我们庆祝 LHT 沿线几个世纪历史事件的活动以非常特别的周六早上步行俱乐部到三个关键标志拉开帷幕

历史 LHT 沿线 22 英里的步道沿线有 30 多个具有重要历史意义的景点,每个景点都在我们地区的早期发挥了巨大的作用。从早期的定居点和工厂遗址到技术热点和交通枢纽,这些遗址讲述了默瑟县的故事。

经过多年的筹划,我们准备正式启动“LHT沿线的历史”解说标志计划,以谈话和步行的形式!

请于 5 月 14 日星期六上午 9:30 参加我们在豪华星期六早晨步行俱乐部的揭幕仪式。前劳伦斯维尔历史学家、现任 LHT 董事会成员丹尼斯·沃特斯 (Dennis Waters) 将在我们出发参观三个标志之前,介绍这些标志如何让沿途的历史栩栩如生: 布里尔利橡树, 一棵树龄在 255 至 410 岁之间的树; 路易斯维尔路, 劳伦斯镇最古老的非裔美国人社区;和 普林斯顿派克, 新泽西州最古老的收费公路之一。

LHT History Brearley Oak photo by Dennis Waters

布里尔利橡树,2022 年 5 月,由 Dennis Waters 提供

“劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道穿过许多地点,这些地点反映了默瑟县这个角落几个世纪的丰富历史。从古老的树木到殖民时期的大道,从废弃的磨坊到电车时代的遗迹,当地的历史在每一个转弯处都在小道上萌芽,”沃特斯说。 “通过这个项目,我们通过 LHT 22 英里沿线 31 个在当地历史上具有重要意义的地点的解说标志,将这段历史带入生活。”

在劳伦斯普林斯顿派克 3401 号百时美施贵宝园区停车场与我们会面。我们将步行 1.4 英里来参观这三个标志。对于那些对长途步行感兴趣的人(即星期六早晨步行俱乐部会员),我们将继续前往布里尔利屋,然后返回停车场,往返额外 1.5 英里,总共步行 2.9 英里。

在我们出发之前,我们邀请您更多地了解 “LHT 沿线的历史” 我们网站上的项目。查看“LHT 的历史” 主页在这里; 点击这里 了解有关 Hunter Research 的更多信息——我们标志背后的一家位于特伦顿的历史研究咨询公司;并进一步了解丹尼斯·沃特斯 这里。

LHT Lewisville Map

DJ Lake 和 SN Beers, 费城和特伦顿附近的地图, 1860 年,由亨特研究中心提供

LHT Princeton Pike Bridge 1907

石溪上普林斯顿派克桥的明信片景观,1907 年,由亨特研究中心提供

zh_CNChinese

Our Celebration of Centuries of Historical Events Along the LHT Kicks Off with a Very Special Saturday Morning Walking Club to Three Key Signs

History Along the LHT includes over 30 historically important spots along our 22 miles of trail that each played an outsize role in our region’s early days. From early settlements and mill sites to technology hotspots and transportation hubs, these sites help tell the story of Mercer County.

After years of planning, we are ready to officially launch our ‘History Along the LHT’ interpretive sign program with a talk and a walk!

Join us at 9:30am on Saturday May 14 for the unveiling at a deluxe Saturday Morning Walking Club. Former Lawrenceville historian and current LHT board member Dennis Waters will talk about how the signs bring history to life along the trail before we set out to visit three signs: the Brearley Oak, a tree between 255 and 410 years old; Lewisville Road, Lawrence Township’s oldest African American community; and Princeton Pike, one of New Jersey’s oldest toll roads.

LHT History Brearley Oak photo by Dennis Waters

Brearley Oak, May 2022, courtesy of Dennis Waters

“The Lawrence-Hopewell Trail passes through many locations that reflect centuries of the rich history of this corner of Mercer County. From ancient trees to colonial thoroughfares to abandoned grist mills to remnants of the trolley era, local history sprouts from the trail at every turn,” says Waters. “With this project, we bring this history to life through interpretive signs at 31 locations that are significant in local history along the LHT’s 22 miles.”

Meet us in the parking lot at the Bristol Myers Squibb campus, 3401 Princeton Pike in Lawrence. We will walk 1.4 miles to visit these three signs. To those interested in a longer walk — that means you Saturday Morning Walking Club members — we will continue to the Brearley House and back to the parking lot, for an additional 1.5 miles roundtrip, a total walk of 2.9 miles.

And before we set out, we invite you to learn a bit more about the ‘History Along the LHT’ project on our website. Check out the ‘History on the LHT’ homepage here; click here to learn more about Hunter Research — the Trenton-based historical research consultancy behind our signs; and learn a bit more about Dennis Waters here.

LHT Lewisville Map

D.J. Lake and S.N. Beers, Map of Vicinity of Philadelphia and Trenton, 1860, courtesy of Hunter Research

LHT Princeton Pike Bridge 1907

A postcard view of the Princeton Pike bridge over Stony Brook, 1907, courtesy of Hunter Research