Lawrence Hopewell Trail 特别工作组的春季会议于 2007 年 3 月 14 日晚上 7 点在劳伦斯维尔的百时美施贵宝 206 号园区召开。此次聚会的亮点在于许多当地组织的参与,这些组织独立或与 LHT 合作,参与默瑟县共享休闲步道的规划。

工作组主席 Becky Taylor 欢迎大家的到来,并邀请每个组织报告他们目前的计划,以此作为会议的开幕。在这些演讲之后,Celeste Tracy 和 Helen Mahan 主持了圆桌讨论,他们是 Community Trail Connection 的负责人,该咨询小组与整个中大西洋地区的步道组织合作。当晚最后是问答环节,由 LHT 联合主席 Eleanor Horne 主持。所有会议过程均由 Dave Kelliher 录制,他制作了 LHT 简短宣传视频.

以下是与会人员报告的摘要,按演讲顺序排列。

劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道

设计路线委员会主席 Jeri Bogan-Zielinski 展示了 LHT 的更新地图,其中标明了已完成的 5.1 英里步道和未建成的路段。她指出,石溪-米尔斯通流域协会步道段的设计和许可工作正在进行中,劳伦斯镇的一条新路线正在研究中。 LHT 向南穿过劳伦斯维尔学校,预计将在运动场尽头离开校园,穿过路易斯维尔路,然后沿百时美施贵宝地产前往普林斯顿派克。它将沿着镇区路权向南行驶,在莱诺克斯大道红绿灯处穿过普林斯顿派克东侧。它将继续穿过 Brandywine Property Group 办公园区,首先在道路上,然后在一条新的 10 英尺宽的沥青路上,这条路将通向一条碎石路,穿过邻近的 Brearly House 物业到达停车场。从这里开始,LHT 将向北行驶,穿过 Brearly House 地产和劳伦斯镇 (Lawrence Township) 称为戴森大道 (Dyson Tract) 的开放空间。从法克勒路交叉口以北的普林斯顿派克驶出,LHT 将穿过普林斯顿派克,沿着法克勒路北侧行驶,以避免交叉路口转弯交通,然后穿过法克勒路南侧并进入默瑟县的盖特丹公园。从这里开始朝 206 号公路行驶,正如之前预期的那样,该路线将绕过公园和哈米尔农场。

默瑟县规划办公室

助理规划师 Leslie Floyd 报告说,该县已经对整个默瑟县公园西北部进行了湿地和地形基础研究,面积达 1700 英亩,包括 Curlis 湖森林、Rosedale 公园、Old Mill 路沿线的开放空间以及 AT&T Pole Farm 地块。

LHT 将成为贯穿这些地区的完整小型步道网络的骨干,一旦基础研究完成,劳伦斯镇基夫路和霍普威尔镇 Rosedale Park 野餐树林之间的 LHT 路线的设计工作也将开始。

合和镇区

副市长戴维·桑达尔 (David Sandahl) 报告称,利用镇政府拥有的开放空间,继续将 LHT 从流域协会财产延伸到卡特路的计划正在取得进展。还计划修建一条从霍普韦尔自治市附近的圣迈克尔庄园到 LHT 的连接线。镇政府行政长官 Paul Pogorzelski 解释说,镇政府在规划步道路线时注重实用价值。他以 LHT 将普林斯顿农场开发区和彭宁顿自治市的家庭与 Honey Brook 有机农场联系起来的能力为例。

彭宁顿区

议员艾琳·海因泽尔感谢百时美施贵宝修改了他们的总体发展计划,包括将 LHT 延伸至霍普韦尔镇边界,并帮助设计一条延伸至彭宁顿自治市乔治王路的连接小径。彭宁顿和霍普韦尔镇已获得新泽西州交通部参与“安全过境”研究的资格,该研究将提出设计方案,以改善 31 号公路与特拉华大道交叉口地区的安全。最终目标是让学童能够从彭宁顿自治市穿过 31 号公路,到达这条繁忙公路西侧的公立学校、运动场和图书馆。霍普韦尔谷娱乐咨询委员会正在该地区建设其他小径连接,海因泽尔指出,所有计划都需要资金才能实现,并表示她希望 LHT 能够重点关注筹款。

