您好!劳伦斯霍普威尔步道最近举办了一些激动人心的活动,我们想与您分享这个好消息。

合和董事会批准 BMS 地产试验

7 月 29 日,霍普韦尔镇规划委员会投票批准了百时美施贵宝 (BMS) 在其霍普韦尔工厂内建设部分步道的申请。这条小路的这段路将完全越野,并将沿着彭宁顿-洛基山路和泰特斯米尔路的地产正面从沃戈路延伸到老米尔路。完成后,BMS 部分将延伸约 1.2 英里。

BMS 线路最终将连接到 Stony Brook – Millstone Watershed,该项目正在规划一条越野步道。 BMS 路段的另一端将连接到 Rosedale Park,那里规划了另一段步道,但具体路线尚未确定。该县刚刚开始制定默瑟县公园西北的总体规划,其中包括在 Rosedale 公园和基夫路 (Keefe Road) 附近的旧 AT&T 土地(通常被称为“极点农场”)上修建一条休闲步道。我们希望在 2005 年秋天之前看到这部分步道的破土动工。我们非常高兴能得到默瑟县行政长官布莱恩·休斯 (Brian Hughes) 对我们建设步道的支持。

劳伦斯镇议会申请 DOT 补助金

在劳伦斯维尔,镇议会于 6 月 16 日投票决定申请 $200,000 美元的州交通部拨款,用于修建卡森路森林地产周边的步道。这部分步道将通过一条住宅街道与该地产上现有的穿过教育考试服务中心罗斯代尔校区的路段相连。ETS 路段将于秋季正式开放。ETS 已同意允许使用其内部道路系统修建一英里以上的额外步道,这条步道非常适合家庭、经验不足的骑手以及步行者。

NJDOT合作伙伴关系

我们很高兴地宣布,我们已与新泽西州交通部的自行车和行人项目办公室建立了合作伙伴关系,以协助开发一些更具挑战性的步道连接。其中一个部分是劳伦斯镇的 206 号公路交叉口,并确定在何处以及如何最好地建造交叉口,以确保用户的最大安全。我们从 Sheree Davis 和她在 NJDOT 的工作人员的领导中受益匪浅,他们认识到 LHT 等步道在州交通计划中的重要性。

劳伦斯维尔村步道开通

5 月 30 日,我们在一年一度的劳伦斯维尔主街庆典上举行了剪彩仪式,正式开放市中心部分的步道。骑自行车的人、步行者和跑步者现在可以沿着白色和绿色的步道标记穿过劳伦斯维尔学校校园,从 206 号公路和路易斯维尔路的入口即可到达步道。这条小路从学校出发,沿着戈登大道,进入菲利普斯大道,经过游泳俱乐部,到达克雷文巷,穿过卑尔根大道到达乡村公园。如果想要长途跋涉,可以继续穿过乡村公园,小路暂时在耶格尔大道 (Yeager Drive) 结束。我们要感谢劳伦斯维尔学校,这个国家最古老、最负盛名的私立学校之一,感谢他们愿意向劳伦斯维尔学校和整个社区开放美丽的校园。

LHT 参加安全活动

5 月 8 日,我们参加了新泽西州 SAFE KIDS 默瑟县分会赞助的年度自行车安全竞技表演/滑板安全盛会。竞技表演由圣劳伦斯康复中心主办,吸引了 1,000 多人前来了解各种儿童安全措施,包括骑自行车、滑板和游泳。LHT 在众多参与者中间设置了一张桌子,并分发了自行车反光板和有关小径的宣传资料。我们向圣劳伦斯康复中心的 LHT 执行委员会成员 Jane Millner 表示敬意和感谢,她组织了这次精彩的活动,造福了社区。

东海岸绿道联盟

就个人而言,我们很高兴与东海岸绿道联盟合作,于 8 月 15 日举行了一次社区筹款活动,为我们的两名敬业工作组成员 Mike 和 Anne Kruimer 筹集资金,他们将从缅因州骑自行车前往佛罗里达州将于今年九月开始。东海岸骑行活动的目标是筹集资金并提高人们对东海岸绿道的认识,东海岸绿道旨在连接越野步道并建设新步道,最终打造一条 2,800 英里的步道。我们对迈克和安妮致力于提高人们对安全骑行和公众使用小径的认识的承诺感到敬畏。他们确实是言出必行的人,我们很荣幸能与他们合作。

正在制作中的宝石

我们邀请您访问我们的会员页面并注册成为会员,参与劳伦斯霍普威尔步道的工作。我们也有机会担任志愿者,我们感谢社会各界的支持。但最重要的是,出来使用目前开放的部分路线。您将亲眼目睹这个当地“正在形成的宝石”的巨大潜力,以及为什么如此多的居民和组织合作支持其发展。

贝基·泰勒,高级总监
百时美施贵宝

埃莉诺·霍恩,副总裁兼公司秘书
教育考试服务

zh_CNChinese

Greetings! Some exciting activity has recently taken place with the Lawrence Hopewell Trail and we would like to share the good news with you.

