放慢速度并仔细观察 - 我们位于劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇的 20 英里小径拥有丰富的鸟类,我们希望您能够保持它们的直线。欢迎来到 LHT 的羽毛之友, 一系列正在进行的默瑟县鸟类“实地指南”。

现在可能还没有鲜花盛开,但如果你有一双慧眼和一点耐心,你一定可以欣赏到鸟儿的颜色!请留意踪迹,寻找更多长有羽毛的冬季居民。

蓝鸟 (Cyanocitta cristata)是我们最常见、色彩最丰富的常年居民之一。蓝鸟在树木繁茂的环境中与在公园和后院中一样舒适,蓝鸟体型庞大,有冠,胸部白色,头部和翅膀上有图形化的黑白斑纹,与背部和尾巴上大胆的蓝色羽毛相抵消。它们的体型和颜色让人们很难错过——它们沙哑的叫声也是如此。它们的行为也很独特——你可能会遇到蓝鸟在喂食器上欺负其他鸟类,大声攻击掠食者,而且众所周知,它们会抢劫其他鸟类的巢穴。蓝鸟是杂食性的,以种子和坚果(它们将橡子储存在地洞中)以及昆虫、小型啮齿动物、鸡蛋、蜗牛和腐肉为食。雌性产三到七个蛋,但父母双方都会孵化并喂养幼崽。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

看到冠蓝鸦或冠蓝鸦的羽毛可以 象征 需要重新评估你生活中的人——你可能被骗子或嫉妒的人包围!它们还代表了沟通、坚持、保护和计划的需要。

LHT Uccelli JohnSaveria Photography

家雀 (Haemorhous mexicanus)原产于新泽西州甚至东海岸,而是美国西南部。 1940 年,纽约宠物店老板非法放生雀类后,该物种得以定居。从那时起,这些鸟类就成功地在美国东半部的农场和林地中扎根,满足了它们传统的西部分布范围。虽然许多人是全年居民,但冬季在喂食器和后院更常见。它们体型较小,有厚实的喙,旨在敲碎坚果和种子的壳(它们也吃浆果和小昆虫)。雄性有鲜红色的头部、胸部和背部,乳白色的胸部点缀着棕色条纹。雌性大多是棕色的,但可以通过类似的斑点条纹来识别。它们的叫声欢快,充满颤音和颤音。家雀一年可产三窝或更多窝,产下两到六枚蛋。雌性会孵化,但父母双方都会喂养它们的孩子。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

雀鸟和它们欢快的歌声, 象征 沟通,可以代表生活中即将发生的更好的事情,以及为生活增添色彩和多样性的机会或需要。它们可以代表活力、繁荣、幸福和希望。

LHT Uccelli JohnSaveria Photography

麻雀的一种, 黑眼獠牙 (Junco hyemalis)在全国各地广泛分布,但在新泽西州的冬季,您更有可能在针叶树和混交林的边缘、空地和郊区院子里遇到它们。它们是一种体型紧凑的鸟类,经常成小群飞行,可以通过它们的石板色羽毛、黑色眼睛、白色胸部以及金属般的滴答声或颤音来识别。冬季主要以杂草和禾本科植物的种子为食。它们也吃昆虫和浆果。当它们筑巢时,黑眼灯笼草会向北或向西移动,但它们每年最多产三窝。雌性产下并孵化三到六个卵,父母双方喂养幼崽。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

洪科斯 象征 开放的思想、冒险精神和诚实——对他人和对自己诚实。此外,它们与冬天和圣诞节有关,因此被认为是来自天堂的使者,也是您个人道德指南针以及我们的行为如何影响长期和短期的重置。

LHT Uccelli JohnSaveria Photography

北方红雀队 是最受欢迎的居民,他们常年为该国东部和南部地区的后院带来色彩和欢快的歌声。事实上:北方红雀是七个州的州鸟!从它们的羽冠和钝喙上可以看出,雄性呈鲜红色,带有黑色面罩和黑色尖端的羽毛,而雌性则呈棕褐色和黄褐色,带有淡淡的红色和明亮的橙色喙。您会在林地、灌木丛、花园和公园(任何开放、灌木丛生的栖息地,它们可以寻找昆虫、种子、花朵和浆果)遇到成对或小群的它们。叫声是金属声——听听“purty-purty-purty”、“cheer-cheer-cheer”或“sweet-sweet-sweet”的叫声。雌性每年最多繁殖三窝,产下两到五个蛋,并在父母双方喂养雏鸟的同时孵化雏鸟。 阅读更多 在奥杜邦。

北方红雀实行一夫一妻制,倾向于为爱情而交配——所以它们经常 象征 爱、浪漫和承诺。此外,在许多文化中,红衣主教象征着与灵魂和失去的亲人的联系,以及尊重、团结、多样性和好运。

LHT Uccelli JohnSaveria Photography
zh_CNChinese

Slow down and look closer – our 20 miles of trail in Lawrence and Hopewell Townships host an abundance of birdlife, and we want you to be able to keep them all straight. Welcome to Feathered Friends of the LHT, an ongoing series of “field guides” to Mercer County birds.