劳伦斯镇区

议员帕姆·芒特 (Pam Mount) 解释说,今年春天在乡村公园 (Village Park) 至基夫路 (Keefe Road) 修建的 LHT 路段将与默瑟县公园西北部未来的 LHT 相连。她还指出,普林斯顿派克 (Princeton Pike) 上的戴森路 (Dyson Tract) 以前有一个苗圃,因此 LHT 将能够利用旧苗圃道路的残余,因为它蜿蜒穿过成熟的硬木森林。她还报告说,劳伦斯镇的行人工作组一直致力于改善整个镇的自行车/行人安全,并特别关注步行或骑自行车上学的儿童的安全问题。同时,劳伦斯绿道 (Lawrence Greenway) 推动了整个镇的开放空间连接网络。

D&R运河委员会

执行董事 Ernest Hahn 报告称,该州正与 Conrail 进行最后阶段的和解谈判,这将允许修建特伦顿从 Old Rose Street 到 Mulberry Street 的缺失部分纤道。这将形成一条超过 60 英里的连续小径,从特拉华州的 Frenchtown 到新不伦瑞克,位于 D&R 运河州立公园内。该州还在修建两条连接 Bordentown 的线路,这些线路沿着从特伦顿到 Crosswicks Creek 的纤道的废弃部分。

哈恩还指出,普林斯顿镇在普林斯顿大学的资助下,设计了一种行人激活的道路交叉口信号,可能适用于 LHT 交叉口。信号灯已在亚历山大路 (Alexander Road) 平分 D&R 拖车路的位置设置,华盛顿路 (Washington Road) 和哈里森街 (Harrison Street) 也已规划信号灯。

普林斯顿镇区

市长菲利斯·马尔尚 (Phyllis Marchand) 解释说,该镇总体规划的循环和开放空间/娱乐元素中包含了一个多功能自行车/行人道路网络,去年秋天在 ETS 附近的 Rosedale 路上修建的道路也是该系统的一部分。她报告了 LHT 附近地区规划的另外两条步道:其中一条将沿着桂格路行驶,并提供通往最近由普林斯顿历史学会保存的历史悠久的厄普代克农场和 D&R 运河纤道的通道。第二条道路起始于 Washington Oaks 地产附近的 Quaker Road,将连接到 Rosedale Road,并将由 D&R Greenway Land Trust 资助。这条道路将包括一座横跨石溪的多功能桥。

东海岸绿道

查尔斯·卡马尔特 (Charles Carmalt) 代表这个跨州组织报告称,新泽西州的拟建步道完工率最高。最终,2900 英里的步道将使自行车骑行者能够从缅因州加莱骑行到佛罗里达州基韦斯特。D&R 运河纤道是绿道路线的一部分。卡马尔特指出,新泽西州绿道分会正在为未来将要修建的越野路段指定临时公路路线,以便自行车骑行者可以找到并使用现在已准备就绪的路段。

西温莎自行车和行人联盟

Ken Carlson 报告称,西温莎自行车/行人特别工作组的前成员最近成立了一家私营非营利公司,即西温莎自行车和行人联盟。他们的使命是让西温莎更加以自行车和行人为导向。其中一个重点是改善自行车和行人与邻近城镇的连通性。西温莎是新泽西州普林斯顿枢纽交通站的所在地,是该地区通勤者的枢纽。联盟强调需要提供非机动化通勤选择,并已获得新泽西州交通部的临时支持,在 Millstone Bypass 项目 EIS 中包括一条与“Dinky”路段平行的自行车道,从车站穿过 1 号公路到 D&R 纤道。该组织还在志愿者的帮助下,沿着 Millstone 河修建休闲人行道。

尤因镇环境委员会

副主席 Pete Boughton 报告称,环境委员会正在与劳伦斯镇代表合作,努力在约翰逊电车线沿线修建一条共用步道,从云杉街延伸段一直延伸到劳伦斯莱德大学校园附近的铁桥。最终,这条步道可以继续向北延伸,穿过 95 号公路,与劳伦斯维尔的 LHT 汇合。委员会还致力于在特拉华河附近的一处地产上修建步道。

