作为今天公布的草根努力的结果,一条 20 英里的自行车和步行道将穿过企业园区和默瑟县公园西北,沿着现有街道以及穿过劳伦斯镇和霍普威尔镇的学校操场。企业、政府、非营利组织、公立和私立学校以及自行车俱乐部的代表在新闻发布会上概述了劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道 (LHT) 的概念计划。

拟建的步道将连接县内数十家企业、学校、公园、休闲场所和住宅区,由新路径和现有道路组成。新路段的建设将于 2003 年开始,大部分步道预计于 2004 年秋季完工。

百时美施贵宝高级设施总监 Louis A. Fedele 表示:“骑行者、步行者、跑步者、滑冰者和寻求替代工作或休闲方式的通勤者都将受到欢迎,享受计划沿霍普韦尔和劳伦斯镇 20 英里环路修建的铺砌道路。”百时美施贵宝 (NYSE:BMY) 是自行车道的推动者,并迅速得到了众多公共和私人合作伙伴的热情加入。

教育考试服务中心总裁 Kurt Landgraf 表示:“我很少看到州政府机构、县政府、两个市政当局、企业和公民团体之间有如此紧密的合作。这次独特的合作带来了一项绝佳资源,可供默瑟县居民和游客享用。”

霍普韦尔谷基督教青年会 (Hopewell Valley YMCA) 最近进行的一项调查显示,当地居民对步行、跑步和自行车道的支持十分热烈。当被问及霍普韦尔社区需要哪些户外活动时,大多数受访者都表示,步道是他们的第一或第二选择。

$6万元总建设成本的近一半已落实。百时美施贵宝已承诺承担在其三个地点修建这条步道的 $100 万美元的费用:位于霍普韦尔 Pennington-Rocky Hill 路和劳伦斯卡特路的校园,以及同样位于劳伦斯的普林斯顿派克和 295 号公路沿线的校园。默瑟县行政长官鲍勃·普鲁内蒂 (Bob Prunetti) 已拨出 $120 万用于默瑟县公园西北区的步道建设。教育考试服务中心已承诺投资 $250,000 修建一条穿过卡特路校区的路线,并支持路线的维护。

新成立的非营利性劳伦斯-霍普韦尔步道公司将从各种其他公共和私人来源寻求资金,包括州绿英亩以及州和联邦交通部。 LHT 公司将监督步道的建设和维护。

当地自行车和步行道的创建工作由教育考试服务中心和百时美施贵宝公司共同主持。劳伦斯和霍普韦尔镇政府的代表以及新泽西州环境保护部州绿色农场办公室是该组织的早期支持者和积极分子,默瑟县规划部门的代表也是如此。

在整个协作规划过程中,联盟一直以其使命为指导:“通过规划、设计、实施和维护公共自行车和人行道系统来改善我们的社区,并以百时美施贵宝和教育考试服务中心公司站点为支撑,在霍普韦尔和劳伦斯地区创建一个试点项目。”

虽然 20 英里的路线在概念上已经确定,但可以根据需要在路线上进行微小改动。

“劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道是整个劳伦斯镇的一项伟大工程。多年来,我们一直积极努力,为公园和永久性农业保留开放空间。连接城镇各个部分的绿道、连接路和步道一直是我们的愿景。劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道补充并扩大了我们镇的努力。我们赞扬所有参与的人。企业、非营利组织、政府、公民和学校都热情合作,”劳伦斯镇议员帕姆·蒙特说。“我们都期待着 2003 年的动工。”

“劳伦斯霍普威尔步道的创建表明,当公共和私营部门为了整个社区的利益而合作时可以取得什么样的成就。特别要感谢百时美施贵宝和教育考试服务中心,他们是这项工作的领导者,也是“好邻居”企业的典范,”霍普威尔镇女委员会委员玛丽·卢·费拉拉 (Mary Lou Ferrara) 说道。

“我赞扬新泽西州中部公共和私营部门成员的努力,这促成了劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道的修建。通过修建这条 20 英里的步道,我们将为当地居民和家庭提供更多户外娱乐和休闲机会,并帮助他们提高对自然环境的欣赏,”美国众议员拉什·霍尔特说。

“劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道将为默瑟县的所有居民提供新的休闲机会。 LHT 将使默瑟县公园西北区更容易向公众开放。这个占地 1200 英亩的公园是该县的瑰宝之一,这条步道将为更多人提供享受它的机会,”默瑟县行政长官罗伯特·普鲁内蒂 (Robert Prunetti) 说道。

