艺术之路, 我们对受 LHT 启发的艺术作品的庆祝活动仍在继续!我们很高兴能够展示当地艺术家(专业和业余艺术家)通过各种媒体做出的鼓舞人心的贡献,每位创作者都拍摄了我们 22 英里步道上的不同场景。目前,我们正在接受新的 融入沿途建筑或受其启发的作品。 继续创作,我们迫不及待地想看到你的作品。并且,请务必查看我们之前推荐的艺术家 画廊 寻求灵感。

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout

露西娅·斯托特(Lucia Stout),由艺术家提供

见面 露西娅·斯托特 – 一位再生农民和艺术家 合和 他学习艺术史并从小就开始创作。露西亚作品 跨越各种媒体, 从水彩画到摄影,她的灵感来自于自然、艺术史以及与其他艺术家合作和体验其他艺术家创作的机会。

左心室: 您能分享一下传记或艺术家声明吗?
露西娅: 我是一名艺术家和农民,与我的丈夫 Charlie Huebner 在我们位于霍普韦尔的保存完好的农场里生活了 35 年。我们饲养牛、羊,是鼓励对环境负责和再生农业的积极分子。 山毛榉农场 她的动物是我艺术的常见主题。我喜欢接受动物肖像委托,并且经常在劳伦斯·霍普威尔步道 (Lawrence Hopewell Trail) 散步,在那里我为自己的许多画作找到了灵感。

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Milkweed

“马利筋不仅是帝王蝶的生态超级明星,而且风景如画。我一直很喜欢这种植物。这是一幅粉彩画,16×12”,无框; 23×19” 框。它被纳入 2020 年新泽西粉彩协会评审艺术展,由 Lucia Stout 提供

我对黑胡桃美丽的棕褐色很感兴趣,用胡桃墨水制作和绘画。我还从事粉彩、水彩画和油画创作,而且我是一名摄影师。我的一组照片以自然界中发现的心脏图像为特色——一块树皮、岩石、云彩、融化的雪。

我曾参加过菲利普斯米尔评审艺术展、艾拉斯利特伦顿博物馆协会、奥杜邦协会的新泽西狂野展,以及整个地区的个展和群展。十三年前,我开始每周在历史悠久的霍普威尔火车站与其他艺术家一起绘画。这已经发展成为一个蓬勃发展且富有创造力的社区,即“车站的艺术家”(在大流行期间和冬天,艺术家“缩放”在一起)。目前我正在花园州水彩协会和新泽西粉彩协会会员展览中展示我的作品。我是 GSWS 的签名会员。我在瓦萨学院获得了艺术史学士学位。

左心室: 您创作多久了?是什么促使您开始或重新开始创作艺术?
露西娅: 我很幸运能够从小就开始绘画。令人高兴的是,我在青少年时期经历了这场风暴,当时我们对某件事“好坏”变得如此自我评判。在成年后尤其突出的一个灵感是当我在普林斯顿成人学校参加水彩和绘画课程,后来在普林斯顿艺术委员会参加肖像画和粉彩画课程时。

左心室: 您首选的媒介是什么?
露西娅: 这取决于当天和我画的内容。我喜欢所有的媒介,并且决定不必只选择一种。现在,我在花园小屋的粉彩工作室里玩得很开心。我的油画工作室位于我的谷仓里,我已经接管了我成年儿子的房间来创作我的水彩画和胡桃木水墨画。和我一起散步的朋友都知道,我经常停下来拍照。

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Sycamores

梧桐树,12×12”,布面油画,由艺术家提供

左心室: 您所有的艺术作品都是受到大自然的启发吗?
露西娅: 是的,非常如此。我也在其他艺术家的作品中找到灵感;在大学学习艺术史对我来说是一场视觉和灵魂的盛宴。参观博物馆是我最喜欢做的事情之一。

