早在 2001 年,社区领袖聚集在百时美施贵宝,讨论社区缺乏安全、越野步行、徒步旅行和骑自行车的选择。 2004 年,劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道 (Lawrence Hopewell Trail) 开通了第一段。即将完工,全长超过 20 英里,我们认为是时候分享一些回忆和历史了。这里, Eleanor V. Horne,LHT 联合总裁, 分享一些细分市场的背景 1314, 通过 默瑟梅多斯。

LHT Eleanor Horne

埃莉诺霍恩

2015 年 6 月 5 日, 在国家步道日的前一天,我们与县行政长官布莱恩·休斯 (Brian Hughes) 和一些当地政要一起参加 通过 Mercer Meadows 正式开通 LHT 路段。 我怀疑我们中的任何人都无法想象没有 Mercer Meadows 部分的 LHT。大概是 步道中使用最频繁的部分。

莱斯利·弗洛伊德 (Leslie Floyd),默瑟县规划部主任, 在使该细分市场成为可能方面发挥了巨大作用。她说服布莱恩·休斯和自由所有者拨出资金来建设步道路段。我不记得这些谈话是什么时候开始的——也许是在 2004 年或 2005 年县长刚上任的时候。我只记得莱斯利多少次告诉我们必须要有耐心。她正在努力。

她确实是。我们必须等待的事情之一是公园总体规划的完成和批准。我记得当 LHT 联合总裁贝基·泰勒 (Becky Taylor) 和我参加总体规划的公开展示时,我们知道该总体规划将包括 LHT。我们不知道的是该计划的范围。 我们从未想象过如此令人难以置信的公园,以 LHT 作为主要交通枢纽。 贝基和我都不知所措。对于这条路线和我们来说,那是最好的日子之一。

然后工作就开始了——不是由 LHT 进行,而是由 公园委员会令人难以置信的工作人员。 弗兰克·扎巴瓦 (Frank Zabawa) 是负责人。弗兰克是一个严肃的人,但他对贝基和我非常耐心,并回答了大约一百多个有关步道施工何时完成的问题。与弗兰克和执行董事凯文·班农一起,我们与公园工作人员(包括护林员)建立了令人难以置信的工作关系。

LHT Leslie Floyd

莱斯利·弗洛伊德在满月自行车骑行

LHT Pole Farm

威廉·布朗摄

在执行董事兼公园总监亚伦·沃森 (Aaron Watson) 及其团队乔·皮萨 (Joe Pizza)、戴夫·巴克斯顿 (Dave Buxton)、迈克·拉索 (Mike Russo)、赫尔曼·斯奈德 (Herman Snyder) 和万达·麦克尼尔 (Wanda McNeill) 的得力领导下,这种关系一直延续至今。 他们是一支梦之队!

从公园总体规划获批到剪彩,时间快进了大约三年。尽管下着小雨,但这条小路的开通还是很棒的,但这并没有浇灭我们的兴致。当然,我们的守护天使布莱恩·休斯(除了莱斯利)也发了言,但他也发了言 国会女议员邦妮·沃森·科尔曼、州参议员雪莉·特纳和众议员里德·古西奥拉。

穿过公园的步道是一颗宝石。 LHT 的普通用户喜欢它。 这可能是最常被拍摄的路线段。 然后,它也是 满月自行车骑行, 我们由 LHT 和公园委员会共同主办。

刚刚庆祝了 Mercer Meadows 路段五周年,并重新规划了路线和 一座全新的桥梁 石溪 即将开业,我们不要忘记,它是经过很多人多年的共同努力才成为现实的。 有时,通过 Mercer Meadows 的 LHT 细分市场似乎已经存在多年,但它是一个相对较新的细分市场。

LHT Full Moon Ride

满月自行车之旅

zh_CNChinese

Back in 2001, community leaders gathered at Bristol-Myers Squibb to discuss a lack of options for safe, off-road walking, hiking, and biking in the community. By 2004, the Lawrence Hopewell Trail opened its very first segment. Nearing completion and over 20 miles in length, we thought it time share some memories and some history. Here, Eleanor V. Horne, LHT Co-President, shares some background on segments 13 and 14, through Mercer Meadows.

LHT Eleanor Horne

Eleanor Horne

June 5, 2015, the day before National Trails Day, we joined with County Executive Brian Hughes and a number of local dignitaries to officially open the LHT Segment through Mercer Meadows. I doubt that any of us can imagine the LHT without the Mercer Meadows segment. It is probably the most heavily used part of the trail.

Leslie Floyd, Director of the Mercer County Planning Department, played a huge role in making the segment possible. She convinced Brian Hughes and the freeholders to set aside funds to build the trail segment. I do not recall when those conversations first began – perhaps around 2004 or 2005 when the County Executive first took office. What I do remember is how many times Leslie told us we had to be patient. She was working on it.

And she really was. One of the things we had to wait for was the completion and approval of the master plan for the park. I remember when LHT Co-President Becky Taylor and I attended the public presentation of the master plan which we knew would include the LHT. What we did not know was the scope of the plan. We never envisioned such an incredible park with the LHT as the major transportation spine. Becky and I were overwhelmed. That was one of the best days for the trail and for us.

Then the work began – not by the LHT, but by the incredible staff of the Park Commission. Frank Zabawa was the superintendent. Frank was a no-nonsense guy, but he was so patient with Becky and me and answered probably more than a hundred questions about when trail construction would be completed. With Frank and Executive Director Kevin Bannon, we began an incredible working relationship with the park staff, including the rangers.

LHT Leslie Floyd

Leslie Floyd at the Full Moon Bike Ride

LHT Pole Farm

Photo by William Brown

That relationship continues to this day under the able leadership of Executive Director Aaron Watson, Superintendent of Parks, and his team Joe Pizza, Dave Buxton, Mike Russo, Herman Snyder, and Wanda McNeill. They are a dream team!

Fast forward about three years from the approval of the master plan for the park to the ribbon cutting. The opening of the trail was fantastic, despite some rain that did not dampen any of our spirits. Of course, Brian Hughes, our guardian angel (in addition to Leslie), spoke, but so did Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman, State Senator Shirley Turner, and Representative Reed Gusciora.

The trail segment through the park is a gem. Regular users of the LHT love it. It is probably the most frequently photographed trail segment. Then, too, it is the home of the Full Moon Bike Ride, our co-sponsored by the LHT and the Park Commission.

Having just celebrated the fifth anniversary of the Mercer Meadows segment, and with newly rerouted trails and a brand-new bridge over the Stony Brook about to open, let’s not forget that It took a lot of people working together over many years to make it a reality. Some days it seems as if the LHT segment through Mercer Meadows has been around for years, but it is a relatively new segment.

LHT Full Moon Ride

The Full Moon Bike Ride

Share This

Share this post with your friends!