“我对霍普韦尔劳伦斯步道委员会为开发这条步道而建立的公私合作伙伴关系所取得的成功表示赞赏,”新泽西州环境保护部专员布拉德利·M·坎贝尔 (Bradley M. Campbell) 说。 “这项努力是在州长詹姆斯·麦格里维 (James McGreevey) 的领导下,全州正在推行的明智增长举措的一个例子。这条小路将绿地与工作场所连接起来,提供了替代交通机会,有助于减少交通拥堵,提供休闲机会,并改善公众进入公园的通道。”

新泽西州交通部专员杰米·福克斯 (Jamie Fox) 表示:“在新泽西州,骑自行车和步行是全家人一起享受一天的好方法。对于许多市民来说,它们也是上下班的非机动交通工具。”劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道将为居民提供一种安全可靠的方式,让他们通过骑自行车和步行保持更健康的生活方式。该部门对劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道工作组的努力表示赞赏,并期待与这些社区合作,使这条步道成为现实。”

“石溪-磨石流域协会很高兴能够将我们的保护区的一部分用于这条步道。它不仅将社区联系在一起,而且将为人们提供一个更宝贵的机会,让他们更接近自然、户外世界,并改善他们的健康!”石溪磨石流域协会执行董事乔治·霍金斯说。

“霍普韦尔谷地区学区的学生都将受益于 LHT 的存在,”霍普韦尔谷地区学区负责人罗伯特·索普科 (Robert Sopko) 表示。“学校董事会有兴趣探索通过其在彭宁顿-洛基山路 (Pennington-Rocky Hill Road) 拥有的房产来延伸 LHT。”

“自行车道将大大提高我们的生活质量。骑自行车有益健康,为所有年龄段的人提供了绝佳的休闲机会,而且自行车道将减少当地通勤次数。我热烈支持这些努力,”霍普韦尔镇镇长乔恩·爱德华兹说。

“普林斯顿自由骑车者组织是一个由 800 名自行车爱好者组成的团体,他们坚信劳伦斯霍普韦尔步道将为该地区的自行车爱好者带来巨大利益,还将为当地家庭提供跨代休闲机会,并为当地交通提供‘绿色’设施。希望这条步道能够激励其他社区帮助打造‘自行车友好型’新泽西州,”普林斯顿自由骑车者组织的汉克·西格尔说道。

教育考试服务中心副总裁兼公司秘书 Eleanor Horne 表示:“我们认为 Rosedale Road 校区就像一个开放给邻居们游玩的公园。Lawrence Hopewell Trail 为所有人提供了更多娱乐机会。”

zh_CNChinese

A 20-mile biking and walking trail will be constructed through corporate campuses and Mercer County Park Northwest, along existing streets and through school grounds in Lawrence and Hopewell Townships as a result of a grass-roots effort unveiled today. Representatives of businesses, government, non-profit organizations, public and private schools and biking clubs outlined conceptual plans for the Lawrence Hopewell Trail (LHT) during a press conference.

The proposed trail will link dozens of county businesses, schools, parks, recreational sites and and residential areas, and will consist of both new pathways and existing roads. Construction for the new portions of the route will begin in 2003, and completion on a majority of the trail is expected in Fall, 2004.

“Cyclists, walkers, runners, skaters and commuters seeking an alternative way to work or recreate will all be welcome to enjoy the paved pathway planned for construction along a 20-mile loop through Hopewell and Lawrence townships,” said Louis A. Fedele, Bristol-Myers Squibb Senior Facilities Director. Bristol-Myers Squibb (NYSE:BMY) served as the catalyst for the bike path and was quickly and enthusiastically joined by a wide variety of public and private partners.

“Rarely have I seen such strong cooperation between state agencies, the county, two municipalities, corporations, and citizen groups. The result of this unique collaboration is a wonderful resource that can be enjoyed by residents and visitors to Mercer County,” said Kurt Landgraf, President, Educational Testing Service.

A recent survey conducted by the Hopewell Valley YMCA revealed enthusiastic support for walking, running and biking trails among area residents. When asked to identify outdoor activities that are needed in the Hopewell community, most respondents cited trails as either their first or second choice.

Almost half the total construction costs of $6 million has been secured. Bristol-Myers Squibb has committed to cover the $1 million cost of constructing the trail on three of its sites: campuses on Pennington-Rocky Hill Road in Hopewell and Carter Road in Lawrence and along Princeton Pike and Route 295, also in Lawrence. Mercer County Executive Bob Prunetti has earmarked $1.2 million for trail construction in Mercer County Park Northwest. Educational Testing Service has committed to invest $250,000 for a route through its Carter Road campus and to support the maintenance of the trail.

