霍普韦尔镇——诺亚·亨特故居坐落在罗斯代尔公园一块崎岖不平的土地上,远离道路。这座 1750 年代的农舍曾是美国早期工艺的光辉典范,但多年荒废后已成废墟。

大楼的白色瓦片已褪色为灰色,大部分瓦片已开裂或剥落,如果它们还存在的话。大楼的门曾经是鲜绿色的,现在已褪色为暗淡,墙上只有粗鲁的“欢迎”字样的涂鸦,向围观者发出了唯一的邀请。

Hunt House

从风化磨损的瓦片到内部封闭的壁炉,修复布莱克威尔路这栋破旧的 18 世纪农舍需要花费很多心思。但新泽西州历史信托基金向默瑟县规划部门提供的 $734,000 美元拨款有望改善这栋房屋的状况。

这笔赠款于 11 月获得州社区事务部批准,是花园州历史信托基金 $640 万支出授权的一部分。议会上周批准了这项支出,预计明年初将在参议院轻松通过。

据默瑟县行政长官布莱恩·休斯 (Brian Hughes) 称,该拨款将与县政府提供的同等数额相匹配,用于修复狩猎屋。这意味着该项目将耗资近 $150 万美元。

多年来,这座房子、它所在的土路和一系列破旧的农场建筑一直是罗斯代尔公园未经改善的后门。几十年前,在车辆通行受到限制之前,该地区就更频繁地出入。现在的使用主要限于渔民和耐寒的步行者。

休斯自 1998 年以来一直参与保护狩猎屋,他表示,该建筑可能会作为罗斯代尔公园 20 英里长的劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道的总部,该步道与狩猎屋并行。

“这将是一次功能性修复,而不是博物馆级别的修复,”休斯说。“这是我们的挑战——把它改造成一种有用的设施,一种充满活力和生机的设施。”

新泽西州历史信托基金会为该地区许多值得保护的建筑提供了援助,其中包括普林斯顿自治市前州长的历史故居莫文、普林斯顿大学教堂和特伦顿共济会会堂。

对于超过 $200,000 的补助金,申请人必须从自己的资源中拿出等额的资金来匹配。

亨特之家已被列入州和国家史迹名录。2001 年,为了防止进一步损坏,亨特之家换上了新屋顶,并接受了检查,以便制定保护计划。

“我们已经做了一些稳定工作,但实际上还没有任何恢复,”休斯说。 “我们希望将房间恢复到原来的样子。”

巨大的中央走廊现在看起来又黑又小,上面散落着天花板和混凝土碎片。曾经照亮楼上楼下几乎每个房间的壁炉,现在已经用混凝土密封了。

休斯说,新泽西州历史悠久,亨特之家就是其中的一部分。

“你不能重视能够走出来感受那样的历史,”他说。 “(恢复狩猎屋)是很多人长期以来一直想做的事情。”

多年来一直倡导保护这座房屋的人士之一是劳伦斯市议员帕姆·蒙特 (Pam Mount)。

芒特和她的丈夫加里 (Gary) 自 1975 年以来一直在劳伦斯拥有并经营 Terhune 果园。他们的农场坐落在亨特庄园 (Hunt House) 的路上,芒特将其描述为一流的历史遗迹。

芒特回忆起农舍几年前的样子,包括三个大客厅里细致的木制品和造型。她还指出,阁楼上有一个空间可能在内战期间被用来隐藏逃跑的奴隶,尽管这纯粹是猜测。

“这是一个小而隐蔽的地方,”她说。 “看起来没有人知道它在那里。”

芒特说,她对这所房子感到特别亲近,因为她丈夫的祖母是布莱克威尔家族,亨特庄园旁边的道路就是以这个家族命名的。

蒙特说,多年来她一直与其他历史倡导者联手保护这座房子。她说,大约 20 年前,修复这座房子的费用估计为 140,000 美元,而由于通货膨胀和近年来的疏于管理,这一数字大幅增加。

据蒙特介绍,最初人们努力保护这所房子,当时它的整体状况良好。“现在,它的状况非常糟糕,”她说。

休斯表示,默瑟县居民越来越意识到需要保护该地区具有历史价值的农业用地。他引用了 11 月份的一次公投,该公投允许该县将每 $100 评估财产价值的开放空间税从 2 美分提高到 3 美分。

芒特和休斯都表示,他们期待着将亨特之家改造成步道总部、教育中心和新泽西历史中心。

“这将是一座利用率很高的建筑,”休斯说。

©2004 时代.

zh_CNChinese

HOPEWELL TOWNSHIP – The Noah Hunt House sits back from the road on a scraggly piece of Rosedale Park. The 1750s farmhouse, once a shining example of early American craftsmanship, has fallen to ruin after years of disuse.

