劳伦斯镇最近退休的管理员 Rich Krawczun 的社区领袖、政府官员以及朋友和家人,以及即将退休的霍普韦尔镇管理员和工程师 Paul Pogorzelski 昨晚加入了劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道董事会,接受了今年的 LHT 开拓者奖。

这两位公务员都以其领导能力和对社区的奉献精神而闻名,因多年来对劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道的支持而受到称赞,这是一条环绕劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇的自行车和步行道,由四名百时美施贵宝公司负责运营校园、教育考试服务中心和 Mercer Meadows。

在 D&R Greenway 约翰逊教育中心举行的庆祝活动上,Krawczun 和 Pogorzelski 接受了 LHT 董事会和社区的感谢,并分享了他们个人对这条步道的愿景。

“LHT 受益于 Rich Krawczun 对社区、金融、政府关系和建筑的了解,以及他高超的解决问题的能力,”LHT 联席总裁 Eleanor V. Horne 说道。她指出,劳伦斯的大部分路段都是在他任职期间完成的。

LHT 联席总裁贝基·泰勒 (Becky Taylor) 指出,Pogorzelski 的许多贡献包括分享他对飞行的热情,在谷歌地图鸟瞰图可用之前,捕捉霍普威尔镇地形的鸟瞰图。 “由于保罗的爱好,我们能够使用我们无法获得的视角来建立 LHT 路线,”她说。

事实上,漫画家迈克·斯科特 (Mike Scott) 创作的漫画(LHT 开拓者奖的标志)中,波格泽尔斯基 (Pogorzelski) 驾驶他的塞斯纳 (Cessna) 飞行时咧着嘴笑。克劳尊在小道旁的椅子上放松,思考着他退休后搬到佛罗里达州海滩附近的新生活。

LHT 董事会设立了 LHT 开拓者奖,以表彰在三年或更长时间内提供杰出支持的组织或个人。被提名者的支持可以采取领导力、专业知识、财政捐助或倡导的形式,没有这些支持,线索就不会存在,或者不会以符合董事会愿景的方式存在。

劳伦斯·霍普威尔步道 (Lawrence Hopewell Trail) 计划中的 22 英里以上自行车道和步行道以及穿过默瑟县劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇的交通走廊的 19 英里(即该步道的 88%)现已完工。

zh_CNChinese

Community leaders, government officials and friends and family of Lawrence Township’s recently retired administrator, Rich Krawczun, and soon to retire Hopewell Township Administrator and Engineer Paul Pogorzelski joined the Lawrence Hopewell Trail Board of Trustees last night to accept this year’s LHT Trailblazer Awards.

Both public servants known for their leadership abilities as well as their commitment to their communities were lauded for their many years of support for the Lawrence Hopewell Trail, a biking and walking trail that loops through Lawrence and Hopewell Townships, anchored by four Bristol-Myers Squibb campuses, Educational Testing Service and Mercer Meadows.

At the celebration at the D&R Greenway’s Johnson Education Center, Krawczun and Pogorzelski accepted the thanks of the LHT board and the community and shared their own personal visions for the trail.

“The LHT benefitted from Rich Krawczun’s knowledge of the community, finance, government relations, and construction, as well as his superb problem solving skills,” said LHT Co-President Eleanor V. Horne. She noted that most of the trail segments in Lawrence were completed during his tenure.

LHT Co-President Becky Taylor noted that Pogorzelski’s many contributions included sharing his passion for flying to capture the bird’s eye view of the terrain in Hopewell Township in the days before Google Maps’ aerial views were available. “Because of Paul’s avocation, we were able to establish the LHT route using a perspective that otherwise wouldn’t have been available to us,” she said.

In fact, the caricature created by cartoonist Mike Scott – a signature of the LHT Trailblazer Awards – features Pogorzelski grinning wildly while flying in his Cessna. Krawczun is featured relaxing in a chair along the trail, thinking about his new life near the beaches of Florida, where he has relocated since his retirement.

The LHT Board of Trustees created the LHT Trailblazer Awards to recognize organizations or individuals providing extraordinary support over three or more years. The nominee’s support can take the form of leadership, professional expertise, financial contributions, or advocacy without which the trail would not exist or would not exist in a manner that is consistent with the Board’s vision.

Nineteen miles of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail’s planned 22-plus mile bicycle and pedestrian trail and transportation corridor through Lawrence and Hopewell Townships in Mercer County – or 88 percent of the trail – are now complete.