放慢速度并仔细观察 - 我们位于劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇的 20 英里小径拥有丰富的鸟类,我们希望您能够保持它们的直线。欢迎来到 LHT 的羽毛之友, 一系列正在进行的默瑟县鸟类“实地指南”。

不要忽视小麻雀。这些鸟可能看起来很普通——当然,你几乎到处都可以看到常见的麻雀,甚至在最密集的城市环境中与鸽子一起闲逛。但实际上还有其他几种麻雀以新泽西州的荒野为家。即使对于经验丰富的观鸟者来说,区分这些迷人的小杂技演员也是一个挑战。今年冬天,在 LHT 上测试您的麻雀技能。

歌麻雀 (Melospiza melodia) 是新泽西州常年栖息的鸟类——事实上,它们是该国数量最多的鸟类之一。在茂密的灌木丛中很难发现它们,但它们聚集的大群体可能会暴露它们。检查灌木丛、沼泽地区、小溪和森林旁边、树篱和花园。在冬天,这些鸟以种子为食。在温暖的月份,它们吃各种昆虫。雄性和雌性看起来很相似,有巧克力棕色斑点的胸部、黄褐色和深棕色的背部、黄褐色的头部、灰白色的脸和钝喙。也就是说,它们的外观因地区而异——阿拉斯加的体型较大;而阿拉斯加的体型较大。而沙漠居民的颜色则比较柔和。歌麻雀以其甜美的歌声而闻名——三个音符后跟一个颤音。雌性孵化两到六个蛋,父母双方都会喂养雏鸟。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

麻雀虽小,却忙碌而勤劳。因为他们的勤奋, 象征 赋权、警惕和自我价值。他们的歌声通常令人愉悦,可以代表欢乐和社区。

LHT Song Sparrow by Uccelli Photography

白喉麻雀 (白颈带毛菌) 是新泽西州的冬季居民,您可以在林地及其沿线的灌木丛中以及树木茂密的郊区发现它们(有些甚至可能出现在后院的喂鸟器处)。您经常会看到它们成群结队,其头部有白色或棕褐色和黑色条纹,眼睛呈淡黄色羽毛。雌性和雄性几乎无法区分,尖嘴下有白色斑块,胸部呈灰棕色,背部和翅膀上有棕色条纹。它们在寒冷的月份以浆果和种子为食,在夏季则以各种虫子为食。聆听一首清晰的口哨歌曲,以听起来像皮博迪或加拿大的呼叫结束。雌性产下两到七个蛋,父母双方都喂养幼崽。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

LHT White-throated Sparrow by Uccelli Photography

削片麻雀 (Spizella passerina), 大西洋中部的另一种常年居民,过去只生活在针叶林中,但现在常见于开阔的林地、公园、果园和农场、公园和郊区。事实上,这种分布广泛的小鸟对人类相当宽容,因此很容易被发现。寻找灰胸小鸟,眼睛上有黑色条纹,头部和翅膀上有浅棕色和深棕色条纹,喙呈钝红色。雄性和雌性碎屑麻雀无法区分;它们在冬季以种子为食,在春季和夏季以各种昆虫为食。他们的歌曲很有音乐感——聆听单音斜纹或呼呼声。雌性产下两到五个蛋,父母双方都会喂养雏鸟。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

LHT Chipping Sparrow by Uccelli Photography

美国树麻雀 (Spizelloides arborea) 只在新泽西州过冬;它们在比它们的近亲更靠北的地方度过夏天——在加拿大和阿拉斯加北部的苔原上养育后代。在新泽西州,美国树麻雀生活在路边灌木丛、杂草丛生的地区、沼泽地、林地边缘和郊区院子里,它们经常与灯笼草和其他麻雀一起在喂鸟器上活动。雄性和雌性是相同的,有灰白色到浅灰色的胸部,红棕色的头部,带有白色尖端的黑色和棕色条纹的翅膀,眼睛上有棕色条纹。它们以种子、昆虫和浆果为食。他们的歌曲具有清晰的音符,随后是颤音和采儿叫声。雌性产下并孵化四到六个蛋,雄性和雌性都会喂养它们的幼崽。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

LHT American tree Sparrow by Uccelli Photography
zh_CNChinese

Slow down and look closer – our 20 miles of trail in Lawrence and Hopewell Townships host an abundance of birdlife, and we want you to be able to keep them all straight. Welcome to Feathered Friends of the LHT, an ongoing series of “field guides” to Mercer County birds.

