劳伦斯镇和劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道已获得百时美施贵宝公司(纽约证券交易所代码:BMY)的 $200,000 拨款,以帮助完成连接霍普韦尔和劳伦斯镇的 20 英里长的多功能自行车和人行道。

百时美施贵宝是劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道的创始合作伙伴和主要支持者。

“我们非常感谢百时美施贵宝及其员工为确保劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇人民充分享受这一美妙的公共设施所做的努力,”劳伦斯镇市长马克·W·霍姆斯 (Mark W. Holmes) 说道。 “我们的目标是利用这份慷慨的礼物将步道延伸至 Dyson Tract,这是一块 184 英亩的土地,毗邻 Princeton Pike 和历史悠久的 Brearley House,其田野可通往 D&R 运河。”

Lawrence Hopewell Trail 联合主席兼 ETS 副总裁 Eleanor Horne 赞扬了百时美施贵宝的贡献。

“当然,我们感谢 BMS 提供的财务支持,但同样重要的是它提供的愿景和领导力,”霍恩说。 “BMS 将其对 Trail 的支持视为对社区的一份礼物,事实也正是如此。”

百时美施贵宝设施副总裁 Louis Fedele 表示:“百时美施贵宝于 2001 年与其他公共和私人组织合作启动了该项目,旨在创建一个惠及所有霍普韦尔和劳伦斯居民的步道系统。” “我们很高兴继续支持这条连接社区的步道,将提供安全的旅行路线并为社区提供娱乐机会。”

除了 Dyson Tract 之外,20 英里环线沿线的一些目的地还包括劳伦斯维尔学校、劳伦斯维尔主街区、劳伦斯镇公园、默瑟县公园西北、Rosedale 公园、位于霍普韦尔的百时美施贵宝研究园区劳伦斯、霍普韦尔镇开放空间、石溪-米尔斯通流域协会农田和教育考试服务校区的全球制药总部。

霍恩说:“在开始戴森区域的实际工作之前,我们还有更多准备工作要做,包括与劳伦斯官员和当地居民,特别是该区域附近的邻居进行更详细的对话。” “我们希望今年能够完成 Dyson Tract 部分。”

据步道领导人称,戴森大道的提案设想了一条从福克斯克罗夫特大道开始向南延伸的石尘之路。在环境敏感地区,道路可以用其他天然材料建造,最大限度地减少对生活在那里的许多动植物的破坏。还考虑建立不透水的树篱,以防止步道使用者进入环境敏感地区或私人财产。

“劳伦斯镇议会完全支持这条步道,并对我们长期以来为保护开放空间、鼓励休闲享受和健康生活方式所做的努力感到非常自豪,”劳伦斯镇女议员帕姆·蒙特 (Pam Mount) 说,她也是该步道执行委员会的镇区代表委员会。 “我们还希望通过鼓励减少使用汽车来保护环境并减少对化石燃料的依赖。”

芒特指出,劳伦斯镇拥有戴森区。

自 2002 年与百时美施贵宝、默瑟县霍普韦尔镇教育考试服务中心、新泽西州交通部和众多当地组织联手组建非营利性劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道以来,劳伦斯镇一直是一个积极的活动合作伙伴设计和推广步道,完成以下部分:

  • 劳伦斯村公园 – 铺好的小路从 Yeger Drive 穿过公园,沿着 Craven Lane,穿过 Lawrenceville 村,到达 Gordon Lane 和 Main Street 的拐角处(206 号公路)。
  • 基夫路段 – 铺设 600 英尺的路段,将 Village Park 与该县的西北公园和 Rosedale 公园连接起来,这些公园是步道路段的未来地点。
  • 劳伦斯大街路段 – 小径沿现有街道和道路通往劳伦斯维尔学校。

其他合作伙伴已经完成了劳伦斯镇步道的两个主要路段。他们是:

  • 劳伦斯维尔学校 – 步道蜿蜒穿过这所私立学校的校园,到达劳伦斯镇路易斯维尔路的出口。
  • 教育考试服务 – 居民和游客可以享受约 1.2 英里的铺砌小径,穿过 Rosedale 路旁公园般的校园。

在霍普韦尔镇,目前已完成的一段步道沿着百时美施贵宝霍普韦尔园区的 Pennington-Rocky Hill Road 延伸,位于 Old Mill 路和 Titus Mill 路之间,为这段非常繁忙的道路上的徒步旅行者、慢跑者和骑自行车者提供安全通道。这条步道经过一个受欢迎的季节性农产品摊位,让用户可以欣赏周围国家保护的农田的景色。

zh_CNChinese

The Township of Lawrence and the Lawrence Hopewell Trail have been awarded a $200,000 grant from Bristol-Myers Squibb (NYSE: BMY) to help complete the 20-mile multi-purpose bicycle and pedestrian path linking Hopewell and Lawrence Townships.

