作者:Lea Kahn,特约撰稿人, 劳伦斯·莱杰 发布日期:2005 年 10 月 13 日

劳伦斯霍普威尔步道的下一个路段预计将于 2006 年开放,但尚未就道路材料类型(例如沥青)做出决定。

劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道工作组本周获悉,劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道的下一个环节——一条穿过默瑟县公园西北的道路——预计将于明年开放。
该工作组于周二晚在劳伦斯的百时美施贵宝公司总部举行会议。工作组成员和支持者近 30 人参加了会议。
劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道 (LHT) 是一条 20 英里长的环线,将连接劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇。该提案于 2001 年提出,从那时起,已经建造了多个部分。
默瑟县规划部工作组成员莱斯利·弗洛伊德表示,默瑟县官员正在准备向工程公司征求建议书,以帮助设计穿过默瑟县公园西北的道路。
弗洛伊德女士说,穿过默瑟县公园西北的一英里长的小路大部分将利用该地块上现有的农场道路。小路将始于基夫路,结束于联邦城路旁县公园罗斯代尔公园部分的野餐林。基夫路入口将与从该镇的乡村公园延伸的小路对齐。劳伦斯市长帕姆·蒙特 (Pam Mount) 是 LHT 工作组的成员,他说,小路的这一部分——从乡村公园到基夫路——预计将于明年夏天开放。
官员们表示,道路所用的材料(例如沥青)尚未确定。
与此同时,步道霍普威尔镇部分的规划正在进行中。其中一个路段已经建成——一段 1.2 英里长的路段已于今年早些时候完工。它沿着彭宁顿-洛基山路和泰特斯米尔路行驶,从沃戈路到老米尔路。
霍普韦尔镇委员会委员 David Sandahl 告诉 LHT 特别工作组,该镇、县、Stony Brook Millstone Watershed、BMS、教育考试服务机构和新泽西州交通部的代表于 8 月举行会议,讨论霍普韦尔可能的路线。
部分道路可能会穿过 Stony Brook Millstone Watershed 地产,蜿蜒穿过小镇,直达 Carter Road 上的前朗讯科技地产。计划修建另一段道路,从 Hopewell Township 的 BMS 地产一直延伸到 Mercer County Park Northwest。
交通部自行车和行人项目协调员谢里·戴维斯 (Sheree Davis) 告诉 LHT 工作组,劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道“非常契合”该机构的计划。
戴维斯女士说,自 1995 年以来,交通部一直致力于通过增加自行车和人行道的机会来减少道路拥堵。她说,该州机构希望在 2008 年前修建 1,000 英里的步道,并补充说,迄今为止,该州已修建了 225 英里的步道。
劳伦斯已向交通部申请拨款修建部分步道,其中包括一笔 $225,000 拨款,用于修建一条穿过小镇所属的卡森路伍兹 (Carson Road Woods) 的一英里长的道路。该拨款申请于四月份提交。
但非营利组织卡森路伍兹之友反对在这片 183 英亩土地上修建一条道路的计划。该组织希望人们使用公园内现有的未铺砌小径。
该镇还在 8 月份申请了 $895,000 DOT 拨款,用于支付从 Lewisville Road 和 Princeton Pike 开始修建的一段 2.5 英里长的步道。在路易斯维尔路 (Lewisville Road) 和普林斯顿派克 (Princeton Pike) 的交叉口,其中一条路段将转向南并在莱诺克斯大道 (Lenox Drive) 穿过普林斯顿派克 (Princeton Pike)。它将沿着莱诺克斯大道 (Lenox Drive) 前往镇政府拥有的布雷尔利 (Brearley) 地区。
小径的另一段将在路易斯维尔路和普林斯顿派克路的交叉口处向北拐。它将沿着普林斯顿派克路修建,并在镇政府拥有的约瑟夫·H·马赫生态中心的边界处向西拐,最后到达法克勒路。
市政府经理理查德·克劳尊 (Richard Krawczun) 表示,镇政府官员预计不会在年底前得知申请的结果。

©邮包在线 新闻分类娱乐业务 - 普林斯顿和新泽西州中部 2005

zh_CNChinese

By: Lea Kahn , Staff Writer , Lawrence Ledger As published 10/13/2005

The next link in the Lawrence Hopewell Trail is expected to open in 2006, but no decision has been made on the type of material, such as asphalt, for the path.

