艺术之路, 我们庆祝受 LHT 启发的艺术作品,继续 植物群和动物群。 我们很高兴能够展示当地艺术家(专业和业余艺术家)通过各种媒体做出的鼓舞人心的贡献,每位创作者都拍摄了我们 22 英里步道上的不同场景。目前,我们正在接受新的艺术作品 LHT 水道。 继续创作,我们迫不及待地想看到你的作品。并且,请务必查看我们之前推荐的艺术家 画廊 寻求灵感。

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney

阿曼达·切斯尼 (Amanda Chesney) 由我们美丽的布雷尔利橡树 (Brearley Oak) 创作,由艺术家提供

见面 阿曼达切斯尼 - A 劳伦斯维尔 居民,白天是一名科学家,业余时间则是一名出色的版画家。她的版画包括蚀刻、丝网印刷、日光板印刷和其他技术,融合了羽毛、树叶和花朵——其中一些是她在沿着 LHT 散步时发现的。

左心室: 您能分享一下传记或艺术家声明吗?
阿曼达: 我是一名住在劳伦斯维尔的版画师,我在那里教书,也在展览和活动中进行销售。我制作印刷品已经有 15 年了,当我看到印刷品通过印刷机或从印版上拉出来后的效果时,我永远不会感到厌倦。

除了成为一名专业科学家之外,我还研究了各种版画技术,如蚀刻、干点、凹版、丝网印刷、单版印刷、拼贴、油毡版画和太阳板。我的版画被国内以及比利时、加拿大、荷兰、巴西和法国收藏,过去 12 年我在这里和加拿大举办过个人和团体展览。

我只打印小版本。目前,我最喜欢的材料是从自然界中发现的物体或消费后废物,以及我在当地(例如在劳伦斯霍普威尔步道上)找到的植物材料。

奖项包括 2012 年新泽西版画大赛第二名以及 2013 年奥杜邦协会艺术大赛第二名。

左心室: 您创作多久了?是什么促使您开始或重新开始创作艺术?
阿曼达: 我从事版画创作已有大约 15 年了。我被这种媒介所吸引,因为它结合了创造力和对卓越技术的需求——印刷品可能会出错的方式有很多!作为一名白天的科学家,版画是我使用大脑另一侧的绝佳方式。我喜欢它需要如此多的专注和对细节的关注,以至于我脑海中的所有其他想法都消失了。

左心室: 您首选的媒介是什么?
阿曼达: 版画是我的主要媒介。我很幸运,版画有如此多的分支,我确信一生的学习不会让我尝试所有的分支,并且随着新材料和数字技术的出现,这种媒介不断发展。使用木刻或蚀刻等 500 多年来从未改变过的技术是非常有价值的——这与前几代工匠有联系。使用像日光板这样的技术,利用现代材料以新的方式创建图像,同样令人兴奋。

左心室: 您所有的艺术作品都是受到大自然的启发吗?
阿曼达: 我的大部分艺术作品都受到大自然的启发。我永远不会厌倦树叶的图案、某些树木的分支方式或季节变化的调色板。

左心室: LHT 的哪些方面给您带来了启发?
阿曼达: 我喜欢 LHT 的交通便利性,并且它的每个路段都融合了城市和野生元素。每次步行或骑自行车时我都会看到不同的东西。鸟类、鹿、火蜥蜴、宝石色甲虫——您永远不知道会遇到什么。

左心室: 您对其他艺术家(成人、儿童、新手、专业人士)有什么建议或信息,鼓励他们走出去,创作受 LHT 启发的艺术?
阿曼达: 出去吧。我在 LHT 上度过的一些最美好的时光是那些太湿、太冷或太早到达的时候。正是在那些时刻,我看到了最令人惊叹的摄影光线,以及野生动物最活跃的时刻。感觉这条路完全属于你自己,这是一种特别的感觉。

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Wild Oats

《野燕麦和大麦》是 2020 年 3 月至 9 月沿小径第 5 至 16 部分的羽毛和树叶拼贴单版画。由艺术家提供,采用手绘墨水并使用蚀刻机和档案纸从收集的物品上打印出来

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Red Maple

日本枫木单版画,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Field Notes

特拉华远足田野笔记拼贴印刷品,由艺术家提供

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Leaves
LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Feathers
LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Fern

2020 年 3 月至 9 月沿小径第 5 至 16 部分的羽毛和树叶拼贴单版画。由艺术家提供,通过手绘墨水并使用蚀刻机和档案纸从收集的物品上打印出来

zh_CNChinese

Art on the Trail, our celebration of artwork inspired by the LHT, continues with Flora and Fauna. We are thrilled to present inspiring contributions from local artists – professional and amateur, across various media, each creator taken with different scenes along our 22 miles of trail. Currently, we are accepting new art featuring LHT Waterways. Keep creating, we can’t wait to see your work. And, be sure to check out previously featured artists in our gallery for inspiration.

