LHT 一直在努力开展一项历史项目——在我们 22 英里的步道上确定了 30 多个具有重要历史意义的景点,每个景点都在我们地区的早期发挥了巨大的作用。从早期的定居点和工厂遗址到技术热点和交通枢纽,这些遗址讲述了默瑟县的故事。

LHT Hunter Research Howell Farm

霍普威尔豪威尔生活历史农场的考古发掘,由亨特研究中心提供

如果没有,LHT 的历史标牌项目就不可能实现 Hunter Research, Inc.,一家历史研究咨询集团 由考古学家创立 理查德·亨特, 合和镇的长期居民和该镇的受托人 合和谷历史学会, 1986 年。总部位于特伦顿的 Hunter Research 正在对该项目进行研究,并将设计、制造和安装标牌。此外,亨特研究中心致力于保护和修复、考古学、监管合规、教育和推广,并参与提名 国家历史名胜名录。 在当地,他们与特拉华州和拉里坦运河州立公园、尤因的路易斯卡恩浴场、特伦顿费里历史区、普林斯顿的莫文以及特伦顿首都综合体内的多个地点进行了合作。我们采访了历史学家 帕特里克·哈什巴格, 亨特研究公司副总裁。

Richard Hunter

理查德·亨特,由亨特研究中心提供

Patrick Harshbarger

帕特里克·哈什巴格(Patrick Harshbarger),由亨特研究公司提供

左心室: 你所做的工作很有趣,而且似乎可能会受到很多人的关注,你能解释一下你所做的事情以及像 Hunter Research 这样的组织所做的事情吗?亨特是如何以及为何成立的?
猎人研究: Hunter Research 是一家位于特伦顿的私人咨询公司,专门从事历史保护和文化资源管理。其十几名专业人员提供历史、建筑史、考古学、保护规划、展览开发和历史解说标牌方面的专业知识。我们的大部分工作是为公共机构(联邦、州、县和地方)、私人机构和非营利组织开展的,并且在许多情况下是由州和联邦历史保护立法的要求驱动的。该公司由考古学家和历史地理学家理查德·亨特 (Richard Hunter) 于 1986 年创立,旨在为这些领域提供专业服务。

左心室: 一个人如何参与这类工作?您的职业道路是怎样的?
人力资源: 参与源于对历史的热情以及让历史与当今世界相关的愿望。该领域的专业人士通过大学学习历史、人类学、考古学、地理学和相关学科,然后进入公共和私营部门(政府机构、博物馆、大型建筑/工程公司和像我们这样的小型私人企业)工作。

可以公平地说,我们这些到了一定年龄的人很幸运能够在 20 世纪 70 年代到 80 年代中期找到工作。当时,文化资源管理作为一项专业服务还处于起步阶段,这在很大程度上要归功于国家历史保护法律法规的加强。如今,它已成为一条更加成熟的职业道路,设立了学位课程,让学生能够接触到该领域。在我们地区,宾夕法尼亚大学(历史保护)、罗格斯大学卡姆登分校(公共历史)和蒙茅斯大学(人类学)提供相关学位。我们的大多数员工毕业于其中一项或多项课程。

左心室: 对于像 LHT 的历史标牌项目这样的项目,您在哪里寻找历史信息和档案图像?这个过程是如何开始的?信息如何验证?
人力资源: 信息存在于图书馆、档案馆、公共机构、当地历史团体中,并且越来越多地存在于网上。就 LHT 项目而言,当地资源——知识渊博的居民、当地历史学家——至关重要。信息的验证来自于使用多个一致的书面来源、主要档案参考资料和专业判断。

左心室: 这个项目有什么独特之处吗?默瑟县历史悠久,但您曾在全国各地工作过 - 这个地区有何不同?与您工作过的其他领域相比,您在这里寻找的历史文献的访问权限如何?
人力资源: 该项目的不同寻常之处在于,它专注于为徒步/自行车道开发有凝聚力的历史内容,而该路线本身并不是一条历史路线。我们正在与 Douglas Scott 合作,他是一位才华横溢、对历史敏感的平面设计师。他正在协助我们制作 LHT 独有的标志“家族”。创建历史解释标志是一门艺术,以便文字和各种历史图像和地图一起讲述故事。其想法是,这些标志为 LHT 娱乐用户观众创造一个兴趣点。因此,我们希望标志能够传达一种穿越随时间演变的景观的感觉。这些标志需要与外出休闲和娱乐的用户产生共鸣。

左心室: 有没有哪些故事是您因发现或验证而感到特别自豪的?有什么真正脱颖而出的项目吗?
人力资源: 假设这意味着 LHT 相关?有时,最近的历史最令人惊讶和吸引人,因为它通常更容易与北极大道和 20 世纪早期的道路发展等联系起来。 《省线》是一个引人入胜且复杂的故事,讲述了早期欧洲人为了自己的利益而瓜分领土时在大地上画出的直线。您可以按照此一直到今天以及当地的细分部门。即使在今天,省线仍然对土地所有权和政府定义产生深远的影响。