Don’t overlook the tiny sparrow. These birds may seem ordinary — and, of course, you can see common house sparrows almost everywhere, even hanging out with pigeons in the densest urban environments. But there are actually several other species of sparrow that call New Jersey’s wilder spaces home; and being able to differentiate between these charming little acrobats can be a challenge for even seasoned birders. Test your sparrow skills this winter on the LHT.

Song sparrows (Melospiza melodia) are common year-round residents in New Jersey — in fact, they’re one of the most abundant birds in the country. They can be hard to spot in dense brush, but the large groups they congregate in can give them away. Check out thickets, marshy areas, alongside creeks and forests, and in hedges and gardens. During the winter, these birds feed on seeds; and in the warmer months they consume a variety of insects. Males and females look alike, with chocolate brown flecked breasts, tawny and deep brown backs, tawny heads, grey-white faces, and blunt beaks. That said, they can vary in appearance from region to region — those in Alaska are larger; and desert residents are softer in color. Song sparrows are known for their sweet songs — three notes followed by a trill. Females incubate two to six eggs and both parents feed the nestlings. Read more at Audubon.

Sparrows, though tiny, are busy and hardworking. Because of their industriousness, they symbolize empowerment, vigilance, and self-worth. And their singing — often delightful — can represent joyfulness and community.

LHT Song Sparrow by Uccelli Photography

White-throated sparrows (Zonotrichia albicollis) are winter residents here in New Jersey, where you can spot them in the undergrowth in and along woodlands and in densely treed suburban areas (some may even show up at backyard birdfeeders). You’ll often see them in loose flocks, distinguished by their white or tan and black striped heads and yellowish feathers by their eyes. Females and males are nearly indistinguishable, with white patches under pointed beaks, grey-brown breasts, and streaked brown backs and wings. They feed on berries and seeds during cooler months and various bugs during the summer. Listen for a clear, whistling song that ends with a call that sounds like Peabody or Canada. Females lay two to seven eggs and both parents feed the brood. Read more at Audubon.

LHT White-throated Sparrow by Uccelli Photography

Chipping sparrows (Spizella passerina), another year-round resident of the Middle Atlantic, used to live exclusively in coniferous forests but are now a common site in open woodlands, parks, orchards and farms, parks, and suburban neighborhoods. In fact, this widespread little bird is fairly tolerant of humans making them easy to spot. Look for greyish-breasted little birds with a black stripe across their eyes, light and dark brown streaks on their heads and wings, and blunt, reddish beaks. The male and female chipping sparrows are indistinguishable; and they feed on seeds during the winter and a variety of bugs in the spring and summer. Their songs are musical — listen for one-note twills or whirs. Females lay two to five eggs and both parents feed their chicks. Read more at Audubon.

LHT Chipping Sparrow by Uccelli Photography

American tree sparrows (Spizelloides arborea) only spend winters in New Jersey; spending summers further north than their close relatives — raising their young in the northern tundra of Canada and Alaska. In New Jersey, American tree sparrows spend their time in roadside brush, weedy and grassy areas, marshland, woodland edges, and suburban yards where they often join juncos and other sparrows at birdfeeders. Males and females are identical, with off white to light grey breasts, red brown heads, streaked black and brown wings with white tips, and a brown streak across their eyes. They feed on seeds, insects, and berries; and their songs feature clear, musical notes followed by warbles along with tseet calls. Females lay and incubate four to six eggs and both males and females feed their young. Read more at Audubon.

LHT American tree Sparrow by Uccelli Photography