作者:Lea Kahn,特约撰稿人, 劳伦斯·莱杰 2004 年 11 月 25 日发布

默瑟县 TMA 表彰其努力。

劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道于 10 月 29 日在普林斯顿拿骚旅馆举行的大默瑟交通管理协会年会上荣获交通领导奖。
该非营利组织执行董事桑德拉·布里尔哈特 (Sandra Brillhart) 表示,该奖项每年颁发给体现大默瑟 TMA 使命的个人或项目,即促进替代交通方式的发展。
例如,行人或骑自行车者可以使用劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道到达劳伦斯或霍普韦尔镇的目的地。 20 英里环路的第一段已于今年早些时候开放。
这条步道的一部分计划穿过劳伦斯镇拥有的卡森路伍兹区,一直是劳伦斯备受争议的话题。该步道的早期版本要求将 183 英亩的土地一分为二,但最新版本要求将其沿着土地边缘放置。
布里尔哈特女士说,这条小道穿过企业园区、公园、学校、历史悠久的村庄、田野、林地,也沿着现有的街道。她说,建成后,它将连接企业、学校、公园、娱乐和住宅区。
布里尔哈特女士说,它将提供一个安全的骑自行车和步行场所,以及一种环保、健康的汽车交通替代方案,从而提高该地区的生活质量。
由于教育考试服务中心和百时美施贵宝公司作为这条路线的锚点,这条道路可用于连接 BMS 的两个校区——霍普韦尔校区和劳伦斯校区。它还将制药公司的校区与 ETS 的劳伦斯镇校区连接起来。
布里尔哈特女士说,劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道就是公共和私营部门共同努力造福社区的典范。两家公司与州、县和市政府合作,为步道寻找土地。
Greater Mercer TMA 是东海岸第一个私人资助的 TMA。她说,在20年的历史中,该公司开发并实施了众多项目,包括拼车匹配以及班车服务开发和管理。
布里尔哈特女士说,它与各城镇合作确定可用作自行车道的人行道和小路。她补充说,此外,它还为默瑟县开发了自行车道地图。
大默瑟 TMA 成立于 1984 年,由默瑟萨默塞特米德尔塞克斯地区议会 (Mercer Somerset Middlesex Regional Council) 协助成立,该议会现名为区域规划伙伴关系 (Regional Planning Partnership)。布里尔哈特女士表示,该非营利组织致力于合理的土地利用规划。

©邮包在线 新闻分类娱乐业务 – 普林斯顿和新泽西中部 2004 年

zh_CNChinese

By: Lea Kahn , Staff Writer , Lawrence Ledger As published 11/25/2004

Mercer County TMA honors effort.

The Lawrence-Hopewell Trail was awarded the Transportation Leadership Award by the Greater Mercer Transportation Management Association at its annual meeting Oct. 29 at the Nassau Inn in Princeton.
The award is given annually to individuals or projects that exemplify the mission of the Greater Mercer TMA, which is to promote the development of alternate modes of transportation, said Sandra Brillhart, the executive director of the nonprofit group.
For example, the Lawrence-Hopewell Trail can be used by pedestrians or bicyclists to reach destinations in Lawrence or Hopewell townships. The first segment of the 20-mile loop trail was opened earlier this year.
A portion of the trail, which is slated to run through the Lawrence Township-owned Carson Road Woods tract, has been the topic of much debate in Lawrence. Earlier versions of the trail called for it to bisect the 183-acre parcel, but the latest version calls for it to be placed along the edge of the tract.
The trail runs through corporate campuses, parks, schools, historic villages, fields, woodlands and also along existing streets, Ms. Brillhart said. When it is completed, it will link businesses, schools, parks, recreational and residential areas, she said.
It will enhance the quality of life in the region by providing a safe place for bicycling and walking, and an environmentally friendly and healthy alternative to automobile transportation, Ms. Brillhart said.
With the Educational Testing Service and the Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. serving as anchors for the trail, the path can be used to link BMS’ two campuses — in Hopewell and Lawrence. It also links the pharmaceutical company’s campuses with ETS’ Lawrence Township campus.
The Lawrence-Hopewell Trail is an example of what can be accomplished when the public and private sectors work together to benefit the community, Ms. Brillhart said. The two corporations worked with state, county and municipal governments to find land for the trail.
The Greater Mercer TMA is the first privately funded TMA on the East Coast. Over its 20-year history, it has developed and implemented numerous programs, including carpool matching as well as shuttle service development and management, she said.
It works with towns to identify sidewalks and paths that could be used as bicycle trails, Ms. Brillhart said. Also, it has developed a bicycle trail map for Mercer County, she added.
The Greater Mercer TMA was founded in 1984 with the help of the Mercer Somerset Middlesex Regional Council, which is now known as the Regional Planning Partnership. The nonprofit group is dedicated to sound land use planning, Ms. Brillhart said.

©PACKETONLINE News Classifieds Entertainment Business – Princeton and Central New Jersey 2004