2006 年 6 月 18 日,星期日
泰晤士报,特伦顿

作者:马修·伊根

劳伦斯——昨天早上举行的剪彩仪式使劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道距离竣工又近了一步。

新完工的 1.2 英里部分将成为一条 20 英里的自行车和步行道,位于 Rosedale Road 的教育考试服务中心校园内。昨天的庆祝活动包括骑自行车、沿着新路段散步以及那些帮助这条路线成为现实的人们的评论。

“这是一个由营利性、非营利性和公共实体组成的精彩联合项目,”美国民主党众议员拉什·霍尔特(Rush Holt)说道,他所在的选区包括劳伦斯镇和霍普威尔镇。霍尔特说,虽然默瑟县的全部人口不一定都使用这条小道,但“它的存在可以提升整个社区的水平。”

该试验项目于 2001 年开始,估计耗资 $6 百万,并得到劳伦斯镇和霍普威尔镇当地政府、百时美施贵宝和 ETS 的合作。

默瑟县行政长官布莱恩·休斯 (Brian Hughes) 表示:“长期以来,我们一直在帮助企业和私营部门整合这条路线。” “今天我们开始看到这项劳动的成果。”

该步道的几部分已经完工,包括一条穿过百时美施贵宝的步道、一条位于劳伦斯村公园的步道以及一条穿过劳伦斯学校校园的步道。

目前正在计划在劳伦斯和新的默瑟县公园西北地区修建更多步道。

霍尔特说:“我保证在华盛顿和全县范围内尽我所能,尽快完成整个环路。”

组织者希望完工的步道能为居民提供休闲机会。 “这确实是很多人的共同愿景,”百时美施贵宝企业传播总监兼劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道联合主席贝基·泰勒 (Becky Taylor) 说道。

“五年前,我们聚集在一起,因为我们想创建一条自行车道和步行道,从字面上和象征上将我们的两个城镇连接在一起。”

霍普韦尔镇副镇长戴维·桑达尔 (David Sandahl) 表示,道路上有一些坎坷。 “这并不容易,需要在多个方面发挥相当大的领导作用,才能保持这条小道的梦想。”

过去,一些人提出了反对意见,他们认为自行车道和徒步旅行者小道的存在会破坏开放空间。支持者反驳说,这条小路的存在将有助于阻止某些地区的住房开发。

桑达尔将 ETS 社会投资基金副总裁兼该步道项目联合主席埃莉诺·霍恩 (Eleanor Horne) 视为“鼓舞人心的领导力”的源泉。

作为昨天活动的一部分,非营利组织“进步踏板”为世界各地有需要的人回收旧自行车,在剪彩时已经收集了数十辆自行车。据其网站称,过去 15 年中,Pedals 已向全球运送了近 100,000 辆自行车。昨天,踏板还在西温莎社区农贸市场设立了一个收集点。

©2006 时代.

zh_CNChinese

Sunday, June 18, 2006
The Times, Trenton

By MATTHEW EGAN

LAWRENCE — A ceremonial ribbon cutting yesterday morning brought the Lawrence Hopewell Trail one step closer to completion.

The newly finished 1.2-mile portion of what will be a 20-mile biking and walking trail is located on the campus of the Educational Testing Service on Rosedale Road. Yesterday’s festivities included a bicycle drive, a walk along the new portion and comments from those who helped make the trail a reality.

“This is a wonderful joint project of profit, nonprofit and public entities,” said Democratic U.S. Rep. Rush Holt, whose district includes Lawrence and Hopewell townships. Holt said that while the entire population of Mercer County may not necessarily use the trail, “the presence of it can elevate the entire community.”

The trail project began in 2001 with an estimated cost of $6 million and with the cooperation of the local governments of Lawrence and Hopewell townships, Bristol-Myers Squibb and ETS.

“We have been helping the corporate and the private sector put together this trail for a long time,” said Mercer County Executive Brian Hughes. “Today we are starting to see the fruits of that labor.”

Several portions of the trail have already been completed, including a trail through Bristol-Myers Squibb, a trail in Lawrence Village Park and one through the campus of the Lawrence School.

There are plans in the works for additional trails throughout Lawrence and the new Mercer County Park Northwest.

“I promise to do what I can from Washington and around the county to get this entire loop completed as quickly as possible,” Holt said.

Organizers hope the completed trail will provide recreational opportunities for residents. “This really has been a shared vision by many, many people,” said Becky Taylor, director of corporate communications at Bristol-Myers Squibb and co-chairwoman of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail.

“Five years ago we all got together because we wanted to create a biking and walking trail that would literally and figuratively link our two towns together.”

Deputy Mayor of Hopewell Township David Sandahl said there were several bumps in the road. “It has not been easy and considerable leadership was required on several fronts to keep the dream of the trail alive.”

In the past, opposition has surfaced from those who argued that the presence of a trail for bikers and hikers would disrupt open space. Supporters have countered that the presence of the trail would help prevent housing developments in some areas.

Sandahl credited Eleanor Horne, vice president of the ETS Social Investment Fund and co-chairwoman of the trail project, as a source of “inspiring leadership.”

As part of yesterday’s activities, the nonprofit Pedals for Progress, which recycles used bicycles for needy people around the world, had collected dozens of bikes by the time of the ribbon cutting. According to its Web site, Pedals has shipped just under 100,000 bikes around the world over the past 15 years. Pedals also had a collection site yesterday at the West Windsor Community Farmers Market.

©2006 The Times.