The building’s white shingles have discolored to gray, and most are cracked or peeled back, if they remain at all. The structure’s door, once a vibrant green, has faded to dullness, and graffiti spelling out a crude “Welcome” is the only invitation offered to onlookers.

Hunt House

From the weather-worn shingles to the sealed-up fireplaces inside, much attention is needed to restore the dilapidated 18th-century farmhouse on Blackwell Road. But a $734,000 grant from the New Jersey Historic Trust to Mercer County’s Planning Division promises to improve the house’s condition.

The grant, approved by the state Department of Community Affairs in November, is part of a $6.4 million spending authorization for the Garden State Historic Trust Fund. The Assembly approved the spending last week and it is expected to pass easily in the Senate early next year.

According to Mercer County Executive Brian Hughes, the grant will be matched with an equal amount from county resources to move the Hunt House toward restoration. That means almost $1.5 million for the project.

The house, the dirt road it sits on and a series of dilapidated farm buildings have served as the unimproved back entrance to Rosedale Park for years. The area was frequented more often decades ago before vehicle access was restricted. Usage is limited mainly to fishermen and hardy walkers now.

Hughes, who has been involved in preserving the Hunt House since 1998, said the building possibly would serve as a headquarters for Rosedale Park’s 20-mile Lawrence-Hopewell Trail, which runs alongside the structure.

“It’s going to be a functional restoration, not a museum-quality restoration,” Hughes said. “That’s our challenge – to bring it up to be a kind of facility that will be useful, something that is vibrant and alive.”

The New Jersey Historic Trust has come to the aid of many area structures considered worthy of preservation, among them Morven, the historic home of former governors in Princeton Borough; the Princeton University Chapel; and the Trenton Masonic Temple.

For grants exceeding $200,000, applicants must match the funds provided with an equal sum from their own resources.

The Hunt House, which is on the state and national registers of historic places, received a new roof in 2001 to prevent further deterioration, and it was examined so a preservation plan could be formed.

“We’ve done some stabilization, but there really hasn’t been any restoration,” Hughes said. “We want to restore the rooms to what they originally looked like.”

The giant center hallway now looks dark and small, and is strewn with pieces of ceiling and concrete. The fireplaces that once lit almost every room, upstairs and down, have been sealed with concrete.

Hughes said New Jersey is rich with history and the Hunt House is a part of it.

“You can’t put a value on being able to come out and get a feel for that kind of history,” he said. “(Restoring the Hunt House) has been something a lot of folks have wanted to do for a long time.”

One of those who has advocated for preservation of the house over the years is Lawrence Councilwoman Pam Mount.

Mount and her husband, Gary, have owned and operated Terhune Orchards in Lawrence since 1975. Their farm sits down the road from the Hunt House, which Mount described as a first-rate piece of history.

Mount recalls how the farmhouse looked years ago, down to the detailed woodwork and molding in the three large living rooms. She also noted there is a space in the attic that might have been used to conceal runaway slaves during the Civil War, though that is pure speculation.

“It’s a small, hidden place,” she said. “It looked like no one would know it was there.”

Mount said she feels especially close to the house because her husband’s grandmother was a Blackwell, the family after which the road beside the Hunt House is named.

Mount said she has joined forces with other historical advocates over the years in an attempt to preserve the house. About 20 years ago, she said, repairs for the house would have cost an estimated $150,000 – an amount that has increased greatly with inflation and the recent years of neglect.

According to Mount, initial efforts were made to preserve the house while it was in generally good condition. “Now, it’s in really bad shape,” she said.

According to Hughes, Mercer County residents have shown a growing awareness of the need to preserve historically valuable agricultural land in the area. He cited a November referendum that gave the county permission to raise its open space tax from 2 cents to 3 cents per $100 of assessed property value.

Both Mount and Hughes said they look forward to transforming the Hunt House to a trail headquarters, an educational center and a hub for New Jersey history.

“It’s going to be a well-used building,” Hughes said.

©2004 The Times.