左心室: LHT 的哪些方面给您带来了启发?您最喜欢哪些片段?
露西娅: 我最喜欢的科目是秋天、冬天和早春的干杂草。树木也充满无限的乐趣和启发。桥前的梧桐树通向 珀丽公园 都是如此富有个性。 LHT的每个部分都有其独特的性格和魅力。今天我走过了 卡森路 LHT 的一部分。田野和树林、杂草和融化的雪的结合让我渴望回到画架后面。

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Beechtree Farm

山毛榉农场的冬日之光,14×11英寸,布面油画,由艺术家提供

左心室: 您是如何发现 LHT 的?
露西娅: LHT 的联合创始人贝基·泰勒 (Becky Taylor) 是我们孩子们在霍普韦尔小学 (Hopewell Elementary School) 时的朋友。她告诉我,她担心她丈夫在路上骑自行车不安全。她和她的联合创始人埃莉诺·霍恩 (Eleanor Horne) 着手创建这条步道。他们的辛勤工作和坚持为我们所有人带来了巨大的回报。向他们和所有促成这一切的人致敬!最近,大约十年前,我开始每周和一位亲密的朋友一起散步。我们决定走完整条LHT步道。我们继续定期探索 LHT 的不同部分。

左心室: 您对其他艺术家(成人、儿童、新手、专业人士)有什么建议或信息,鼓励他们走出去,创作受 LHT 启发的艺术?
露西娅: 留意当地的艺术课程和研讨会。他们真的很有帮助。我还会寻找其他从事艺术的人并计划一起出去。加入当地的艺术委员会。我是以下组织的成员 合和谷艺术委员会 谁有优秀的项目。对我来说,艺术在其他艺术家的陪伴下更有趣。

网站: LuciaStout.com

Facebook: @ArtbyLucia

Instagram: @LMStoutartist

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout  Hedgerows

树篱,36×24英寸,布面油画,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout  Weeds Walnut Ink

杂草,10×10英寸,胡桃木墨水画布,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Blondes

金发女郎,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Dog

塔克,12×9“,纸上粉彩,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Walnut Ink

该路线位于从 Rosedale Park 到 Pole Farm 的小路上,沿着 Cold Soil Road 的一小段路程。和我亲爱的朋友一起散步时,我们经过了这座古老的粗石屋。这幅画是用胡桃墨水绘制的,胡桃墨水是我用黑色外壳煮黑胡桃制成的。由艺术家提供

zh_CNChinese

Art on the Trail, our celebration of artwork inspired by the LHT continues! We are thrilled to present inspiring contributions from local artists – professional and amateur, across various media, each creator taken with different scenes along our 22 miles of trail. Currently, we are accepting new pieces incorporating or inspired by Architecture along the trail. Keep creating, we can’t wait to see your work. And, be sure to check out previously featured artists in our gallery for inspiration.

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout

Lucia Stout, courtesy of the artist

Meet Lucia Stout – a regenerative farmer and artist in Hopewell who studied art history and has been creating since childhood. Lucia works across various media, from watercolors to photography — and she is inspired by nature, art history, and the opportunity to work with and experience other artists’ creations.

LHT: Can you share a biography or Artist’s Statement?
Lucia: I’m an artist and farmer and have lived for 35 years with my husband Charlie Huebner at our preserved farm in Hopewell. We raise cattle, sheep and are activists encouraging environmentally responsible and regenerative agriculture. Beechtree Farm and her animals are frequent subjects for my art. I love to do animal portrait commissions and I’m a regular walker of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail where I find inspiration for many of my paintings.

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Milkweed

“Besides being such an ecological superstar for the monarch butterfly, milkweed is so picturesque. I’ve always loved this plant. This is a pastel painting, 16×12” unframed; 23×19” framed. It was accepted into the 2020 Pastel Society of New Jersey Juried Art Show, courtesy of Lucia Stout

Intrigued by the beautiful sepia color from black walnuts, I make and paint with walnut ink. I also work in pastel, watercolor, and oil, and I’m a photographer. One collection of my photographs features heart images found in nature — a piece of bark, rocks, clouds, melting snow.

