路易斯维尔路

沿着这条道路延伸的是刘易斯维尔小村庄,这是劳伦斯镇最早的非裔美国人社区,由来自劳伦斯和周边镇的前奴隶及其后裔建立。 1840 年代,他们开始沿着这段路收购土地和小农场。尽管社会和经济条件困难,这些先驱家庭还是扎根并繁荣起来。到 1890 年代,该村庄已拥有约十几栋房屋和皮斯加山非洲卫理圣公会 (AME) 教堂,这是一个充满活力的非裔美国文化中心。
LHT Lewisville Road Bosley Family
博斯利家族,1912 年。
路易斯维尔以刘易斯·WR·菲利普斯 (Lewis WR Phillips) 的名字命名,他是一位前奴隶主,在 1820 年代解放了奴隶并加入了废奴运动。 1840 年代,菲利普斯开始向黑人出售小块土地,沿途后来成为路易斯维尔路。
1860 年,一位经过路易斯维尔的美国人口普查员捕捉到了日常生活的快照。大多数男性成年人和青少年都是劳工,这是附近农场季节性工作的统称,而女性则是“服役人员”,这意味着她们为更富裕的白人邻居做管家。
埃齐基尔·申克 (Ezekiel Schenck) 是一名搬运工,地位相对较高。值得注意的是,所有家庭都拥有小块土地,这是社区稳定的一个重要因素,而且大多数家庭的户主都是 40 岁以下的夫妇,家庭人口不断增加。人口普查描绘了一幅自豪而坚实的社区图景。
1890 年代是吉姆·克劳时代的鼎盛时期,这一时期与新种族隔离法的制定和剥夺有色人种平等权利有关。虽然新泽西州可能没有南方各州那样严格,但这张地图反映了保持种族隔离的强烈态度。
请注意,刘易斯维尔仅显示为一排标有“黑人”的房屋,这表明种族主义心态占主导地位。在这个时代,生活在路易斯维尔的一些非裔美国人担任女佣、服务员和厨师,为附近劳伦斯维尔学校就读的白人孩子提供服务。
皮斯加山 AME 教堂以其筹款活动、帐篷大会和丰收之家节而闻名。当地报纸,如《特伦顿晚报》,经常刊登教堂活动的广告。这些都是备受期待的场合——宗教复兴、政治会议和狂欢节合而为一。教堂使用了奥利芬特格罗夫 (Oliphant's Grove),这是路易斯维尔路 (Lewisville Road) 附近的一个户外空间。 1905年,报纸报道说,教堂里的女士们为3000人准备了晚餐。家常菜的特色是当地农民捐赠的家禽和蔬菜。
1913 年,阿莫斯和夏洛特·博斯利购买了一栋房子,博斯利一家也随之搬到了路易斯维尔。随着博斯利的孩子们长大并结婚,他们一家沿着这条路扩展业务,接管了路易斯维尔的许多原有房产。
LHT Lewisville Map
这张 1860 年出版的地图的细节是最早标出路易斯维尔村并命名黑人业主的地图之一。著名的名字包括申克、范霍恩和赖特。 DJ Lake 和 SN Beers,费城和特伦顿附近地图,1860 年。
LHT Lewisville Map
斯嘉丽和斯嘉丽的默瑟县火地图,1890 年。
LHT Lewisville Road Bosley Family
博斯利家庭照片,约 1912 年(劳伦斯镇档案馆)。
LHT Lewisville Census
美国人口普查局,新泽西州默瑟县劳伦斯镇人口表,1860 年。
LHT Lewisville Mount Pisgah Church
《特伦顿晚报》,1906 年 7 月 16 日(上)、1908 年 4 月 1 日(中)和 1911 年 4 月 5 日(下)。
LHT Lewisville Road Map
单击 Google Maps™ 中的图像了解详细信息

感谢您的支持!

© 版权所有 2024. Lawrence Hopewell Trail
是非营利性组织,符合 501(c)(3) 条款。EIN:20-0511132

劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道

历史悠久的狩猎屋
布莱克威尔路197号
新泽西州彭宁顿 08534
info@lhtrail.org

留在循环中。

zh_CNChinese

LEWISVILLE ROAD

Ranged along this stretch of roadway is the small village of Lewisville, Lawrence Township’s earliest African American community, founded by former enslaved persons and their descendants from Lawrence and the surrounding townships. They began acquiring land and small farms along this stretch of road in the 1840s. Despite difficult social and economic conditions, these pioneering families set down roots and prospered. By the 1890s, the village consisted of about a dozen houses and the Mount Pisgah African Methodest Episcopal (A.M.E.) Church, a vibrant center for African American culture.
LHT Lewisville Road Bosley Family
The Bosley Family, 1912.
Lewisville is named after Lewis W.R. Phillips, a former slaveholder who freed his slaves and joined the abolitionist movement in the 1820s. Phillips began selling small lots of land to Blacks in the 1840s along what became Lewisville Road.
A U.S. Census taker who passed through Lewisville in 1860 captured a snapshot of everyday life. Most male adults and adolescents worked as laborers, a catchall for seasonal work on nearby farms, while women were “in service,” meaning they worked as housekeepers for their more affluent white neighbors.
One man, Ezekiel Schenck, stands out as a porter, a relatively high status occupation. Significantly, all of the families owned small plots of land, an important factor in community stability, and most homes were headed by couples under the age of 40 with growing families. The census paints a picture of a proud and solid community.
The 1890s were the height of the Jim Crow era, which is associated with the creation of new segregation laws and denial of equal rights to people of color. While New Jersey may not have been as restrictive as states in the South, strong attitudes about keeping the races physically separate are reflected in this map.
Note that Lewisville appears only as a row of houses labeled “Negroes,” an indication of a dominant racist mindset. During this era, some of the African Americans living in Lewisville worked as maids, waiters, and cooks serving the white children attending the nearby Lawrenceville School.
The Mount Pisgah A.M.E. Church was famous for its fundraisers, camp meetings and harvest home festival. Local newpapers, like the Trenton Evening Times, frequently advertised church events. They were highly anticipated occasions – religious revival, political meeting and carnival all rolled into one. The church used Oliphant’s Grove, an outdoor space off of Lewisville Road. In 1905, the newspaper reported that the church ladies cooked dinner for 3,000 people. The home cooking featured poultry and vegetables donated by local farmers.
The Bosley family moved to Lewisville in 1913 when Amos and Charlotte Bosley purchased a house. As the Bosley children grew up and married, the family branched out along the road, taking over many of the original Lewisville properties.
LHT Lewisville Map
This detail of a map published in 1860 is one of the earliest to call out the village of Lewisville and name Black property owners. Prominent names include Schenck, Van Horn and Wright. D.J. Lake and S.N. Beers, Map of Vicinity of Philadelphia and Trenton, 1860.
LHT Lewisville Map
Scarlett & Scarlett’s Fire Map of Mercer County, 1890.
LHT Lewisville Road Bosley Family
Bosley family photograph, circa 1912 (Lawrence Township Archives).
LHT Lewisville Census
U.S. Census Bureau, Population Schedule, Lawrence Township, Mercer County, New Jersey, 1860.
LHT Lewisville Mount Pisgah Church
Trenton Evening Times, 16 July 1906 (top), 1 April 1908 (center) and 5 April 1911 (bottom).
LHT Lewisville Road Map
Click the image for details in Google Maps™

Thank you for your support!

Lawrence Hopewell Trail Corporation
The Historic Hunt House
197 Blackwell Rd.
Pennington, NJ 08534
info@lhtrail.org

Stay in the loop.

en_USEnglish