Bristol-Myers Squibb is a founding partner and major supporter of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail.

“We are very grateful to Bristol-Myers Squibb and its employees for their efforts to ensure that the people of Lawrence and Hopewell Townships fully enjoy this wonderful public amenity,” said Lawrence Township Mayor Mark W. Holmes. “Our goal is to use this generous gift to extend the Trail through the Dyson Tract, a 184-acre parcel of land adjacent to Princeton Pike and the historic Brearley House, with fields that access the D&R Canal.”

Lawrence Hopewell Trail Co-chair and ETS Vice President Eleanor Horne praised Bristol-Myers Squibb for its contributions.

“Of course we appreciate the financial support provided by BMS, but equally as important is the vision and leadership it provides,” said Horne. “BMS has characterized its support of the Trail as a gift to the community, and it is just that.”

“Bristol-Myers Squibb initiated this project in 2001 in partnership with other public and private organizations to create a trail system that would benefit all Hopewell and Lawrence residents,” said Bristol-Myers Squibb Vice President of Facilities Louis Fedele. “We are pleased to continue supporting the trail which links neighborhoods, will provide safe traveling routes and offers recreational opportunities in the community.”

In addition to the Dyson Tract, some of the destinations along the 20-mile Trail loop include Lawrenceville School, the Main Street district of Lawrenceville, Lawrence Township parks, Mercer County Park Northwest, Rosedale Park, the Bristol-Myers Squibb research campus in Hopewell and worldwide pharmaceutical headquarters in Lawrence, Hopewell Township open spaces, the Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association farmlands, and the Educational Testing Service campus.

“We have more preparation to do before we begin actual work on the Dyson Tract, including more detailed conversations with Lawrence officials and local residents, particularly neighbors near the tract,” said Horne. “It is our hope to complete the Dyson Tract segment this year.”

According to Trail leaders, proposals for the Dyson Tract envision a path of stone dust beginning at Foxcroft Drive and proceeding south.  In environmentally sensitive areas, the path may be constructed with other natural materials, minimizing disruption to the many animals and plants that live there.  Consideration is also being given to building an impermeable hedge to prevent Trail users from entering environmentally sensitive areas or private property.

“The Lawrence Township Council fully supports the Trail and takes great pride in our long-standing efforts to preserve open space and encourage recreational enjoyment and healthy lifestyles,” said Lawrence Township Councilwoman Pam Mount, who also serves as the Township’s representative on the Trail’s Executive Committee.  “We also want to protect the environment and reduce our reliance on fossil fuels by encouraging less use of automobiles.”

Mount pointed out that Lawrence Township owns the Dyson Tract.

Since joining forces in 2002 with Bristol-Myers Squibb, Educational Testing Service, Hopewell Township, Mercer County, the New Jersey Department of Transportation and a wide array of local organizations to form the non-profit Lawrence Hopewell Trail, Lawrence Township has been an active partner in the design and promotion of the Trail, completing the following segments:

  • Lawrence Village Park – Paved trail leads from Yeger Drive through the park, down Craven Lane and through the Village of Lawrenceville to the corner of Gordon Lane and Main Street (Route 206).
  • Keefe Road Segment – Paved 600 feet segment that links Village Park with the County’s Northwest and Rosedale Parks, future sites for Trail segments.
  • Lawrence Main Street Segment – Trail takes existing streets and roads to the Lawrenceville School.

Other partners have completed two major segments of the Trail in Lawrence Township.  They are:

  • Lawrenceville School – The Trail winds through the campus of this private school to an exit onto Lewisville Road in Lawrence Township.
  • Educational Testing Service – Residents and visitors can enjoy about 1.2 miles of paved Trail through the park-like campus off of Rosedale Road.

In Hopewell Township, a completed segment of the Trail currently runs along Pennington-Rocky Hill Road on the Bristol-Myers Squibb Hopewell Campus between Old Mill and Titus Mill Roads, providing safe passage to hikers, joggers and cyclists on this very busy stretch of roadway. The Trail passes a popular seasonal produce stand and allows users to take in views of surrounding, state-preserved farm lands.