I have been included at the Phillips’ Mill Juried Art Show, the Trenton Museum Society at Ellarslie, the Audubon Society’s Wild New Jersey show, and in solo and group shows throughout the area. Thirteen years ago, I started painting with other artists every week at the historic Hopewell Train Station. This has grown into a thriving and creative community, the “Artists at the Station” (during the pandemic and in winter the artists “Zoom” together). Currently I am showing my work in the Garden State Watercolor Society and the Pastel Society of New Jersey members shows. I am a signature member of the GSWS. I received my BA in art history from Vassar College.

LHT: How long have you been creating? What inspired you to start or restart creating art?
Lucia: I’ve been blessed to have been painting and drawing ever since childhood. Happily, I weathered the storm in teenage-hood when we become so self-judgmental about whether something “is any good or not.” One inspiration that stands out in particular in adulthood was when I took a watercolor and drawing class at the Princeton Adult School and later classes in portraiture and pastel painting at the Arts Council in Princeton.

LHT: What is your preferred medium or media?
Lucia: This depends on the day and what I’m painting. I love all the mediums and have decided I don’t have to pick just one. Right now, I’m having a blast in my pastel studio in our garden shed. My oil studio is in my barn and I’ve taken over my grown son’s room for my watercolor and walnut ink paintings. As my friends who walk with me know, I stop often for photographs.

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Sycamores

Sycamores, 12×12”, oil on canvas, courtesy of the artist

LHT: Is all your artwork inspired by nature?
Lucia: Yes, very much so. I also find inspiration in other artist’s work; studying art history in college was a feast for my eyes and soul. Visiting museums is one of my favorite things to do.

LHT: What about the LHT inspires you? What are your favorite segments?
Lucia: My favorite subjects are the dried weeds in autumn, winter, and early spring. Trees are endlessly interesting and inspiring too. The sycamore trees just before the bridge headed into Rosedale Park are so full of character. Every segment of the LHT has its own unique character and charm. Today I walked the Carson Road portion of the LHT. The combination of fields and woods, weeds and melting snow made me yearn to get behind my easel.

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Beechtree Farm

Winter Light at Beechtree Farm, 14×11″, oil on canvas, courtesy of the artist

LHT: How did you discover the LHT?
Lucia: Co-founder of the LHT, Becky Taylor, is a friend from back when our boys were at Hopewell Elementary School. She told me she worried it wasn’t safe for her husband to be riding a bike on the road. She and her co-founder, Eleanor Horne, set out to create this trail. Their hard work and persistence have paid off, big time, for all of us. Kudos to them and everyone who made this happen! More recently, about a decade ago, I started walking every week with a close friend. We decided to walk the whole LHT trail. We continue to explore different segments of the LHT regularly.

LHT: Do you have advice or messages for other artists (adults, kids, novices, pros) encouraging them to get outside and create art inspired by the LHT?
Lucia: Look out for local art classes and workshops. They really help. I’d also seek out other people who do art and make plans to go out together. Join your local Arts Council. I’m a member of the Hopewell Valley Arts Council who has excellent projects. Art is more fun, for me, in the company of other artists.

Website: LuciaStout.com

Facebook: @ArtbyLucia

Instagram: @LMStoutartist

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout  Hedgerows

Hedgerows, 36×24″, oil on canvas, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout  Weeds Walnut Ink

Weeds, 10×10″, walnut ink on canvas, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Blondes

Blondes, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Dog

Tucker, 12×9″, pastel on paper, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Lucia Stout Walnut Ink

This is on the trail from Rosedale Park to the Pole Farm along the short stretch by Cold Soil Road. Walking with my dear friend, we passed by this venerable fieldstone home. The painting is rendered in walnut ink which I’ve made by boiling black walnuts, in their black husks. Courtesy of the artist