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney

Amanda Chesney by our beautiful Brearley Oak, courtesy of the artist

Meet Amanda Chesney – a Lawrenceville resident who is a scientist by day and an accomplished printmaker in her spare time. Her prints, which include etching, silkscreening, solarplate printing, and other techniques, incorporate feathers, leaves, and flowers – some of which she finds on her walks along the LHT.

LHT: Can you share a biography or Artist’s Statement?
Amanda: I am a printmaker living in Lawrenceville where I teach locally and also sell at shows and events. I’ve been making prints for 15 years, and never get tired of the moment when I get to see how a print turns out after coming through the press or being pulled from a plate.

In addition to being a professional scientist-by-day, I’ve studied a variety of printmaking techniques such as etching, drypoint, aquatint, silkscreen, monoprinting, collagraph, linocut, and solarplate. My prints are held in collections domestically and in Belgium, Canada, the Netherlands, Brazil and France, and I have exhibited in personal and group shows for the past 12 years here and in Canada.

I print small editions only. My favorite materials currently are found objects from nature or as post-consumer waste, and botanical materials that I find locally such as on the Lawrence Hopewell Trail.

Awards include 2nd place in the New Jersey Printmaking Competition in 2012 as well as 2nd place in the Audubon Society Art Competition 2013.

LHT: How long have you been creating? What inspired you to start or restart creating art?
Amanda: I’ve been practicing printmaking for around 15 years. I was drawn to the medium as it combines creativity with a need for technical excellence – there are so many ways a print can go wrong! As a scientist by day, printmaking is a wonderful way for me to use the other side of my brain. I love that it requires so much focus and attention to detail that all other thoughts in my mind fall away.

LHT: What is your preferred medium or media?
Amanda: Printmaking is my main medium. I’m fortunate that there are so many branches of printmaking that I’m sure a lifetime of study isn’t going to allow me to try them all, and as new materials and digital technologies come along, the medium continues to evolve. There is something very rewarding about using a technique like woodcut or etching that hasn’t changed in over 500 years – there is a connection to generations of craftspeople who have come before. It’s equally exciting to use a technique like solarplate that uses modern materials to create images in new ways.

LHT: Is all your artwork inspired by nature?
Amanda: Most of my artwork is inspired by nature. I never get tired of the patterns of leaves, the way certain trees branch, or the color palettes of the changing seasons.

LHT: What about the LHT inspires you?
Amanda: I love that the LHT is very accessible, and that it has a blend of urban and wild elements on each of its segments. I see something different every time I walk or bike it. Birds, deer, salamanders, jewel-colored beetles – you never know what you’ll come across.

LHT: Do you have advice or messages for other artists (adults, kids, novices, pros) encouraging them to get outside and create art inspired by the LHT?
Amanda: Just get out there. Some of the best times I’ve had on the LHT have been those too wet, too cold or too early visits. It’s those moments when I’ve seen the most amazing light for photography and the wildlife is the most active. There is something special about feeling like you have the trail all to yourself.

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Wild Oats

Wild Oats and Barley, collagraph monoprints from feathers and foliage along the trail Sections 5 through 16 from March to September 2020. Printed from the collected objects by hand-inking and using an etching press with archival paper, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Red Maple

Japanese Maple Monoprint, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Field Notes

Delaware Hike Field Notes Collagraph Print, courtesy of the artist

LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Leaves
LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Feathers
LHT Art on the Trail Amanda Chesney Fern

Collagraph monoprints from feathers and foliage along the trail Sections 5 through 16 from March to September 2020. Printed from the collected objects by hand-inking and using an etching press with archival paper, courtesy of the artist

Share This

Share this post with your friends!