今天,公众和 LHT 周六早上步行俱乐部在“LHT 沿线历史”的正式揭幕仪式上回顾了过去,这是一个为劳伦斯·霍普威尔步道 (Lawrence Hopewell Trail) 开发的解说标牌项目。

“劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道穿过许多地点,这些地点反映了默瑟县这个角落几个世纪的丰富历史,”前劳伦斯镇历史学家、现任 LHT 董事会成员丹尼斯·P·沃特斯 (Dennis P. Waters) 在活动中说道。他带领大家步行到 LHT 沿线的三个新路标:布雷利橡树(Brearley Oak),一棵树龄在 255 到 410 岁之间的树,刘易斯维尔路(Lewisville Road),劳伦斯镇最古老的非裔美国人社区,以及普林斯顿派克(Princeton Pike),新泽西州最古老的收费公路之一。

沃特斯说:“从古老的树木到殖民时期的大道,再到废弃的磨坊,再到电车时代的遗迹,当地的历史在每一个拐角处都在小路上萌芽。” “通过这个项目,我们通过 LHT 22 英里沿线 31 个在当地历史上具有重要意义的地点的解说标志,将这段历史带入生活。”

这些标志涵盖了劳伦斯和合和历史的不同地点和主题,分布在整个步道路线上,为用户提供了更多了解当地遗产和文化的机会。

该项目重点关注的其他地点包括里德磨坊(Reed's Mill),这是一座连续运转了近两个世纪的磨坊;国王公路,独立战争士兵的重要路线;梅登黑德草甸 (Maidenhead Meadows),一片具有美洲原住民遗产的沼泽地;张伯伦农场 (Chamberlain Farm),合和谷 (Hopewell Valley) 社区地标;玫瑰山 (Mount Rose),十字路口村庄和坚硬的“陷阱岩”构造;殖民时代划分东泽西和西泽西的省线;格罗弗·克利夫兰 (Grover Cleveland) 的乡村住宅,格罗弗·克利夫兰是唯一一位当选两届非连续任期的美国总统。如需了解有关 LHT 沿线已安装标记的更多信息,请访问 www.lhtrail.org/history。

历史 LHT 沿线已经酝酿多年,是增强步道用户体验的更广泛战略的一部分。 2016 年,LHT 董事会与 Hunter Research, Inc. 签订合同,准备一份解释计划,其中包括对标志位置、设计和内容的建议。该项目由默瑟县文化和遗产委员会、新泽西历史委员会、联邦公路管理局休闲步道计划、新泽西州环境保护部和一个匿名基金会提供的资助。

沃特斯表示,目前已经安装了七个标牌,并将继续在五月底安装另外五个标牌。沃特斯计划与他的同事、霍普韦尔谷历史学会前主席理查德·W·亨特一起举办更多的步行和会谈。以及新泽西州首屈一指的历史资源咨询公司之一亨特研究公司的总裁/首席考古学家。

周六的活动从百时美施贵宝普林斯顿派克校区开始,步行 1.4 英里到达标牌。那些对长途步行感兴趣的人,包括 LHT 周六早晨步行俱乐部的成员,可以步行更远的距离,前往 1761 年的布雷利故居 (Brearley House) 并返回,总共步行 2.9 英里。

zh_CNChinese

Today members of the public and the LHT Saturday Morning Walking Club stepped back in time at the official unveiling of “History Along the LHT,” an interpretive signage program developed for the Lawrence Hopewell Trail.

“The Lawrence Hopewell Trail passes through many locations that reflect centuries of the rich history of this corner of Mercer County,” said former Lawrence Township historian and current LHT board member Dennis P. Waters at the event. He led a walk to three new signs along the LHT: the Brearley Oak, a tree between 255 and 410 years old, Lewisville Road, Lawrence Township’s oldest African American community, and Princeton Pike, one of New Jersey’s oldest toll roads.

“From ancient trees to colonial thoroughfares to abandoned grist mills to remnants of the trolley era, local history sprouts from the trail  at every turn,” Waters said. “With this project, we bring this history to life through interpretive signs at 31 locations that are significant in local history along the LHT’s 22 miles.”

The signs, covering different sites and topics from Lawrence and Hopewell history, are distributed throughout the trail route, offering  users opportunities to learn more about the local heritage and culture.

Other sites the project highlights include Reed’s Mill, a gristmill that operated continuously for nearly two centuries; King’s Highway, an important route for Revolutionary War soldiers; Maidenhead Meadows, a marshland with Native American heritage; Chamberlain Farm, a Hopewell Valley community landmark; Mount Rose, a crossroads village and hard “trap rock” formation; the colonial-era Province Line dividing East and West Jersey; and a country home of Grover Cleveland, the only American president elected to two non-consecutive terms. Learn more about the markers already installed along the LHT by visiting www.lhtrail.org/history.

History Along the LHT has been years in the making, part of a broader strategy to enhance the trail’s user experience. In 2016, the LHT’s Board of Trustees contracted with Hunter Research, Inc. to prepare an interpretive plan with recommendations for sign locations, design and content. The project was funded by grants from the Mercer County Cultural and Heritage Commission, the New Jersey Historical Commission, the Federal Highway Administration’s Recreational Trails Program through the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection and an anonymous foundation.

With seven signs now installed, production continues for another five to be installed by the end of May, said Waters, who plans to host further walks and talks along with his colleague, Richard W. Hunter, a former president of the Hopewell Valley Historical Society and the president/principal archaeologist of Hunter Research, one of New Jersey’s premier historical resource consulting firms.

Saturday’s event started at Bristol Myers Squibb’s Princeton Pike campus and continued on to a 1.4 mile walk to the signs. Those interested in a longer walk, including members of the LHT Saturday Morning Walking Club, walked still farther, to the 1761 Brearley House and back, for a total walk of 2.9 miles.