您可能没有意识到,LHT 背后有一群人在努力确保这条步道的安全和繁荣。我们的 全志愿者委员会 – 一群拥有不同领域专业知识和广泛兴趣的默瑟县居民 – 让我们其他人徒步旅行和骑自行车。现在是时候在我们正在进行的系列文章中介绍这些人了:认识我们的董事会。

LHT Board Member Ruth Markoe

由露丝·马科提供

见面 露丝·马科, 演讲和 语言病理学家当地剧团创始人 与一个 对自行车运动的热情。 露丝在推广自己的戏剧作品方面的背景使她成为 LHT 的宝贵补充。 公共关系和活动委员会; 她一直是我们“月球之旅”计划小团队的重要成员。

左心室: 您能否分享一份关于职业生涯和参与 LHT 的传记或声明?
露丝: 我出生在伦敦,在以色列度过了人生的头四年,然后我的家人搬到了我长大的纽约市。自 1980 年以来,我一直住在劳伦斯维尔,我和丈夫在那里养家糊口。我的职业生涯相当多元化。我是一名私人执业的言语和语言病理学家,拥有威斯康星大学的硕士学位,但我一直以演员的身份活跃在剧院,最近又担任导演和制片人。我创立了 多去剧院 1992 年。我们最初为企业、私人和公共活动提供身临其境的喜剧谋杀悬疑剧,但后来已经扩展到在各种场所提供长篇戏剧,最著名的是西温莎的凯尔西剧院,我在那里担任咨询委员会成员。除了大家耳熟能详的剧目之外 歌舞表演《杀死一只知更鸟》热铁皮屋顶上的猫, 我们还制作了几部原创剧目,特别是 罗布林:布鲁克林大桥的故事, 2016 年凯尔西剧院 (Kelsey Theatre) 场场爆满。我真的很喜欢剧院的各个方面,也喜欢表演和导演。这是我的 DNA。

左心室: 您是如何发现 LHT 的?你最终是如何参与其中的?
露丝: 我喜欢骑自行车,而且住得很近 极地农场 LHT 部分。当县里正在开发这片土地时,我会骑着自行车沿着小路探索这个新生的公园。我喜欢看着它成长并了解 AT&T 财产的历史及其对电信的重要性。很不好意思地说,在开发杆子农场之前,我对这段历史还真的一无所知。随着 LHT 的发展,我喜欢探索整条路线。我的家人知道我有多喜欢这个公园和这条小路,几年前他们联合起来,在我最喜欢的地方最后一根杆子旁放了一张长凳,以纪念我。我参与了每一个参与步道的机会,尤其是自行车赛事,并最终被邀请加入董事会。我一直认为 LHT 是我快乐的地方。

LHT Board Member Ruth Markoe and Family at the Pole Farm

露丝·马科 (Ruth Markoe) 和她的家人坐在极地农场部分为她献上的长凳上,由露丝·马科 (Ruth Markoe) 提供

左心室: 您担任董事会成员多久了?您参与过哪些项目?
露丝: 我于 2019 年在公关和活动委员会工作,并于 2020 年加入董事会。迄今为止我最大的项目是帮助制定和实施 月球之旅 倡议。这是在我们因 COVID-19 被迫取消 2020 年满月之旅之后发生的。我们发起这项倡议是为了在疫情期间保持人们对步道的兴趣并鼓励户外活动。

左心室: 随着整条路线接近完成,您认为 LHT 的下一步是什么?
露丝: 我希望看到更多的人将这条小路用于各种目的,也许包括户外表演。我也很高兴看到 COVID-19 限制的结束以及我们一些最受欢迎的活动的回归 - 满月之旅追踪并治疗。 此外,我也期待看到更多的人享受到许多精彩的活动,例如 艺术之路,步行俱乐部,自行车俱乐部。

左心室: 您经营一家戏剧公司并制作戏剧和活动 - 这项工作对您在 LHT 董事会的工作有何影响?
露丝: 我经营 TheaterToGo 已近 30 年了。除了制作和指导各种娱乐活动之外,我还学到了很多关于营销和社交媒体价值的知识,尤其是在这个蓬勃发展的数字时代。我还敏锐地意识到,发展牢固的社会和业务关系可以让我们继续提供诚信和优质的服务。随着我们不断开发美丽且多样化的 LHT,我们可以利用这些知识来增加对 LHT 活动的参与,并将 LHT 的意识扩展到当地社区之外。