Hunter Research Central Park Seneca Village

在中央公园塞内卡村场地安装标牌,由 Hunter Research 提供

对我们来说引人注目的一个标牌项目是我们为曼哈顿中央公园保护协会所做的工作。在那里,我们帮助保护协会的工作人员制作了一系列以塞内卡村为主题的标志,该社区以前就存在于第 85 街和中央公园西地区的公园内,并且早于公园成立。塞内卡村的 225 名居民(其中约三分之二是黑人)在 1850 年代中期中央公园建立时被驱逐。房屋、教堂和学校被夷为平地,以开辟公园绿地。这个村庄的故事基本上被遗忘了,直到 20 世纪 90 年代考古学家和学者开始对它产生兴趣。我们认为这些标志促使游客以一种不同且非常热门的方式思考公园的美丽景观。同样,LHT 的标志之一是路易斯维尔的历史,路易斯维尔是劳伦斯镇的一个黑人小社区,当地学者对此很感兴趣。与塞内卡村一样,刘易斯维尔也起源于 19 世纪初的几十年,当时黑人(其中一些人因新泽西废奴法而获得自由)获得了小块土地并聚集在大多是种族隔离的社区。

左心室: 您认为在一般地区有哪些必看的历史遗迹,特别是我们的读者可能还不熟悉的稍微偏僻的景点?
人力资源: 好吧,我们有点偏见,但我们认为特伦顿在历史资源方面确实没有得到应有的回报。特伦特宫 (Trent House) 和旧军营 (Old Barracks) 都是非凡的景点,展示了我们地区可追溯到早期殖民时期的悠久历史。

Hunter Research Petty's Run

特伦顿的 Petty’s Run 考古遗址,由 Hunter Research 提供

我们开发了一系列户外标志来诠释佩蒂奔跑考古遗址,这是一座罕见的殖民时期炼钢炉,毗邻后来在特伦顿建造的新泽西州议会大厦。亨特研究公司挖掘了这个被深埋且失落的遗址,并有机会开展一项非常成功的公共考古项目。它可能是美国国会大厦内唯一一个永久解释的考古遗址。

Hunter Research Kahn Bathhouse

尤因的卡恩浴室,由亨特研究中心提供

另一个人迹罕至的地方是尤因镇的阿尔伯特·卡恩浴室。它是现代主义建筑的标志。来自世界各地的卡恩爱好者都来参观——我们遇到过来自德国和日本的大巴——但当地人对它几乎一无所知。

如果想要获得独特的体验,没有什么比位于霍普威尔镇 (Hopewell Township) 的豪威尔生活历史农场 (Howell Living History Farm) 更好的了。他们鼓励游客参与 1900 年农场家庭典型活动的理念为游客带来了很多乐趣,尤其是与农场动物的互动。活生生的历史方法自然会引发人们的对话,讨论普通人的日常生活如何在短短几代人的时间内发生变化。

左心室: 请为探索 LHT 的历史爱好者分享任何建议或鼓励。
人力资源: 这些迹象让我们明白,历史以无数微小且常常不被重视的方式就在你身边。它以一种非常有形的方式滋养与景观的文化联系。

zh_CNChinese

The LHT has been hard at work on a history project – identifying over 30 historically important spots along our 22 miles of trail that each played an outsize role in our region’s early days. From early settlements and mill sites to technology hotspots and transportation hubs, these sites help tell the story of Mercer County.

LHT Hunter Research Howell Farm

An archaeological dig at Howell Living History Farm in Hopewell, courtesy of Hunter Research

The LHT’s Historical Signage Project wouldn’t be possible without Hunter Research, Inc., a historical research consulting group founded by archaeologist Richard Hunter, a longtime resident of Hopewell Township and trustee of the Hopewell Valley Historical Society, in 1986. Hunter Research, based in Trenton, is conducting research for the project and will design, fabricate, and install the signage. In addition, Hunter Research works on preservation and restoration, archaeology, regulatory compliance, education and outreach, and have a hand in nominations for the National Register of Historic Places. Locally, they’ve worked with the Delaware and Raritan Canal State Park, the Louis Kahn Bath House in Ewing, the Trenton Ferry Historic District, Morven in Princeton, and at various sites within the Trenton Capital Complex. We spoke to historian Patrick Harshbarger, Hunter Research’s vice-president.

Richard Hunter

Richard Hunter, courtesy of Hunter Research

Patrick Harshbarger

Patrick Harshbarger, courtesy of Hunter Research

LHT: The work you do is fascinating, and it seems like something that might fall under the radar of many people, can you explain a little about what you do and what organizations like Hunter Research do? And how and why Hunter was founded?
Hunter Research: Hunter Research is a Trenton-based private consulting business that specializes in historic preservation and cultural resource management. Its dozen or so professional staff provide expertise in history, architectural history, archaeology, preservation planning, exhibit development and historic interpretive signage. Much of our work is conducted for public agencies (federal, state, county, and local), private institutions, and non-profit organizations, and in many instances is driven by the requirements of state and federal historic preservation legislation. The company was founded in 1986 by Richard Hunter, an archaeologist and historical geographer, with the intention of providing professional services in these areas.