美国革命的十字路口

执行董事凯特·利特瓦克 (Cate Litvack) 解释说,她的组织是新资助的,仍在组织中。他们有兴趣在整个新泽西州推广开放空间和步道,以教育公众了解新泽西州独立战争中不可或缺的建筑物、遗址和路线的历史意义。她引用了莫里斯县的爱国者之路,这是一条连接多个社区的受欢迎的人行道,并指出沿着华盛顿将军和罗申博将军领导的部队路线的一条小路将是理想的选择,并将穿过默瑟县。

霍普威尔自治市

市镇议员兼霍普韦尔谷娱乐委员会代表鲍勃·刘易斯 (Bob Lewis) 指出,霍普韦尔学校的停车场实际上是骑自行车前往该地区穿越索尔兰兹的自行车爱好者的枢纽。霍普韦尔预计将在霍普韦尔镇新保护的圣迈克尔地产上建造新的基督教青年会,并计划从该市镇的主街道社区修建通往该地点的小径,并越过山脊,在 Stony Brook-Millstone 流域协会和彭宁顿-洛基山路的旧威士忌屋之间的某个地方与 LHT 相连。

圆桌讨论

Community Trail Connections 的 Celeste Tracy 和 Helen Mahan 主持了此次讨论。他们首先指出,代表默瑟县地区特定步道利益的每个团体都具有强烈的草根主动性,并且步道利益之间合作的愿望似乎很突出。他们指出,通勤趋势正朝着更多地使用非机动交通和公共交通的方向发展,增加了共享道路开发的需求。讨论了几个主题,着眼于确定所有群体的共同问题并强调各群体之间的独特情况。首先,各小组对他们的愿景进行了评论。

想象

共享元素包括上学或娱乐的安全路线、对健康锻炼和家庭活动的支持、社区设施之间的连接以及对自然区域和重要历史遗址的教育/享受。

一两个组织表达的要素包括残疾人通道(LHT)、通勤路线(西温莎)、鼓励非机动交通/环境问题(普林斯顿镇)、建立社区之间的关系(LHT)。

当地步道之间潜在的物理联系

普林斯顿镇:通往樱桃谷路的新大路自行车道有可能与霍普韦尔镇的步道相连。计划在 Quaker 路和 Rosedale 路之间修建的步道将为 ETS 的 LHT 提供另一条连接。默瑟路上的现有自行车道几乎延伸到普林斯顿派克的劳伦斯镇自行车道;然而,这些车道在许多地方都太窄,不适合安全骑行或家庭使用。

西温莎:新泽西州交通部将对普林斯顿枢纽 NJTransit 站和 D&R 运河纤道之间的路径进行研究,并将其纳入 EIS,为未来 1 号公路和华盛顿路周围的高速公路建设做好准备。

D&R 运河委员会:普林斯顿医疗中心已同意在其新的 Plainsboro 地产上提供一条小道,使人们能够从那里到达 D&R 运河纤道。

霍普威尔镇:由于新收购的圣迈克尔斯地区被设想为社区步道的中心,他们希望能够从那里开辟一条步道,越过山脊到达石溪-米尔斯通流域协会附近的 LHT。

当地步道之间潜在的主题联系

历史古迹:许多规划的步道提供了通往历史古迹的通道,这些机会可以以统一的方式呈现。

商业推广:当地商店、小酒馆、冰淇淋摊等可以作为步道体验的一部分进行推广。

休闲机会:在多个地区,共享使用试验将提供通往市政运动场、学校操场、未开发的自然区域或人行道网络的通道。将步道用作独立休闲活动以及与其他休闲活动相结合的概念可以成为普遍的宣传主题。

担忧与挑战

成本:大家都同意,由于高额的房产税以及州和联邦政府用于修建步道的资金减少,地方政府用于修建步道的资金稀缺。

永久性维护:保持步道上没有灌木和杂物、建造和维护标识以及监督使用需要大量人员和志愿者资源。在一些社区,要让全地形车远离共用步道需要付出很多努力。

选址路径的困难:寻找可用的财产来定位路径并在路径之间创建链接是一个挑战。西温莎成功获得 PSE&G 的许可,将电力线路权用于共享路径;如果成功,也许可以使用其他公用事业通行权。

管理步道建设的环境法规:有关湿地和其他环境问题的法规增加了步道开发的成本和复杂性,这些问题必须在路线、设计和建设中考虑。

诉讼和责任:潜在的责任问题和我们文化的诉讼性质可能需要财务和专业资源。

志愿者:鉴于所有非营利组织在招募、培训和留住志愿者方面都面临困难,步道组织需要发挥创造力,以维持训练有素且可靠的志愿者队伍。我们能否通过合作开展项目来共享志愿者资源?

