放慢速度并仔细观察 - 我们位于劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇的 20 英里小径拥有丰富的鸟类,我们希望您能够保持它们的直线。欢迎来到 LHT 的羽毛之友, 一系列正在进行的默瑟县鸟类“实地指南”。

LHT 的夏季充满生机,候鸟在飞回南方过冬之前抚养幼鸟,色彩斑斓,歌声优美。有些听起来比看更容易——但这些迷人的东西值得放慢脚步。你见过几个?

LHT Uccelli Photography Male Rose Breasted Grosbeak

普通黄喉鸟 (Geothlypis trichas)是黄喉的,这并不奇怪。在我们地区的春季和夏季繁殖季节,这些可爱的动物分布广泛,在潮湿的沼泽草原、灌木丛、小溪或林地附近的灌木丛中很容易发现。这种小鸟是莺的一种,雄性的喉咙和胸部都呈黄色,戴着黑色的面具,头部和背部有白色和棕灰色的羽毛。雌性的羽毛则有点单调,大多是暖灰色的羽毛和黄色的胸部。当它们在低生长区域飞来飞去寻找各种昆虫作为食物时,请聆听它们标志性的威奇奇特叫声。成对的鸟通常每个季节产两窝蛋,产三到六个蛋。雌性与雄性一起孵化,并提供食物;但一旦卵孵化,父母双方都会喂养幼鸟,喂养时间比大多数其他莺类要长得多。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

象征 自我表达、社交能力和对生活的热情。他们的长途迁徙也象征着迁徙、在新的地方寻找舒适、拓展思想和努力。这些小鸟以其音乐般的鸣叫而闻名,它们通常代表音乐、倾听和提高声音来表达自己和感受。

玫瑰胸粗嘴雀 (Pheucticus ludovicianus)与我们常见但美丽的北方红雀密切相关,您可以从它们宽而钝的喙中看到它们。虽然玫瑰胸蜡嘴鸟在春季和夏季在新泽西州相当常见,但它们很难被发现。它们倾向于呆在树顶——开阔的林地、树林和果园。不过,你可能听过它们——它们叽叽喳喳的叫声就像知更鸟的叫声,只是更丰富、更悦耳。雄性呈黑白相间,有浅色的喙和浓郁的玫瑰红色胸部,而雌性呈麻雀状,有棕色和白色的翅膀,胸部有斑点。杂食性玫瑰胸雀喙鸟以昆虫、浆果、种子和花朵为食。雌性产下三到五个卵,父母双方孵化并向幼虫喂食昆虫。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

粗喙鸟体现了一种吉普赛精神——跟随喜爱的食物来源,以不寻常的方式进出它们的典型活动范围。此外,鸟类 象征 - 凭借它们绚丽多彩的羽毛 - 一种独特、快乐和自我接纳的感觉。

红眼绿鹃 (Vireo olivaceus)是另一种非常常见的春季和夏季居民,您可能从未真正见过。与玫瑰胸雀一样,这些绿鹦鹉生活在开阔的混合林地、溪流沿岸,甚至树木繁茂的郊区,它们倾向于呆在树顶。杂技般的小型红眼绿鹃鸟有深红色的眼睛,白色的胸部和眉毛,抵消了橄榄灰色的翅膀和背部。从细长、尖尖的喙到短而粗的尾巴,雄性和雌性几乎没有区别。它们以浆果和各种昆虫为食。他们的歌声重复且充满音乐性,也很像知更鸟。雌性产下三到五个蛋并孵化,但父母双方都会喂养它们的婴儿。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

看到一只绿色的鸟可能意味着你的未来会有冒险;但橄榄绿可以 象征 智慧。

东方菲比 在春季和夏季,(Sayornis phoebe)是新泽西州常见且极具魅力的景点。而且,作为最早抵达的移民之一,发现一只移民可能是春天终于来临的充满希望的象征。这些小鹟对人类很宽容,而且很容易观察——甚至生活在人口稠密的地区和桥梁沿岸,以及低生长地区、小溪沿岸和林地附近。毫不奇怪,鹟主要吃昆虫以及一些浆果和水果。雄性和雌性看起来非常相似——它们都很强壮,有白色的胸部、棕黑色和灰色的翅膀、头部和背部,以及尖黑色的喙。可爱的是,它们经常摇动又黑又长的尾巴。它们独特的叫声听起来就像是在说自己的名字——菲比,菲比!东方楠每年可产两窝。雌性产下并孵化两到六个蛋,父母双方都会喂养雏鸟。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

如果鹟在不断寻找下一顿饭的虫子时向你看去,它可能 意思是 好运即将降临。

LHT Uccelli Photography Eastern Phoebe
zh_CNChinese

Slow down and look closer – our 20 miles of trail in Lawrence and Hopewell Townships host an abundance of birdlife, and we want you to be able to keep them all straight. Welcome to Feathered Friends of the LHT, an ongoing series of “field guides” to Mercer County birds.