LHT: How does a person get involved in this type of work? What was your career path like?
HR: Involvement stems from having a passion for history and a desire to make history relevant in today’s world. Professionals in this field go through college studying history, anthropology, archaeology, geography, and related disciplines and move on to jobs in the public and private sectors (government agencies, museums, large architecture/engineering firms and smaller private concerns like ours).

It’s probably fair to say that those of us of a certain age were lucky enough to stumble into our jobs in the 1970s to mid-1980s. At that time, cultural resources management as a professional service was in its infancy, in large part due to strengthening of the nation’s historic preservation laws and regulations. Today, it’s a more established career path with degree programs set up to give students exposure to the field. In our region, the University of Pennsylvania (Historic Preservation), Rutgers University Camden (Public History), and Monmouth University (Anthropology) offer relevant degrees. Most of our staff graduated from one or more of these programs.

LHT: Where do you look for the historical information and archival imagery for a project like the LHT’s historical signage project? How does that process begin? How is information verified?
HR: Information is in libraries, archives, public agencies, local historical groups, and increasingly online. In the case of the LHT project, local sources – knowledgeable residents, local historians – are critical. Verification of information comes from use of multiple concurring written sources, primary archival references and professional judgment.

LHT: Is this project unique in any way? Mercer County is rich in history, but you’ve worked all over the country – how is this area different? What is access to historical documentation you seek out like here versus in other areas you’ve worked?
HR: The project is unusual in focusing on developing cohesive history content for a hiking/biking trail that is not in itself a historic route. We’re working with Douglas Scott, a talented graphic designer with sensitivity to history. He’s assisting us to craft a “family” of signs that are unique to the LHT. There is an art to creating historic interpretive signs so that the words and a variety of historic images and maps work together to tell the story. The idea is that the signs create a point of interest for an audience of LHT recreational users. So, we want the signs to convey a feeling of traveling through a landscape that has evolved over time. The signs need to be relatable to users who are out on the trail for recreation and fun.

LHT: Are there any stories you’re particularly proud of unearthing or verifying? Any projects that really stand out?
HR: Assuming this means LHT-related? Sometimes it is the more recent history that surprises and appeals most, since it is often easier to relate to, e.g., Arctic Parkway and early 20th-century development of roads. The Province Line is a fascinating and complicated story of tracing straight lines across the landscape as early Europeans carved up territory for their own benefit; you can follow this down to the present day and to local subdivisions. Even today, the Province Line still exerts a profound influence on land ownership and governmental definition.

Hunter Research Central Park Seneca Village

Installation of signage at Central Park’s Seneca Village site, courtesy of Hunter Research

One signage project that stands out for us is our work for the Central Park Conservancy in Manhattan. There we helped Conservancy staff create a family of signs on the topic of Seneca Village, a community that formerly existed in and predated the park in the area of 85th Street and Central Park West. Seneca Village’s 225 residents, about two-thirds of whom were Black, were evicted in the mid-1850s when Central Park was established. The houses, churches and school were leveled to create parkland. The story of the village was largely forgotten until it became of interest to archaeologists and scholars in the 1990s. We think the signs prompt visitors to think about the park’s beautiful landscape in a different and very topical way. In a similar vein, one of the signs for the LHT is on the history of Lewisville, a small Black community in Lawrence Township that has been of interest to local scholars. Like Seneca Village, Lewisville had its origins in the early decades of the 19th century as Blacks, some of whom had been freed by New Jersey’s abolition laws, acquired small landholdings and congregated in what were mostly segregated neighborhoods.

LHT: What would you say are a few of the must-see historical sites in the general area, especially slightly off the beaten path sites, our readers may not already be familiar with?
HR: Well, we’re a little bit biased, but we think Trenton really doesn’t receive its due when it comes to its historical resources. The Trent House and Old Barracks are exceptional sites and illustrate the depth of our area’s history going back to the early colonial period.

Hunter Research Petty's Run

Petty’s Run archaeological site in Trenton, courtesy of Hunter Research

We’ve developed a series of outdoor signs interpreting Petty’s Run Archaeological Site, a rare colonial steel furnace that stood next to where the New Jersey State House was later built in Trenton. Hunter Research dug the site, which was deeply buried and lost, and had the opportunity to run a highly successful public archaeology program too. It may be the only permanently interpreted archaeology site on a capitol grounds in the nation.

Hunter Research Kahn Bathhouse

Kahn Bathhouse in Ewing, courtesy of Hunter Research

Another off-the-beaten path site is the Albert Kahn Bathhouse in Ewing Township. It’s an icon of Modernist architecture. Kahn enthusiasts from around the world visit – we’ve encountered busloads from Germany and Japan – yet it’s practically unknown to locals.

For a unique experience, nothing beats Howell Living History Farm in Hopewell Township. Their philosophy of encouraging visitors to participate in activities typical of farm families in 1900 makes for some great fun, especially interacting with the farm animals. The living history approach naturally prompts conversations about how everyday life for everyday people can change in just a few generations.

LHT: Please share any words of advice or encouragement for history buffs exploring the LHT.
HR: These signs bring home that history is all around you in countless little and often unappreciated ways. It nourishes a cultural connection to the landscape in a very tangible way.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!