社区价值观的竞争:植物或动物栖息地保护的倡导者可能会反对在任何特定地点修建步道。一名劳伦斯镇居民参加了会议,专门反对劳伦斯维尔乡村公园附近拟议的 LHT 路线,因为这可能会破坏基夫路附近的一块血根草植物。

成功的潜在策略

县自行车/行人工作组:肯·卡尔森 (Ken Carlson) 报告称,县长布莱恩·休斯 (Brian Hughes) 已采纳成立默瑟县工作组的想法,该工作组将让县工作人员和当地组织的代表参与规划和推广共享使用小径。该组织可能会赞助更新和重新印刷现已绝版的默瑟县自行车地图。

将步道规划纳入市政总体规划:每个市政总体规划都包含交通和娱乐元素;步道计划可以包含在每个部分中,以确保未来的开发能够适应步道开发。

县政府资助:将现有收入来源的一部分(如销售税)拨给共享步道基金可能有助于支付建设成本。

招募私人开发商:在某些情况下,市政当局可以要求开发商提供场外改善作为其项目的条件。开发商还可以被要求在新的分区修建步道。

公众宣传:举办各种活动、教育计划和公共关系活动可以识别和接触潜在的步道使用者,并为步道的规划和建设建立一个发声的支持者群体。

评论期

麦克·苏伯(普林斯顿自行车咨询委员会):普林斯顿自行车咨询委员会的调查显示,由于缺乏人行道和过街护卫、交通拥堵、公交车时刻表不方便,普林斯顿学校系统中 40% 的小学生需要开车上学。新泽西州涉及行人的交通死亡率为 21%,是全国平均水平的两倍。

费尔法克斯·赫特:从村庄公园到劳伦斯维尔基夫路的 LHT 路线将摧毁在道路附近生长的一大片血根草植物。

Bob Hunsicker(卡森路伍兹之友):LHT 环路不利于任何有用的点对点访问。

包起来

贝基·泰勒感谢大家的出席。我们接下来的步骤是传播这份报告并建立通信系统,支持默瑟县自行车/行人特别工作组,以及创建具体地图和描述每个小组的路线计划以供 D&R 运河委员会使用。该委员会对该地区的大部分开发项目拥有监管权,并经常要求开发商提供场外“补偿”作为其项目的条件。 D&R 运河委员会执行董事欧内斯特·哈恩 (Ernest Hahn) 表示,在某些情况下,为试点项目提供资金可能是一种适当的补偿。

zh_CNChinese

The spring meeting of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail Task Force convened at 7 p.m. on March 14, 2007 at Bristol Myers Squibb Route 206 campus in Lawrenceville. The gathering was distinguished by the participation of a number of local organizations which are, independently or in conjunction with the LHT, involved in planning shared-use recreational trails in Mercer County.

Task Force chairwoman Becky Taylor welcomed the group and opened the session by inviting each organization to report on their current plans. Following these presentations, a round table discussion was moderated by Celeste Tracy and Helen Mahan, the principals of Community Trail Connection, a consulting group that works with trail organizations throughout the mid-Atlantic region. The evening concluded with a question and answer period moderated by LHT Co-President Eleanor Horne. All proceedings were videotaped by Dave Kelliher, who produced a short promotional video for LHT.

Summaries of the participants’ reports follow in order of presentation.

Lawrence Hopewell Trail

Jeri Bogan-Zielinski, Chair of the Design Route Committee, displayed an updated map of the LHT that indicated the 5.1 miles of completed trail and the unbuilt segments. She pointed out that design and permit work on the Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association trail segment is ongoing, and that a new routing in Lawrence Township is now under study. Heading south through the Lawrenceville School, the LHT is now expected to exit the campus at the end of the athletic fields, cross Lewisville Road, and proceed on the Bristol Myers Squibb property to Princeton Pike. It will proceed along the Township right-of-way south to cross to the east side of Princeton Pike at the Lenox Avenue traffic light. It will continue through the Brandywine Property Group office park, first on-road and then on a new, 10′ wide asphalt path that will lead into a crushed stone path through the adjacent Brearly House property to the parking lot. From here, the LHT will proceed northward through the Brearly House property and Lawrence Township open space known as the Dyson Tract. Exiting onto Princeton Pike just north of the Fackler Road intersection, the LHT will cross Princeton Pike, follow the north side of Fackler Road to avoid turning traffic in the intersection, and then cross to the south side of Fackler Road and enter Mercer County’s Gatterdam Park. From here on towards Route 206, the route will skirt through the Park and Hammil farm property, as previously anticipated.