LHT Board Memeber Ruth Markoe at Rosedale Bridge Opening

罗斯代尔公园 (Rosedale Park) 人行天桥的开口处,由露丝·马科 (Ruth Markoe) 提供

左心室: 您也是一名狂热的自行车手 - 告诉我们这对您在自行车上的工作有何影响。
露丝: 我最大的乐趣之一就是骑自行车。自从多年前第一次发现 Pole Farm 以来,我就很喜欢这条小路,我喜欢骑自行车过去并享受如此多样化的环境。作为董事会成员,我觉得我可以为有关如何增加自行车友好型可达性的讨论做出贡献。我还觉得当我与不同的自行车团体一起骑自行车时,我可以充当这条路线的大使。我喜欢向我们地区以外的骑自行车者介绍这条小径,并且实际上带领一些自行车团体绕着小径转了一圈。

左心室: 您一直积极参与我们的“月球之旅”计划——它是如何实现的?你的背景对它有何影响?你认为进展如何?
露丝: 当董事会被迫放弃日益流行的 2020 年满月之旅时,有人提出创建相关活动的建议,例如虚拟月球之旅。我喜欢这个想法,我们中的一小群人开始开会来充实这个概念。我们决定,无论在任何地方,通过任何形式的体育锻炼都可以累积里程,而不仅仅是在路上;我们决定让 1 地球英里相当于 22 英里(LHT 的长度),将里程数从 238,855 减少到 10,818,以使其成为一个不那么艰巨的目标。我喜欢帮助创建图形和营销信息,并在社交媒体上发布信息。我在娱乐和观众参与方面的背景非常有用,特别是因为 TheaterToGo 的最初使命就是让人们参与进来。

左心室: 这条路线中是否有您个人或骑行方面最喜欢或特别感兴趣的路段?
露丝: 我喜欢极地农场部分的历史和 劳伦斯维尔大街 沿约翰逊电车线的部分和 梅登黑德草甸 去运河途中的一段,美丽的 卡森路伍兹珀丽公园 部分,从彭宁顿轻松骑自行车到 分水岭。 我想你可能会说没有我不喜欢的部分!

LHT Board Member Ruth Markoe

由露丝·马科提供

左心室: 请分享对探索 LHT 的当地居民的任何建议或鼓励,以及这条路线如何激发骑自行车的热情。
露丝: LHT 的奇妙之处在于,这条小路穿越了许多不同类型的地产。它永远不会无聊。它带我们穿过城镇、公园和公司园区。沿途可以从许多地点进入它,这样人们就可以随心所欲地做他们想做的事,同时仍然享受这条路线。另外,LHT 穿过默瑟草甸 (Mercer Meadows),这一点很棒,这里禁止车辆通行,因此您可以在安全无污染的环境中看到骑自行车的人、步行者,甚至马匹。

zh_CNChinese

You may not realize it, but behind the LHT is a whole cast of characters working to keep the trail safe and thriving. Our all-volunteer board – a group of Mercer County residents with different areas of expertise and a range of interests – keeps the rest of us hiking and biking. It’s time to shine a light on these folks in our ongoing series: Meet Our Board.

LHT Board Member Ruth Markoe

Courtesy of Ruth Markoe

Meet Ruth Markoe, a speech and language pathologist and the founder of a local theater group with a passion for cycling. Ruth’s background in promoting her own theatrical productions has made her an invaluable addition to the LHT’s public relations and events committee; and she has been an integral member of the small team bringing our Journey to the Moon initiative.

LHT: Can you share a biography or statement regarding professional life and involvement in the LHT?
Ruth: I was born in London and spent the first four years of my life in Israel before my family moved to NYC where I grew up. I have lived in Lawrenceville since 1980 where my husband and I raised our family. I have had a rather diverse professional life. I am speech and language pathologist in private practice with an MS from the University of Wisconsin, but I have always been active in the theater as an actor, and more recently a director and producer. I founded TheaterToGo in 1992. We began by offering immersive comedy murder mysteries for corporate, private, and public events, but have branched out to include full length plays in a variety of venues, most notably Kelsey Theater in West Windsor where I serve on the Advisory Committee. In addition to well-known plays such as Cabaret, To Kill a Mockingbird, and Cat on a Hot Tin Roof, we have also produced several original plays, notably Roebling: The Story of the Brooklyn Bridge, a sell-out at Kelsey Theatre in 2016. I really love all aspects of the theater, and love to perform as well as direct. It’s in my DNA.

