我们的第一阶段 艺术之路, 受 LHT 启发的景观庆祝活动已经结束。现在,是时候庆祝当地艺术家(无论是专业艺术家还是业余艺术家)通过各种媒体做出的鼓舞人心的贡献了,每位创作者都沿着我们 22 英里的步道拍摄了不同的场景。目前,我们正在接受新的艺术作品 LHT 植物群和动物群。 继续创作,我们迫不及待地想看到你的作品。并且,请务必查看我们之前推荐的艺术家 画廊 寻求灵感。

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker

珍妮特·沃龙克(Janet Waronker),由艺术家提供

见面 珍妮特·沃龙克 - A 合和镇区 常驻和退休艺术治疗师和艺术老师。珍妮特从小就创作艺术,现在专注于水彩画的创作和教学。她喜欢 LHT,尤其是 Pole Farm 的广阔天空,在那里你可以看到地平线。

LHT:您能分享一下传记或艺术家声明吗?
珍妮特: 我在费城长大,并在泰勒美术学院获得了绘画和艺术教育学士学位。毕业后,我在费城一所公立小学教艺术。后来,我在德雷克塞尔大学完成了创意艺术治疗研究生学业,转换了职业,并搬到了普林斯顿地区工作。过去 35 年我一直住在这里。合和镇过去十个。

在我的职业生涯中,我一直从事心理治疗私人诊所,并定期领导团体咨询和创意艺术治疗小组。我在教瑜伽 普林斯顿成人学校 和水彩画在 普林斯顿艺术委员会。 退休后,我喜欢将时间投入到艺术创作、参加工作坊以及与艺术家朋友一起绘画。

多年来,我的画作曾参加过许多地区的评审展览。三件作品目前正在花园州水彩协会和菲利普斯米尔艺术协会的在线展览中。

左心室: 您创作多久了?是什么促使您开始或重新开始创作艺术?
珍妮特: 我觉得我一直在画画。我的父母非常支持我的艺术兴趣并希望培养我的技能。在成长过程中,我必须通过公立学校赞助的周六项目和艺术博物馆参加精彩的艺术课程。我非常感谢我申请艺术学校时父母的支持。

拼贴结束后,我对绘画的兴趣是零星的,但在我搬到新泽西后就开始了。当我参加成人课程并发现学习水彩画的乐趣时,我重新燃起了对绘画的热爱。我受到当地优秀老师 Elizabeth Lombardi 和 Marge Chavooshian 的学习的启发。过去 25 年来,水彩画一直是我选择的媒介。这仍然是一个挑战和喜悦。

左心室: 您首选的媒介是什么?
Janet:过去 25 年来,水彩一直是我选择的媒介。这仍然是一个挑战和喜悦。

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Rosedale

Mercer Meadows,十一月,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Rosedale Lake

一幅美丽的夏日早晨在树荫下的画作需要水,看着其他人(注意他们的身体距离)钓鱼、散步和骑自行车,从这些 Covid-19 的日子里得到一个平静的休息,水彩画完成于 罗斯代尔湖, 2020 年 6 月 25 日,9×12”,由艺术家提供

左心室: 您所有的艺术作品都是受到大自然的启发吗?
珍妮特: 非常如此。我走出去,在自然环境中行走,体验风景、天空、树木中光线的节奏和变化,这些记忆直接或间接地影响着我的作品。我受到大自然的启发,并与它有着明确的情感关系。这些经验被融入到艺术创作过程中。现场绘画是我最喜欢的工作方式;但有时我会在家完成它。在寒冷的天气里,我在室内根据记忆、照片和草图进行创作。我特别感激能够在开放的空间里度过时光并与大自然接触。在过去的六个月里,LHT 和疼痛一直是一种安慰。在这些困难时期对艺术的关注是一份礼物。

左心室: LHT 的哪些方面给您带来了启发?您最喜欢哪些片段?
珍妮特: 我喜欢走在小路上,关注不断变化的树木、天空和大地。我感到与他人以及比我更伟大的事物有联系。这是一种快乐。我特别喜欢当我到达一个地方时,天空开阔,你可以看到地平线到地平线。有时,日落时分,从农场上空可以看到西边的夕阳和东边的满月。 极地农场 下山朝红色谷仓走去。我在湖边作画 默瑟梅多斯 并在 劳伦斯维尔学校。

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Ringoes Hens

八卦(在雪莉农场),Ringoes,由艺术家提供

左心室: 您是如何发现 LHT 的?
珍妮特: 当我搬到合和镇时,我在参观冷土路红谷仓和林场附近新开放的路段时发现了这条小路。我被迷住了。我找到了一个离家一英里的入口,我最喜欢的路线是经过 Mercer Meadows, 梅登黑德草甸, 里德布莱恩农场和杆农场。这条路是一个宝藏。我们很幸运能够保留如此多的空间供我们漫游。

左心室: 您对其他艺术家(成人、儿童、新手、专业人士)有什么建议或信息,鼓励他们走出去,创作受 LHT 启发的艺术?
珍妮特: 根据我自己与成人学习水彩画的经验,我鼓励学生在户外素描并从小事做起。它可能是压倒性的。

我对自己的建议是集中注意力、放松、呼吸!这只是油漆而已!我发现重要的是要关注创作过程,而不是它的外观。让内心的批评者得到休息,将你天生顽皮的好奇心与大自然联系起来。

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Terhunes

Terhune's 的农场商店,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Ringoes Lavender

薰衣草,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Daisies

黛西·弗莱班 (Daisy Fleabane),由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Cape May Lighthouse

开普梅角公园,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker

珍妮特·沃龙克(Janet Waronker),由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Red Sunset Photo

红色夕阳,由艺术家提供

zh_CNChinese

Our first phase of Art on the Trail, a celebration of Landscapes inspired by the LHT, has come to a close. Now, it’s time to celebrate those inspiring contributions from local artists – professional and amateur, across various media, each creator taken with different scenes along our 22 miles of trail. Currently, we are accepting new art featuring LHT Flora and Fauna. Keep creating, we can’t wait to see your work. And, be sure to check out previously featured artists in our gallery for inspiration.