Mercer County Planning Office

Leslie Floyd, Assistant Planner, reported that the County has undertaken wetland and topographical base studies of the entire Mercer County Park Northwest – 1700 acres that include Curlis Lake Woods, Rosedale Park, open space along Old Mill Road, and the AT&T Pole Farm tract.

The LHT will serve as a spine for a complete network of smaller trails throughout these tracts, and design work on the LHT route between Keefe Road in Lawrence Township and the Rosedale Park picnic grove in Hopewell Township will begin once the base studies are complete.

Hopewell Township

Deputy Mayor David Sandahl reported that plans are progressing to continue the LHT from the Watershed Association property to Carter Road, utilizing township-owned open space. A link from the St. Michael’s property near Hopewell Borough to the LHT is also planned. Township Administrator Paul Pogorzelski explained that the Township is focusing on utilitarian value as it plans trail routes. He cited the LHT’s ability to connect families in the Princeton Farm development and in Pennington Borough to the Honey Brook organic farm as a case in point.

Pennington Borough

Councilwoman Eileen Heinzel thanked Bristol Myers Squibb for amending their general development plan to include extending the LHT to the border of their Hopewell Township and for helping to design a link trail that would extend to King George Road in Pennington Borough. Pennington and Hopewell Township have obtained NJDOT’s participation in a ‘safe crossing’ study that will produce design options for improving safety in the area of the Route 31-Delaware Avenue intersection. The goal is to eventually enable school children to cross Route 31 from Pennington Borough to the public schools, playing fields, and library on the west side of that busy highway. The Hopewell Valley Recreation Advisory Board are working on other trail links in the area, Heinzel noted that all plans require funding in order to be realized, and stated her hope that LHT would focus heavily on fund raising.

Lawrence Township

Councilwoman Pam Mount explained that the LHT segment being constructed this spring in Village Park out to Keefe Road will link to the future LHT in Mercer County Park Northwest. She also noted that the Dyson Tract on Princeton Pike formerly contained a tree nursery, so that the LHT will be able to take advantage of remnants of old nursery roads as it winds through mature hardwood forests. She also reported that Lawrence Township’s Pedestrian Task Force has focused on improving bike/pedestrian safety throughout the Township, and has paid particular attention to safety issues for children walking or biking to school. At the same time, Lawrence Greenway has promoted a network of open space linkages throughout the Township.

D&R Canal Commission

Ernest Hahn, Executive Director, reported that the State is in the final stages of negotiating a settlement with Conrail that will allow for the construction of the missing section of towpath in Trenton, from Old Rose Street to Mulberry Street. This will result in over 60 miles of continuous trail, from Frenchtown on the Delaware to New Brunswick, within the D&R Canal State Park. The State is also working on two links connecting to Bordentown along the abandoned section of the towpath from Trenton to the Crosswicks Creek.

Hahn also noted that Princeton Township, with funding from Princeton University, has designed a pedestrian-activated road-crossing signal that is potentially applicable to LHT crossings. The signal is already in place where Alexander Road bisects the D&R towpath, and signals are also planned for Washington Road and Harrison Street.

Princeton Township

Mayor Phyllis Marchand explained that a network of all-purpose bike/pedestrian pathways is included in the Circulation and Open Space/Recreation Elements of the Township master plan, and that the pathway constructed last fall on Rosedale Road near ETS is part of that system. She reported on two other trails that are planned for the area near the LHT; one would run along Quaker Road and provide access to the historic Updike Farm recently preserved by the Princeton Historical Society and to the D&R Canal towpath. The second is a path starting at Quaker Road near the Washington Oaks property that will connect to Rosedale Road and will be funded by the D&R Greenway Land Trust. This path will include a multi-purpose bridge over the Stony Brook.