LHT: How did you discover the LHT? How did you end up getting involved?
Ruth: I love cycling and I live quite close to the Pole Farm section of the LHT. While the county was developing the property, I would ride the paths on my bike to explore this nascent park. I loved watching it grow and learning about the history of the AT&T property and its importance to telecommunications. I am embarrassed to say that until the Pole Farm was being developed, I really knew none of this history. As the LHT grew, I loved exploring the whole trail. My family knew how much I love the park and the trail and several years ago joined together to get a bench in my honor at my favorite spot by the last remaining pole. I participated in every opportunity to engage with the trail, especially the biking events, and eventually was invited to join the board. I have always considered the LHT my happy place.

LHT Board Member Ruth Markoe and Family at the Pole Farm

Ruth Markoe and her family on the bench they dedicated to her at the Pole Farm segment, courtesy of Ruth Markoe

LHT: How long have you been a board member and what projects have you worked on?
Ruth: I worked with the PR and Events committee in 2019 and joined the board in 2020. My biggest project so far was in helping to develop and implement the Journey to the Moon initiative. This came about after we were forced to cancel the 2020 Full Moon Ride because of COVID-19. We began this initiative to keep interest up in the trail and encourage outdoor activities during the pandemic.

LHT: As the full trail nears completion, what do you think is next for the LHT?
Ruth: I am hoping to see more people using the trail for a variety of purposes, including perhaps outdoor performances. I am also excited to see the end of COVID-19 restrictions and the return of some of our most popular events — the Full Moon Ride and Trail and Treat. Also, I am looking forward to seeing more people enjoy many of the wonderful events such as Art on the Trail, the Walking Club, and the Cycling Club.

LHT: You run a theater company and produce plays and events — how has that work informed your work on the LHT board?
Ruth: I have run TheaterToGo for almost 30 years. In addition to producing and directing a variety of entertainment events I also learned a lot about marketing and the value of social media, especially in this ballooning digital age. I am also acutely aware that developing strong social and business relationships can allow us to continue providing services with integrity and quality. As we continue to develop the beautiful and varied LHT, we can use this knowledge to increase participation in LHT activities and expand awareness of the LHT beyond local communities.

LHT Board Memeber Ruth Markoe at Rosedale Bridge Opening

At the opening of the pedestrian bridge in Rosedale Park, courtesy of Ruth Markoe

LHT: You’re also an avid cyclist — tell us how that informs your work on the board.
Ruth: One of my greatest pleasures is riding my bike. I have loved the trail since I first discovered the Pole Farm many years ago and I love that I can bike over and enjoy such a diverse environment. As a board member, I feel I can contribute to discussions about ways to increase bike-friendly accessibility. I also feel that I can act as an ambassador for the trail as I bike with my varied cycling groups. I love introducing the trail to cyclists from outside our area and have actually led some cycling groups around the trail.

LHT: You’ve been very involved in our Journey to the Moon initiative — how did that come together? How has your background affected it? And how do you think it’s going?
Ruth: When the board was forced to forgo the increasingly popular 2020 Full Moon Ride, a suggestion was floated to create a related activity such as a virtual voyage to the moon. I loved that idea and a small group of us started meeting to flesh out this concept. We decided that the miles could be accrued with any form of physical exercise, anywhere, not only on the trail; and we decided to make one earth mile equivalent to 22 miles (the length of the LHT) reducing the number of miles from 238,855 to 10,818 in order to make it a less daunting goal. I loved helping to create the graphics and the marketing messaging and getting the message out on social media. My background in entertainment and audience engagement has been quite useful, especially since the original mission of TheaterToGo is all about getting people involved.

LHT: Are there any segments of the trail that are favorites or of particular interest to you, personally or in regard to cycling?
Ruth: I love the history of the Pole Farm section and the Lawrenceville Main Street section along the Johnson Trolley line and the Maidenhead Meadows section on the way to the canal, the beauty of the Carson Road Woods and Rosedale Park sections, the easy cycling from Pennington to the Watershed. I guess you could say there is no section I do not like!

LHT Board Member Ruth Markoe

Courtesy of Ruth Markoe

LHT: Please share any words of advice or encouragement for local residents discovering the LHT and how the trail can inspire a passion for cycling.
Ruth: The wonders of the LHT are that the trail goes through so many different types of properties. It is never boring. It takes us through towns, parks, and corporate campuses. And it can be accessed from many points along the way so that folks can do as much or as little as they want and still enjoy the trail. Also, it is wonderful that the LHT goes through Mercer Meadows, which is closed to vehicles, so you can see cyclists, walkers, and even horses in a safe and pollution free environment.