

两个世纪前,这里还是一个偏僻的地方。石溪沿着狭窄、蜿蜒、树木繁茂的山谷迅速流淌。没有桥梁,没有磨坊,景观中没有任何迹象表明这里是 1687 年穿过殖民地新泽西州荒野测量省线的地方。几代人以来,这里的土地一直掌握在戈尔登家族手中,新泽西州农民的根源同样可以追溯到 17 世纪末。
LHT History Golden's Mill

从 1957 年上游望去,可以看到沃伦小型桁架桥的南端,该桥建于 1903 年,用于取代之前的桥梁。(图片由默瑟县工程部提供)。

1840 年代末,雅各布·戈尔登 (Jacob Golden) 在石溪河畔首次安装了一家锯木厂。锯木厂使用水力纵锯生产板材,其中大部分是橡木。
1870 年左右,增建了一家面粉厂,戈尔登聘请查尔斯·坦普尔 (Charles Temple) 和他的儿子约翰 (John) 担任磨坊主。 1880 年,查尔斯·坦普尔 (Charles Temple) 的另一个儿子塞缪尔 (Samuel) 也在面粉厂工作,该厂用三套磨石研磨小麦粉、饲料和印度玉米粉。制粉作业是季节性的、小规模的、短命的;木材和谷物加工在 1880 年代之后都没有继续进行。工厂倒闭的原因仍然扑朔迷离。是经济吗?石溪是否被洪水淹没并损坏了工作设施?
米尔水坝有时兼作堤道,桥梁横跨水坝和废气门。有时,工厂附近会架起一座独立的独立桥。
工厂的客户希望从小溪两岸进入工厂。石溪上第一座承载省线公路的桥梁何时建成也不得而知。可能是在 1864 年之后不久,当地居民向默瑟县请求修建一座桥梁。从当年的地图上可以看出,一座桥梁似乎建于 1875 年。 1882年,修复了桥台并更换了木甲板。目前的跨度是沃伦小马桁架,由康涅狄格州柏林的柏林建筑公司建造,并于 1903 年安装在旧石墩和桥台上,是该县同类类型中最长、保存最完好的跨度之一。
默瑟县发布了一份修复和更换 1880 年代初存在于此的早期桥梁的征求建议书。
LHT History Golden's Mill
雅各布·戈尔登 (Jacob Golden) 的磨坊是他 149 英亩农场的一个重要焦点(埃弗茨和斯图尔特,《新泽西州默瑟县劳伦斯镇地图集》,1875 年)。
LHT History Golden's Mill
LHT History Golden's Mill
特伦顿州公报,1882 年 10 月 20 日
LHT History Golden's Mill

1903 年拟建新桥的施工图。这座桥至今仍屹立不倒。图片由 Mercer County 工程部提供。

LHT Mill and Bridge History Map closeup
单击 Google Maps™ 中的图像了解详细信息

感谢您的支持!

© 版权所有 2024. Lawrence Hopewell Trail
是非营利性组织,符合 501(c)(3) 条款。EIN:20-0511132

劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道

历史悠久的狩猎屋
布莱克威尔路197号
新泽西州彭宁顿 08534
info@lhtrail.org

留在循环中。

zh_CNChinese

A MILL AND A BRIDGE IN THE BACK COUNTRY

Two centuries ago this was a remote spot. Stony Brook flowed swiftly down the narrow, winding, wooded valley. There was no bridge, no mill and no indication in the landscape that this was where the Province Line had been surveyed through the wilderness of colonial New Jersey in 1687. For several generations, the land hereabouts had been in the hands of the Golden family, farmers whose New Jersey roots likewise extend back into the late 17th century.
LHT History Golden's Mill

View upstream from 1957 showing the south end of the Warren pony truss bridge, which was erected to replace an earlier bridge in 1903. (Courtesy of Mercer County Engineering Division).

Jacob Golden first installed a sawmill here on the banks of Stony Brook in the late 1840s. The sawmill employed a water-powered ripsaw turning out board lumber, mostly oak.
Around 1870, a flourmill was added and Golden engaged Charles Temple and his son John as millers. By 1880, another of Charles Temple’s sons, Samuel, was also working at the flourmill, which ground wheat flour, feed and Indian cornmeal on its three sets of millstones. The milling operations were seasonal, small-scale and short-lived; neither lumber nor grain processing continued beyond the 1880s. The reasons for the mills’ demise remain murky. Was it the economy? Did Stony Brook flood and damage the workings?
Milldams sometimes doubled as causeways with bridges spanning the millrace and waste gates; at other times, a separate free-standing bridge was erected close by the mill.
Mill customers wanted access to a mill from both sides of a creek. When the first bridge carrying Province Line Road over Stony Brook was built is also unknown. It may have been shortly after 1864 when local residents petitioned Mercer County for a bridge. A bridge appears to be in place in 1875, as seen on a map of that year. In 1882, the abutments were repaired and the timber deck was replaced. The present span, a Warren pony truss constructed by the Berlin Construction Company of Berlin, Connecticut, and installed in 1903 on the old stone piers and abutments, is the longest and one of the best preserved of its type in the county.
Mercer County published a request for proposals to repair and replace the earlier bridge that existed here in the early 1880s.
LHT History Golden's Mill
Jacob Golden’s gristmill was an important focus of his 149-acre farm (Everts & Stewart, Lawrence Township, Atlas of Mercer County, New Jersey,1875).
LHT History Golden's Mill
LHT History Golden's Mill
Trenton State Gazette, October 20, 1882
LHT History Golden's Mill

Construction drawings for the proposed new bridge in 1903. This is the bridge that still survives today. Courtesy of Mercer County Engineering Division.

LHT Mill and Bridge History Map closeup
Click the image for details in Google Maps™

Thank you for your support!

© Copyright 2024. Lawrence Hopewell Trail
is a not-for-profit, section 501(c)(3). EIN: 20-0511132

The Lawrence Hopewell Trail

The Historic Hunt House
197 Blackwell Road
Pennington, NJ 08534
info@lhtrail.org

Stay in the loop.

en_USEnglish