East Coast Greenway

Charles Carmalt reported for this multi-state organization, noting that New Jersey has the highest percentage of proposed trail completed. Ultimately, 2,900 miles of trail will enable bicyclists to pedal city-to-city from Calais, Maine, to Key West, FL. The D&R Canal towpath is part of the Greenway route. Carmalt noted that the NJ Greenway chapter is designating interim on-road routes for off-road sections that will be constructed in the future, so that bicyclists can find and use the sections that are ready now.

West Windsor Bicycle and Pedestrian Alliance

Ken Carlson reported that former members of the West Windsor Bicycle/Pedestrian Task Force have recently incorporated as a private non-profit corporation, the West Windsor Bicycle and Pedestrian Alliance. Their mission is to make West Windsor more bicycle and pedestrian oriented. One focus is to improve bicycle and pedestrian connectivity to neighboring towns. Home of the Princeton Junction NJ Transit station, West Windsor is a hub for area commuters. The Alliance stresses the need to provide non-motorized commuting options, and has achieved provisional NJDOT support for including a bike path paralleling the “Dinky” tracts from the station across Route 1 to the D&R towpath in the Millstone Bypass project EIS. The group is also constructing recreational footpaths along the Millstone River, with the help of volunteer crews.

Ewing Township Environmental Commission

Vice Chair Pete Boughton reported that the Environmental Commission is collaborating with Lawrence Township representatives to work towards creation of a shared-use trail along the Johnson Trolley line, running from Spruce Street extension to the iron bridge near the Rider University campus in Lawrence. Ultimately, this trail could continue northward and cross over Route 95 to join the LHT in Lawrenceville. The Commission is also working towards the development of trails on a property near the Delaware River.

Crossroads of the American Revolution

Executive Director Cate Litvack explained that her organization is newly funded and still organizing. They are interested in promoting open space and trails throughout New Jersey that will educate the public to the historical significance of buildings, sites, and routes that were integral to conduct of the Revolutionary War in New Jersey. She cited the Patriots Path in Morris County, a popular footpath that links several communities, and noted that a trail that follows the route of troops led by Gen. Washington and Gen. Rochembaud would be desirable and would lead through Mercer County.

Hopewell Borough

Bob Lewis, Borough Councilman and representative to the Hopewell Valley Recreation Commission, noted that Hopewell School’s parking lot is a de facto hub for bicyclists who drive to the area in order to cycle through the Sourlands. Hopewell foresees the new YMCA to be built on the newly preserved St. Michael’s property in Hopewell Township, and plans trails from the Borough’s Main Street neighborhoods to that location, and over the ridge to connect with the LHT somewhere between the Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association and the old Whisky House on Pennington-Rocky Hill Road.

Round Table Discussion

This discussion was facilitated by Celeste Tracy and Helen Mahan of Community Trail Connections. They began by noting that each group representing a particular trail interest in Mercer County area was marked by strong grass roots initiative, and that the desire to collaborate among trail interests seemed outstanding. They noted that commuting trends are moving towards greater use of non-motorized transportation and public transit, increasing the need for shared-use trail development. Several topics were addressed with an eye to identifying issues common to all the groups and highlighting unique situations among the groups. To begin, groups commented on their vision.

Vision

Shared elements included safe routes for school or recreation, support for healthy exercise and family activity, provision of connections between community facilities, and education about/enjoyment of natural areas and significant historic sites.

Elements that were expressed by one or two organizations included handicapped access (LHT), commuting routes (West Windsor), encouraging non-motorized transportation/environmental concerns (Princeton Township), building relationships between communities (LHT).

Potential Physical Linkages Between Local Trails

Princeton Township: the new Great Road bike pathway leading towards Cherry Valley Road has potential to become linked to trails in Hopewell Township. The planned trail between Quaker Road and Rosedale Road will provide another link from the LHT at ETS. The current bike lane on Mercer Road reaches almost to the Lawrence Township bike lane on Princeton Pike; however, these lanes are too narrow in many places for safe riding or family use.

West Windsor: NJDOT will include a study of a trail between the Princeton Junction NJTransit station and the D&R Canal towpath in the EIS that will be prepared for future highway construction around Route 1 and Washington Road.