There might not be any flowers blooming at the moment – but if you have a good eye and a little patience you can certainly enjoy the color of birds! Keep your eyes out on the trail for more feathered winter residents.

Blue Jays (Cyanocitta cristata) are one of our most common and colorful year-round residents. Equally comfortable in wooded environments as they are in parks and backyards, Blue Jays are large and crested, with white breasts, and graphic black and white markings on their heads and wings that are offset by their bold, blue plumage on their backs and tails. Their size and color make them hard to miss – as does their raucous jay call. Their behavior is also quite distinctive – you may encounter Blue Jays bullying other birds at feeders, loudly attacking predators, and they are known to rob the nests of other birds. Omnivorous, Blue Jays feed on seeds and nuts (they will store acorns in holes in the ground), as well as insects, small rodents, eggs, snails, and carrion. Females lay three to seven eggs but both parents incubate and feed their young. Read more at Audubon.

Seeing a Blue Jay or Blue Jay feathers can symbolize a need to reevaluate the people in your life – you may be surrounded by tricksters or jealous people! They also represent a need to communicate, as well as persistence, protection, and planning.

LHT Uccelli JohnSaveria Photography

House Finches (Haemorhous mexicanus) are not native to New Jersey or even the East Coast but rather the American Southwest. The species became established after New York pet shop owners released illegal finches in 1940. Since then, the birds have successfully established themselves across the farms and woodlands of the eastern half of the country, meeting their traditional western range. While many are year-round residents, they are a bit more commonly seen at feeders and in backyards in the winter. Small in size, they have chunky beaks designed to crack the shells of nuts and seeds (they eat berries and small insects as well). Males have bright red heads, breasts, and backs, with creamy breasts speckled in brownish stripes. Females are mostly brown but can be identified by similar speckled stripes. Their call is cheerful, consisting of warbles and trills. House finches can raise three or more broods a year, laying two to six eggs. Females incubate but both parents feed their babies. Read more at Audubon.

Finches, and their joyful songs, symbolize communication and can represent better things to come in life, as well as an opportunity or need to add color and variety to one’s life. They can represent liveliness, exuberance, happiness, and hope.

LHT Uccelli JohnSaveria Photography

A type of sparrow, Dark-eyed Juncos (Junco hyemalis) are widespread around the country but you’re more likely to encounter them – along the edges of conifer and mixed woods, in clearings, and in suburban yards – over the winter here in New Jersey. A compact bird that often travels in small flocks, they can be identified by their slate-colored feathers, dark eyes, and white breasts as well as their metallic ticking or trilling calls. In winter, they mostly feed on the seeds of weeds and grasses; they also eat insects and berries. By the time they nest, Dark-eyed Juncos will have moved north or west – but they have up to three broods a year. Females lay and incubate three to six eggs and both parents feed their young. Read more at Audubon.

Juncos symbolize open-mindedness, adventurousness and truth – in others and truth to oneself. In addition, they are associated with winter and Christmas and are thus considered a messenger from heaven as well as a reset for your individual moral compass and how our actions affect both the long and short term.

LHT Uccelli JohnSaveria Photography

Northern Cardinals are a favorite – year-round residents that bring color and cheerful singing to backyards throughout the eastern and southern regions of the country. In fact: The Northern Cardinal is the state bird for seven states! Identifiable by their crests and blunt beaks, males are bright red with black facemasks and black-tipped feathers while females are tan and tawny brown with hints of red and bright orangey beaks. You’ll encounter them in pairs and small flocks along woodlands, thickets, gardens and parks – any open, brushy habitats where they can forage for insects, seeds, flowers, and berries. Calls are metallic – listen for calls of purty-purty-purty, cheer-cheer-cheer, or sweet-sweet-sweet. Raising up to three broods per year, females lay two to five eggs and incubate the chicks while both parents feed them. Read more at Audubon.

Northern Cardinals are monogamous and tend to mate for love – so they often symbolize love, romance, and commitment. Further, in many cultures, cardinals symbolize a connection to spirits and to lost loved ones, as well as respect, unity, diversity, and good fortune.

LHT Uccelli JohnSaveria Photography

Share This

Share this post with your friends!