2005 年 6 月 12 日星期日
泰晤士报,特伦顿

作者:金伯利·范·哈维尔

霍普韦尔镇 - 百时美施贵宝公司通常因其位于该镇的工厂内的先进研究和开发而闻名,但昨天的活动却发生在工厂外围 - 开辟了 1.2 英里长的劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道。

当来自全国各地的 24 名 2005 年 BMS 希望之旅自行车手沿着彭宁顿洛基希尔路接力前进时,公众为新道路的剪彩欢呼。

孩子们耐心地热身他们的滑板车,等待这条小道正式开放供人们休闲娱乐,而当地和外州的自行车手和自然爱好者则穿着支持癌症研究的 T 恤,上面写着“参加旅行,许下承诺,感受希望”。

百时美施贵宝公司首席科学官艾略特·西格尔 (Elliott Sigal) 表示:“我们非常高兴能够参与打造一条贯穿劳伦斯和霍普韦尔镇的自行车和步行环路,以三家百时美施贵宝公司旗下的物业和教育考试服务中心园区为中心。”

“在这里,在这个美丽的乡村社区,”西格尔说,“一些最令人兴奋的研究发现为延长和提高人类寿命提供了机会。”他指出,这条步道提供了锻炼和放松的机会,呼应了 BMS 的使命——改善健康和丰富生活。

设施副总裁 Lou Fedele 谈到了这条 20 英里长步道将为公众带来的价值。“我们知道,每增加一个环节,我们离该地区居民享受无与伦比的休闲圣地就更近了一步。”

费德勒说道:“我们所有人都期待休闲骑行者、通勤者、慢跑者、步行者和自然爱好者能够使用我们的最新景点。”

霍普威尔镇镇长阿琳·坎普 (Arlene Kemp) 对这条步道所做的工作感到惊讶,称其为“社区的新成员”,并谈到了联系当地居民和提供更多娱乐活动的目标。

坎普说:“我很荣幸今天能够来到这里,庆祝人们热切期待的劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道霍普韦尔镇区第一段的开通,或者正如我们霍普韦尔人所称的霍普韦尔劳伦斯步道。”

对于超过 $200,000 的补助金,申请人必须从自己的资源中拿出等额的资金来匹配。

随着西格尔剪彩,这条小径向公众开放,希望之旅团队带领大家首次穿过校园。团队成员包括 12 名癌症幸存者,其余人也都或多或少地受到过癌症的影响。

该小组即将在压力更大的条件下开始充满挑战的越野骑行,并焦急地等待着与环法自行车赛冠军兰斯·阿姆斯特朗(也是癌症幸存者)一起骑行的机会。

支持这条步道的合作伙伴包括新泽西州环境保护局、劳伦斯维尔大街、新泽西州交通部、圣劳伦斯康复中心、石溪-米尔斯通流域、中部新泽西自行车俱乐部等等。

其他人,比如首都健康系统的护士玛丽·安·卡瓦拉罗,通过进行简短的健康检查,为健康意识氛围做出了贡献。霍普韦尔镇警察局儿童身份识别项目探员雷·彭塔尔 (Ray Pental) 提供了儿童安全指纹识别服务。

©2005 时代.

zh_CNChinese

Sunday, June 12, 2005
The Times, Trenton

By KIMBERLY VAN HAVERE

HOPEWELL TOWNSHIP – Bristol-Myers Squibb is usually recognized for the advanced research and development inside its facility here, but yesterday the activity was outside on its perimeter – the opening of a 1.2-mile segment of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail.

As 24 2005 BMS Tour of Hope cyclists from all over the country relayed down Pennington Rocky-Hill Road, the public cheered the ribbon-cutting for the new pathway.

Children patiently warmed up their scooters as they waited for the trail to officially open for recreation, while local and out-of-state cyclists and nature lovers wore T-shirts supporting cancer research, reading “Join the tour, make the promise, feel the hope.”

“We are very pleased to be part of the effort to create a biking and walking path loop through Lawrence and Hopewell townships, anchored by three Bristol-Myers Squibb properties and the Educational Testing Service campus,” said Elliott Sigal, chief scientific officer for BMS.

“Here, within this beautifully rural community,” Sigal said, “some of the most exciting research discoveries offer opportunities to extend and enhance human life.” The trail, he noted, providing exercise and relaxation opportunities, echoes the BMS mission – improved wellness and enrichment of life.

Lou Fedele, vice president of facilities, spoke about the value the prospective 20-mile trail will provide for the public. “We know that every link that is added, we are getting closer to the day when residents of this area will enjoy a recreational sanctuary second to none.

“All of us are looking forward to recreational cyclists, commuters, joggers, walkers and nature lovers using our newest attraction,” Fedele said.

Hopewell Township Mayor Arlene Kemp marveled at the work put into the trail, calling it a “welcome addition to the community,” and talked about the goal of bonding local residents and providing more recreational activities.

“I’m honored to be here today to celebrate the eagerly awaited opening of the first leg of the Hopewell Township segment of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail,” Kemp said, “or as we in Hopewell refer to it, the Hopewell Lawrence Trail.”

For grants exceeding $200,000, applicants must match the funds provided with an equal sum from their own resources.

As Sigal cut the ribbon, the trail was opened to the public and the Tour of Hope team led the first ride through the campus. Team members included 12 survivors of cancer, and the rest have been touched by the disease in some way.

The group is about to begin a challenging cross-country ride under more stressful conditions and anxiously await the chance to bike with Tour de France champion Lance Armstrong, also a cancer survivor.

Partners supporting the trail include N.J. Department of Environmental Protection, Lawrenceville Main Street, NJ DOT, St. Lawrence Rehabilitation, Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed, Central Jersey Bicycle Club and many more.

Others, like Mary Ann Cavallaro, a nurse with Capital Health System, contributed to the health awareness atmosphere by performing brief health screenings. Ray Pental, a Hopewell Township Police detective who works for the child identity program, offered child safety fingerprinting.

©2005 The Times.