D&R Canal Commission: The Princeton Medical Center has agreed to provide a trail on their new Plainsboro property that will enable people to reach the D&R Canal towpath from there.

Hopewell Township: As the newly-acquired St. Michaels’ tract is envisioned as a hub for community trails, they hope to be able to route a trail from there over the ridge to the LHT near the Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association.

Potential Thematic Linkages Between Local Trails

Historic Sites: Many of the planned trails provide access to historical sites, and these opportunities can be presented in a unified manner.

Commercial Promotion: Local shops, bistros, ice cream stands etc. can be promoted as part of the trail experience.

Recreation Opportunities: In several areas, shared-use trials will provide access to municipal athletic fields, school playgrounds, undeveloped natural areas, or networks of footpaths. The concept of using trails both as stand-alone recreation and also in tandem with other recreational activities can be a universal promotional theme.

Concerns & Challenges

Cost: All agreed on the scarcity of local government funding for trails in the face of high property taxes and declining state and federal funds for trails.

Permanent Maintenance: The need to keep trails free of brush and debris, to construct and maintain signage, and to supervise use will require significant staff and volunteer resources. In some communities, keeping ATVs off shared-use trails has required a lot of effort.

Difficulty of siting trails: Finding available property to locate trails and to create links between trails is a challenge. West Windsor succeeded in obtaining permission from PSE&G to use an electric power line right-of-way for a shared-use trail; if this is successful, perhaps other utility right-of-ways can be used.

Environmental regulations governing trail construction: Regulations concerning wetlands and other environmental concerns increase the cost and complexity of trail development, and these issues must be considered in routing, design, and construction.

Litigation and liability: Potential liability issues and litigious nature of our culture may require financial and professional resources.

Volunteers: Given the difficulties all non-profits face in recruiting, training, and retaining volunteers, trails groups will need to be creative in maintaining trained and reliable volunteer crews. Can we share volunteer resources, by collaborating on projects?

Competing Community Values: Advocates for preservation of plant or animal habitats may object to construction of a trail in any given location. A Lawrence Township resident attended the meeting specifically to object to the proposed LHT route near Village Park in Lawrenceville, as it would potentially disrupt a plot of bloodroot plants located adjacent to Keefe Road.

Potential Strategies for Success

County Bike/Ped Task Force: Ken Carlson reported that County Executive Brian Hughes has adopted the idea of creating a Mercer County task force that would involve County staff and representatives of local organizations in planning and promoting shared-use trails. This group might sponsor the update and reprinting of the Mercer County bike map that is now out-of-print.

Including trail plans in municipal master plans: Each municipal master plan contains transportation and recreation elements; trail plans can be included in each of these sections to assure that future development will accommodate trail development.

County Funding: Dedicating some portion of an existing revenue stream (such as the sales tax) to a shared-use trail fund might help with construction costs.

Enlisting private developers: In certain circumstances, municipalities can require developers to provide off-site improvements as a condition for their project. Developers can also be required to construct trails in new sub-divisions.

Public Outreach: Events, education programs, and public relations activities can identify and reach potential trail users and build a vocal constituency for trail planning and construction.

Comment Period

Mike Suber (Princeton Bicycle Advisory Committee): The Princeton Bicycle Advisory committee survey indicated that 40% of Princeton School System grade school students are driven to school because of lack of sidewalks and crossing guards, heavy traffic, inconvenient bus schedules. The percent of New Jersey traffic deaths involving pedestrians-21%–is twice the national average.

Fairfax Hutter: The LHT route from Village Park to Keefe Road in Lawrenceville will destroy a uniquely large bed of bloodroot plants that grow near the road.

Bob Hunsicker (Friends of Carson Road Woods): The LHT loop does not facilitate any useful point-to-point access.

Wrap Up

Becky Taylor thanked all for attending. Among our next steps is dissemination of this report and establishment of a communications system, support for the Mercer County Bike/Pedestrian Task Force, and creation of specific maps and descriptions of each group’s trail plans for use by the D&R Canal Commission. The Commission has regulatory authority for much of the development within this region, and frequently requires developers to provide off-site “off sets” as a condition of their project. Funding a trail project might be an appropriate off set in some circumstances, according to Ernest Hahn, D&R Canal Commission Executive Director.