作者:Lea Kahn,特约撰稿人, 劳伦斯·莱杰 发布日期:2006 年 11 月 2 日

劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道 (Lawrence-Hopewell Trail) 是一条规划的 20 英里自行车和步行环路,于 2001 年推出。

劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道任务组联席主席埃莉诺·霍恩和贝基·泰勒表示,劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道的后续路段应在 2008 年春季完工,并为骑自行车者和行人做好准备。
这些线路——穿过斯托尼布鲁克-米尔斯通分水岭、默瑟县公园西北、罗斯代尔公园、卡森路伍兹以及从乡村公园到基夫路的线路——正处于规划阶段。
劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道 (Lawrence-Hopewell Trail) 是一条规划的 20 英里长的自行车和步行环路,将连接劳伦斯镇和霍普韦尔镇。该提案于 2001 年提出,此后又修建了多个部分。步道的已完成部分标有 LHT 的绿色三角形标志。
在劳伦斯,这条小路蜿蜒穿过劳伦斯维尔学校校园、劳伦斯维尔村,一直延伸到乡村公园。该步道的一部分也建在教育考试服务中心校园内,靠近 Rosedale 路和 Carter 路。

“我们很高兴看到更多人在我们的校园内使用这条步道,”ETS 执行副总裁霍恩女士说。 “(ETS 员工)标记了 100 种树木和植物。我们希望人们停下自行车来看看植被。”
霍普韦尔镇 (Hopewell Township) 还沿着百时美施贵宝公司 (Bristol Myers-Squibb Co.) 位于 Pennington-Rocky Hill Road 的临街、Titus Mill Road 和 Old Mill Road 之间修建了一条 1.2 英里长的步道。
霍恩女士说,现在计划修建一段从百时美施贵宝地产到霍普韦尔镇石溪-米尔斯通分水岭地产的道路。她说,工程和环境研究正在进行中。
百时美施贵宝公司企业传播部高级总监泰勒女士表示,默瑟县官员正在承包设计和工程工作,以修建一条穿过罗斯代尔公园和默瑟县公园西北的一英里路段。
她说,穿过劳伦斯镇拥有的卡森路伍兹的一英里道路的计划尚未最终确定。她补充说,LHT 官员正计划与 Carson Road Woods 房产的邻居和镇政府官员进行交谈。
霍恩女士说,部分步道也将建在私人财产上,LHT 官员希望与业主讨论这条步道的路线将如何影响他们个人。
Horne 女士和 Taylor 女士表示,他们对 LHT 受到这两个镇区居民的接待感到很高兴。事实上,霍普韦尔自治市和彭宁顿自治市的官员也表示有兴趣建立从他们的城镇到这条道路的连接,他们说。
“这条路线得到了全力支持,”霍恩女士说。 “人们已经很长时间没有批评这条路线了。我们收到的唯一批评是人们想要更多。”
泰勒女士同意了。
“劳伦斯和霍普韦尔的人们似乎很热情,”她说。 “他们(为了建造它)变得不耐烦了。如果没有(劳伦斯和霍普韦尔官员)的支持,我们就不会走上现在的道路。我们的挑战是利用这一优势并以具体的方式向前迈进。”

©邮包在线 新闻分类娱乐业务 – 普林斯顿和新泽西中部 2006 年

zh_CNChinese

By: Lea Kahn , Staff Writer , Lawrence Ledger As published 11/02/2006

The Lawrence-Hopewell trail is a planned 20-mile bicycle and pedestrian loop, introduced in 2001.

The next links in the Lawrence-Hopewell Trail should be completed and ready for bicyclists and pedestrians by spring 2008, said Lawrence-Hopewell Trail Task Force co-Chairwomen Eleanor Horne and Becky Taylor.
Those links — through the Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed, Mercer County Park Northwest, Rosedale Park, the Carson Road Woods and a link from Village Park to Keefe Road — are in the planning stages.
The Lawrence-Hopewell Trail is a planned 20-mile bicycle and pedestrian loop that would connect Lawrence and Hopewell townships. The proposal was introduced in 2001, with several segments built since. The completed portions of the trail are marked by the LHT’s green triangular sign.
In Lawrence, the trail meanders through The Lawrenceville School campus, the village of Lawrenceville, on into Village Park. A portion of the trail also has been built on the Educational Testing Service campus, off Rosedale and Carter roads.

“We are delighted to see more people using the trail on our campus,” said Ms. Horne, executive vice president at ETS. “(ETS employees) tagged 100 species of trees and plants. We want people to get off their bicycles and look at the vegetation.”
A 1.2-mile stretch of the trail also has been built in Hopewell Township, along Bristol Myers-Squibb Co.’s frontage on Pennington-Rocky Hill Road, between Titus Mill Road and Old Mill Road.
There now are plans to build a segment of the path from the Bristol Myers-Squibb property to the Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed property in Hopewell Township, Ms. Horne said. Engineering and environmental studies are under way, she said.
Mercer County officials are contracting for the design and engineering work to build a one-mile segment of the path through Rosedale Park and Mercer County Park Northwest, said Ms. Taylor, who is senior director of corporate communications for Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.
Plans for a one-mile path through the Lawrence Township-owned Carson Road Woods have not been finalized, she said. LHT officials are planning to talk to neighbors of the Carson Road Woods property and to township officials, she added.
Portions of the trail also will be constructed on private property, and LHT officials want to speak to property owners about how the trail’s route will impact them personally, Ms. Horne said.
Ms. Horne and Ms. Taylor said they are delighted with the reception that the LHT has received from residents of the two townships. In fact, Hopewell Borough and Pennington Borough officials have expressed interest in creating links to the path from their towns as well, they said.
“There has been total support for the trail,” Ms. Horne said. “It has been a long time since people were critical of the trail. The only criticism we get is that people want more.”
Ms. Taylor agreed.
“People in Lawrence and Hopewell seem to be enthusiastic,” she said. “They are getting impatient (for it to be built). We wouldn’t be on the path to where we are without (Lawrence and Hopewell officials’) support. Our challenge is to take advantage and move forward in a concrete way.”

©PACKETONLINE News Classifieds Entertainment Business – Princeton and Central New Jersey 2006