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker

Janet Waronker, courtesy of the artist

Meet Janet Waronker – a Hopewell Township resident and retired art therapist and art teacher. Janet grew up creating art and now focuses on created and teaching watercolor painting. She loves the LHT, especially the big skies at Pole Farm, where you can see horizon to horizon.

LHT: Can you share a biography or Artist’s Statement?
Janet: I grew up in Philadelphia and completed my BFA at Tyler School of Fine Arts in painting and art education. I taught art in a Philadelphia public elementary school after graduation. Later I completed graduate school at Drexel University in creative arts therapy, shifted careers, and moved to the Princeton area for work. I’ve been living here the past 35 years. The past ten in Hopewell Township.

Over the course of my career, I have maintained a psychotherapy private practice, and regularly led group counseling and creative arts therapy groups. I teach yoga at Princeton Adult School and watercolors at Arts Council of Princeton. Since retiring, I enjoy devoting time to art-making, taking workshops, and painting with artist friends.

My paintings have been included in many area juried shows over years. Three pieces are currently in online shows at Garden State Watercolor Society and Phillips Mill Art Association.

LHT: How long have you been creating? What inspired you to start or restart creating art?
Janet: I feel like I always drew and painted. My parents were very supportive of my art interests and wanted to nurture my skills. Growing up I got to take wonderful art classes through a public school-sponsored Saturday program and at the art museum. I’m very grateful my parents were behind me when I applied to art school.

My engagement with painting was sporadic after collage, but took off after I moved to New Jersey. The love of painting and drawing got a reboot when I took adult classes and discovered excitement in learning watercolor. I was inspired by studying with wonderful local teachers, Elizabeth Lombardi and Marge Chavooshian particularly. Watercolor has been my medium of choice for the past 25 years. It continues to be both a challenge and joy.

LHT: What is your preferred medium or media?
Janet: Watercolor has been my medium of choice for the past 25 years. It continues to be both a challenge and joy.

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Rosedale

Mercer Meadows, November, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Rosedale Lake

A beautiful summer morning painting in the shade of a tree need the water, watching others (minding their physical distance) fishing, walking and biking, a peaceful respite from these Covid-19 days, watercolor completed at Rosedale Lake, 6/25/20, 9×12”, courtesy of the artist

LHT: Is all your artwork inspired by nature?
Janet: Very much so. I get out and walk in natural settings and experience the rhythms and changes of the light in landscape, the skies, the trees, and those memories inform my work directly and indirectly. I’m inspired by nature and have a definite emotional relationship to it. Those experiences are infused in art-making process. Painting on-site is my favorite way to work; but I sometimes finish it up at home. In colder weather, I’m indoors working from memories, photos, and sketches. I’m especially grateful I’m able to spend time in open spaces and connect with nature. During these past six months the LHT and paining have been a balm. An art focus during these difficult times is a gift.

LHT: What about the LHT inspires you? What are your favorite segments?
Janet: I love walking on the trail, paying attention to the changing trees, sky, and earth. I feel connected to others and to something greater than myself. It is a joy. I particularly like when I get to a spot when the sky in wide open and you can see from horizon to horizon. Sometimes, at sunset, you can see the setting sun in the west and full moon rising in the east over the farm from the Pole Farm walking down the hill toward the red barn. I paint near the lake at Mercer Meadows and at the Lawrenceville School.

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Ringoes Hens

Gossip (on Shirley’s Farm), Ringoes, courtesy of the artist

LHT: How did you discover the LHT?
Janet: When I moved to Hopewell Township, I discovered the trail on a tour of a newly opened section near the red barn and tree farm on Cold Soil Road. I was hooked. I found an entrance a mile from home and my favorite routes go through Mercer Meadows, Maidenhead Meadows, the Reed Bryan Farm and the Pole Farm. The trail is a treasure. We are so fortunate to have so much space preserved for us to roam.

LHT: Do you have advice or messages for other artists (adults, kids, novices, pros) encouraging them to get outside and create art inspired by the LHT?
Janet: From my own experience working with adults learning watercolors, I encourage students to sketch outside and start small. It can be overwhelming.

My advice to self is to pay attention, relax and breathe! It’s only paint! I find it is important to focus on the creative process, not on how it should look. Give the inner critic a rest, connect with nature your natural playful curiosity.

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Terhunes

Farm Store at Terhune’s, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Ringoes Lavender

Lavender, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Daisies

Daisy Fleabane, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Cape May Lighthouse

Cape May Point Park, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker

Janet Waronker, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Janet Waronker Red Sunset Photo

Red Sunset, courtesy of the artist

Share This

Share this post with your friends!