The newly formed non-profit Lawrence-Hopewell Trail Corporation will seek funding from a variety of additional public and private sources, including state Green Acres and state and federal Department of Transportation. The LHT Corporation will oversee construction and maintenance of the trail.

Efforts to create a local biking and walking trail have been co-chaired by Educational Testing Service and Bristol-Myers Squibb. Representatives from Lawrence and Hopewell Township governments and the state Green Acres office of the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection were early supporters and activists in the group, as were representatives of the Mercer County Planning Division.

Throughout the collaborative planning process, the coalition has been guided by its mission: “to enhance our community by planning, designing, implementing and maintaining a public system of biking and pedestrian trails, and to create a pilot project in the Hopewell and Lawrence region with Bristol-Myers Squibb and Educational Testing Service corporate sites serving as anchors.”

While the 20-mile route has been established in concept, minor changes along the route can be made as necessary.

“The Lawrence Hopewell Trail is a great project for the entire Township of Lawrence. We have been working very aggressively for years on preserving open space for parks and permanent agriculture. Greenways, links and trails connecting all parts of town have been a vision. The Lawrence Hopewell Trail complements and expands our town’s efforts. We applaud all those involved. Corporations, non-profits, governments, citizens, and schools have all been enthusiastic and cooperative,” said Pam Mount, Lawrence Township Councilwoman. “We all look forward to the groundbreaking in 2003.”

“The creation of Lawrence Hopewell Trail demonstrates what can be accomplished when the public and private sectors cooperate for the good of the community at large. Special thanks are due to Bristol-Myers Squibb and Educational Testing Service, leaders in this effort, and exemplars of corporations acting as ‘good neighbors,'” said Mary Lou Ferrara, Hopewell Township Committewoman.

“I applaud the effort initiated by members of both the public and private sectors here in central New Jersey that has led to the proposed creation of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail. By creating this 20-mile trail, we will give local residents and families expanded access to outdoor fun and recreation and help build their appreciation for our natural environment,” said U.S. Representative Rush Holt.

“The Lawrence Hopewell Trail will provide new recreational opportunities for all of the residents in Mercer County. The LHT will make Mercer County Park Northwest more accessible to the general public. The 1200-acre park is one of the county’s gems, and the Trail will give more people a chance to enjoy it,” said Robert Prunetti, Mercer County Executive.

“I applaud the success of the Hopewell Lawrence Trail Committee for the public-private partnership they have put together to develop this trail,” said Bradley M. Campbell, Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection. “This effort is an example of the types of smart growth initiatives that are being fostered around the state under the leadership of Governor James McGreevey. The trail, linking green spaces with work places, provides alternative transportation opportunities that will help reduce traffic congestion, offers recreational opportunities, and provides improved public access to our parks.”

“Bicycling and walking in New Jersey are great ways for families to enjoy a day out together. They are also viable means of non-motorized transportation for many citizens to get to and from the workplace,” said Jamie Fox, Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Transportation. The Lawrence Hopewell Trail will provide a safe and reliable way for residents to maintain a healthier lifestyle through bicycling and walking. The Department applauds the efforts of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail Task Force and looks forward to working with these communities to make this trail a reality.”

“The Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed Association is delighted to be able to dedicate part of our Reserve for this trail. Not only will it connect communities together, but it will provide one more precious opportunity for people to get closer to the natural, outdoor world and improve their health to boot!” said George Hawkins, Executive Director, Stony-Brook Millstone-Watershed Association.

“Students from throughout the Hopewell Valley Regional School district will benefit from the existence of the LHT,” said Robert Sopko, Hopewell Valley Regional School District Superintendent. “The school board is interested in exploring the extension of the LHT through property it owns on Pennington-Rocky Hill Road.”

“Bike paths will greatly enhance our quality of life. Biking is healthy, it offers a wonderful recreational opportunity for all ages, and the bike paths will lessen the number of local commuter trips. I enthusiastically endorse these efforts,” said Jon Edwards, Mayor of Hopewell Township.

“The Princeton Freewheelers, an 800 member group of dedicated cyclists, fervently believes that the Lawrence Hopewell Trail will constitute an outstanding benefit for area cyclists, and will also offer local families an intergenerational recreational opportunity, as well as provide a ‘green’ facility for local transportation. It is hoped that this trail will become an incentive for other communities to help create a ‘Bike Friendly’ New Jersey,” said Hank Segal of the Princeton Freewheelers.

“We think of our Rosedale Road campus as a park that is open to our neighbors to enjoy. The Lawrence Hopewell Trail expands the recreational possibilities for all to enjoy,” said Eleanor Horne, Vice President and Corporate Secretary, Educational Testing Service.