Summer on the LHT is alive with the color and song of migrant birds raising their young before heading back south for the winter. Some are easier to hear than to see — but these charmers are worth slowing down for. How many have you seen?

LHT Uccelli Photography Male Rose Breasted Grosbeak

Common Yellowthroats (Geothlypis trichas) are — no surprise here — yellow-throated. Abundant in our area in the spring and summer breeding season, these cuties are widespread and easy to spot in damp and marshy grasslands, thickets, and creek or woodland-adjacent shrubbery. This tiny bird is a type of warbler, with males donning eponymous yellow throats and breasts along with black masks and white and brown-grey feathers along their heads and backs. Their female counterparts are a bit drabber, with mostly warm grey feathers along with yellow breasts. Listen for their signature wichity-wichity call as they flit about low growth areas in search of various insects to feed on. Pairs usually have two broods a season — of three to six eggs. Females incubate with males delivering meals; but once the eggs hatch, both parents feed the babies — for considerably longer than most other warbler species. Read more at Audubon.

Warblers symbolize self-expression, sociability, and a verve for life. Their long migrations also symbolize movement, finding comfort in new places, and expanding ideas and endeavors. Known for their musical warbles, these little birds often represent music, listening, and raising your voice to speak up for yourself and your feelings.

Rose-breasted Grosbeaks (Pheucticus ludovicianus) are closely related to our common but beautiful northern cardinals — which you can see in their broad, blunt beaks. And while rose-breasted grosbeaks are fairly common in New Jersey in the spring and summer, they can be hard to spot. They tend to keep to the treetops — in open woodlands, stands of trees, and in orchards. You’ve probably heard them, though — their eek-eek call is like that of a robin’s, just richer and more melodious. Males are graphic black and white with a light-colored beak and a rich rose-red breast while females are sparrow-like, with brown and white wings and speckled breasts. Omnivorous, rose-breasted grosbeaks feed on insects, berries, seeds, and flowers. Females lay three to five eggs with both parents incubating and feeding insects to the brood. Read more at Audubon.

Grosbeaks embody a gypsy spirit — traveling in unusual patterns in and out of their typical range following favored food sources. Further, the birds symbolize — with their showy, colorful feathers — a sense of uniqueness, joy, and self-acceptance.

Red-eyed Vireos (Vireo olivaceus) are another very common spring and summer resident that you may never actually see. Like the rose-breasted grosbeak, these vireos — who live in open and mixed woodland, along streams, and even in wooded suburban neighborhoods — tend to keep to the treetops. Acrobatic and small, red-eyed vireos have dark red eyes along with white breasts and eyebrows offsetting olive-grey wings and backs. The males and females are almost indistinguishable, from their slim, pointed beaks to their short, stubby tails. They feed on berries and a variety of insects; and their song — which is repetitive and musical — is also robin-like. Females lay three to five eggs and incubate but both parents feed their babies. Read more at Audubon.

Seeing a green bird can mean there is adventure in your future; but olive green can symbolize wisdom.

Eastern Phoebes (Sayornis phoebe) are a common and charismatic site here in New Jersey in the spring and summer. And, being amongst the earliest arriving migrants, spotting one can be a hopeful symbol that spring is finally around the corner. These little flycatchers are tolerant of humans and can be easy to watch — living even in populated areas and along bridges, as well as in low growth areas, along creeks, and near woodlands. Unsurprisingly, flycatchers mostly consume insects along with some berries and fruit. Males and females look quite similar — they are robust, with white breasts, brownish-black and grey wings, heads, and backs, and pointed black beaks. Adorably, they often wag their dark, longish tails; and their distinct call sounds like they’re saying their own name — phoe-be, phoe-be! Eastern phoebes can raise two broods each year. Females lay and incubate their two to six eggs and both parents feed their chicks. Read more at Audubon.

If a flycatcher looks your way while it constantly scans for bugs for its next meal, it might mean that good luck is coming your way.

LHT Uccelli Photography Eastern Phoebe