Hopewell Board Approves Trail on BMS Property

On July 29, the Hopewell Township Planning Board voted to approve the application from Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMS) to construct a portion of the trail on the grounds of their Hopewell facility. This leg of the trail will be completely off-road and will extend along the frontage of the property on Pennington-Rocky Hill and Titus Mill Roads from Wargo Road to Old Mill Road. When complete, the BMS portion will extend approximately 1.2 miles.

The BMS leg will eventually connect to the Stony Brook – Millstone Watershed on an off-road trail being planned for that property. The other end of the BMS segment will connect to Rosedale Park where another segment of the trail is planned, although the exact route has yet to be determined. The County has just begun developing a master plan for Mercer County Park Northwest which will include provisions for a recreational trail in both Rosedale Park and on the old AT&T land off of Keefe Road commonly referred to as the “Pole Farm”. We are hoping to see ground broken on this portion of the trail by the fall of 2005. We are extremely pleased to have the support of Mercer County Executive Brian Hughes in our efforts to construct the trail.

Lawrence Town Council Applies for DOT Grant

In Lawrenceville, the Town Council voted on June 16 to apply for a $200,000 state DOT grant to construct the trail along the perimeter of the Carson Road Woods property. This portion of the trail will provide a connection via a residential street to the current existing leg on the property that runs through the Educational Testing Service Rosedale campus. The ETS segment will be opened formally in the Fall. ETS has agreed to allow the use of its internal roadway system for over one mile of additional trail that will be perfect for families and less experienced riders, as well as walkers.

NJDOT Partnership

We are pleased to announce that we have formed a partnership with the Office of Bicycling and Pedestrian Programs at NJDOT for assistance on developing some of the more challenging connections of the trail. One of these sections is the Route 206 crossing in Lawrence Township and determining where and how best to construct a crossing to ensure maximum safety for users. We have benefited tremendously from the leadership provided by Sheree Davis and her staff at NJDOT who see the importance of trails such as the LHT in the State’s transportation plans.

Trail Opens in Village of Lawrenceville

On May 30, we held a ribbon cutting ceremony at the annual Lawrenceville Main Street Jubilee to officially open the downtown portion of the trail. Cyclists, walkers and runners can now follow the white and green trail markers through the Lawrenceville School campus with the trail accessible from entrances on Route 206 and on Lewisville Road. The trail continues from the school up Gordon Avenue, onto Phillips Avenue, to Craven Lane past the swim club, and across Bergen Avenue to Village Park. For a longer trek, continue on through Village Park where the trail temporarily ends on Yeager Drive. We want to thank the Lawrenceville School, one of the oldest and most prestigious private schools in this country, for their willingness to open their beautiful campus to the LHT and to the community at large.

LHT Participates in Safety Event

On May 8, we participated in the annual Bicycle Safety Rodeo/Skateboard Safety Jam sponsored by the Mercer County Chapter of New Jersey SAFE KIDS. Hosted by St. Lawrence Rehabilitation Center, the Rodeo drew over 1,000 people who came to learn about a variety of safety measures for children involving cycling, skate boarding, and swimming. The LHT had a table set up among the many other participants and distributed bicycle reflectors and literature about the Trail. Our kudos and thanks to LHT Executive Committee member Jane Millner of the St. Lawrence Rehabilitation Center who organized this wonderful event for the benefit of the community.

East Coast Greenway Alliance

On a more personal note, we had the pleasure of partnering with the East Coast Greenway Alliance for a community fundraiser held on August 15 to raise money for two of our dedicated task force members, Mike and Anne Kruimer, who will be cycling from Maine to Florida beginning this September. The goal of the east coast ride is to raise money and awareness about the East Coast Greenway which is an effort to connect off-road trails and construct new ones to ultimately create a 2,800 mile trail. We are awed by the commitment of Mike and Anne to raising awareness about safe cycling and public access to trails. They are indeed people who live what they speak, and we are privileged to work with them.

A Gem in the Making

We invite you get involved in the work of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail by visiting our membership page and signing up as a member. Opportunities also arise to volunteer and we are grateful to have support from all sectors of the community. But most importantly, come out and use the portions of the trail that are currently open. You will see firsthand the tremendous potential of this local “gem-in-the-making” and why so many residents and organizations have partnered to support its development.

Becky Taylor, Senior Director
Bristol-Myers Squibb

Eleanor Horne, Vice President and Corporate Secretary
Educational Testing Service