The next link in the Lawrence Hopewell Trail — a path through Mercer County Park Northwest — is expected to be open next year, the Lawrence Hopewell Trail Task Force learned this week.
The task force met Tuesday night at Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.’s headquarters in Lawrence. Nearly 30 people — members and supporters of the task force — attended the meeting.
The Lawrence Hopewell Trail (LHT) is a proposed 20-mile-long loop that would connect Lawrence and Hopewell townships. The proposal was introduced in 2001 and since that time, several segments have been built.
Mercer County officials are preparing a request for proposals from engineering firms to help design the path through Mercer County Park Northwest, said task force member Leslie Floyd of the Mercer County Planning Department.
Most of the one-mile-long path through Mercer County Park Northwest will take advantage of the existing farm roads on the property, Ms. Floyd said. It will begin on Keefe Road and end at the picnic grove in the Rosedale Park section of the county park off Federal City Road. The Keefe Road entrance will be aligned with the extension of the trail from the township’s Village Park. That portion of the trail — from Village Park to Keefe Road — is expected to open next summer, said Lawrence Mayor Pam Mount, a member of the LHT task force.
The material for the path, such as asphalt, has not been determined, officials said.
Meanwhile, plans are under way for the Hopewell Township portion of the trail. One segment already has been built — a 1.2-mile-long portion that was completed earlier this year. It runs along the Pennington-Rocky Hill Road and Titus Mill Road, from Wargo Road to Old Mill Road.
Hopewell Township Committeeman David Sandahl told the LHT task force that representatives of the township, the county, the Stony Brook Millstone Watershed, BMS, Educational Testing Service, and the New Jersey Department of Transportation met in August to discuss likely routes in Hopewell.
Portions of the path would likely be built through the Stony Brook Millstone Watershed property and meander across the township to the former Lucent Technology property on Carter Road. There are plans to create another leg of the path, from the BMS property in Hopewell Township to Mercer County Park Northwest.
Sheree Davis, coordinator of the DOT’s Bicycle and Pedestrian Program, told the LHT task force that the Lawrence Hopewell Trail “fits nicely” with the agency’s plan.
Since 1995, the DOT has focused on reducing roadway congestion by increasing opportunities for bicycle and pedestrian trails, Ms. Davis said. The state agency wants to build 1,000 miles of trails by 2008, she said, adding that it has already constructed 225 miles statewide to date.
Lawrence has applied to the DOT for grants to build portions of the trail, including a $225,000 grant to build a one-mile-long path through the township-owned Carson Road Woods. That grant application was filed in April.
But the nonprofit Friends of Carson Road Woods opposes the plan to build a path through the 183-acre parcel. The group would prefer that people use the existing unpaved trails in the park.
The township also applied for a $895,000 DOT grant in August to pay for a 2.5-mile-long section of the trail to be built, starting at Lewisville Road and Princeton Pike. At the intersection of Lewisville Road and Princeton Pike, one leg would turn south and cross Princeton Pike at Lenox Drive. It would follow Lenox Drive to the township-owned Brearley tract.
The other leg of the trail would turn north at the intersection of Lewisville Road and Princeton Pike. It would be built along Princeton Pike and would turn west at the boundary of the Joseph H. Maher Ecological Center, which is owned by the township, and end on Fackler Road.
Township officials do not expect to learn the fate of the applications before the end of the year, Municipal Manager Richard Krawczun said.

©PACKETONLINE News Classifieds Entertainment Business – Princeton and Central New Jersey 2005