劳伦斯维尔星巴克的值班主管。合和小学的一名老师。百时美施贵宝公司副总裁。

 

三个人的职业截然不同,但他们都有一个共同点:他们在劳伦斯霍普威尔步道 (LHT) 上骑自行车上下班。

 

作为骑自行车上班族,他们并不孤单。根据美国联盟的数据,伊恩·格林 (Ian Green)、珍妮特·米尔斯 (Janet Mills) 和萨宾·迈尔 (Sabine Maier) 是使用 LHT 上下班的数十人中的三人,也是骑自行车往返工作地点的超过 12,000 名新泽西州居民中的三人。骑自行车的人(LAB)。

 

在全美范围内,估计有 860,000 人骑自行车上下班。更多人会在 5 月中旬的全国骑车上班周(5 月 13 日至 19 日)和骑车上班日(5 月 17 日星期五)期间尝试一下。这些活动由 LAB 赞助,展示了骑自行车是一种可行、健康、经济且环保的上班方式。而且它变得越来越受欢迎——根据 LAB 的数据,从 2000 年到 2013 年,美国骑自行车通勤的人数增长了 62% 以上。

 

劳伦斯·霍普韦尔步道的部分使命是提高我们地区作为生活和工作场所的吸引力。伊恩·格林说,任务完成了。

 

咖啡与社区

“如果天气足够好,我每周至少骑一次自行车上班,如果不是两次的话,”住在彭宁顿劳伦斯维尔路彭宁顿的星巴克值班主管格林说。 “我开始骑自行车上班,因为我可以。这是一个可行的选择,我使用 LHT 到达这里。”

 

格林指出,骑自行车可以帮助他为新的一天做好准备。 “我戴上耳机,可以准备工作了。这让我更加放松。我的心态与我在这里开车时的心态不同。”

 

格林觉得这段旅程让人平静的部分原因是风景。 “这里有农场、野生动物、美丽的风景。我喜欢它。”

 

在一次骑行中,格林看到了他永远不会忘记的事情。 “有一天,我来到这里,抬头看到了 20 到 30 英尺外的一片模糊,”格林说。 “它着陆了,我看到它是一只秃鹰。到目前为止,这是我见过的最酷的事情之一。”

 

具有社区意识的格林还为布罗梅尔广场的彭宁顿消防公司做志愿者。他如何到达那里?经常骑自行车。

 

音乐和消息

珍妮特·米尔斯是霍普韦尔霍普韦尔小学的一名器乐老师。作为彭宁顿居民,米尔斯对骑自行车上班为其他人树立的榜样及其可持续性有着强烈的感受。

 

“骑自行车让我心情愉快,孩子和家长看到它都有好处,”米尔斯说,她在职业生涯中曾在霍普韦尔谷地区学区的所有小学任教。 “我认为重要的是不要将内燃机污染到空气中。路上的车越少越好。”

 

米尔斯使用 LHT 中与彭宁顿洛基山路 (Pennington Rocky Hill Road) 平行的路段,以及彭宁顿连接线 (Pennington Connection),该连接线提供从彭宁顿市中心到 LHT 的自行车和行人通道。她的总骑行里程为 7.5 英里。

 

由于没有从霍普韦尔区到 LHT 的越野连接(其中一条正处于规划阶段),米尔斯需要经过一些漫长而陡峭的爬坡才能往返于家和工作地点。她是怎么做到的?

 

“我买了一辆电动助力自行车,”米尔斯说。 “上坡的时候,我还是得踩踏板,但到学校就可以不那么热、出汗了。”

 

米尔斯自 1985 年以来一直在该地区任教,四年后开始骑自行车上下班,他使用自行车的目的不仅仅是通勤。 “我尝试骑自行车完成大部分本地事务,”她说。 “我骑车去彭宁顿市场购物。”

 

生物制药与美容

Sabine Maier 是普林斯顿派克百时美施贵宝 (BMS) 肿瘤科副总裁兼开发负责人。她负责监督开发治疗肺癌的新化合物的工作。 “这是非常令人兴奋和有益的,”迈尔说,自两年前普林斯顿派克校区开业以来,他一直骑自行车前往该校区。

 

“在春季、夏季和秋季,我会尽可能多地骑行,”迈尔说。 “不下雨的时候,我每周会使用自行车三到四天。”

 

迈尔住在劳伦斯维尔,靠近主街(206 号公路)。她说,由于有了 LHT,她可以很容易地从家到达普林斯顿派克地点,而无需走主干道。她的路线不是很长——“一英里半或两英里,”她说——但骑行本身无论是对职业还是个人来说都是有益的。

 

“我骑车经过劳伦斯维尔学校所有美丽的树木,这很刺激,”迈尔说。 “当我骑自行车时,我可以比开车时想得更多,并且必须注意交通状况。我发现它更有活力。晚上的时候真的感觉像是在享受一个小假期。很放松。”

 

迈尔说,即使她什么都不做,骑行也是每天锻炼身体的好方法。但她也指出,骑自行车通勤在更大范围内是有回报的。 “我觉得我正在为环境、可持续发展做一些事情。我正在为绿色星球做一些事情。”

 

骑自行车通勤者的见解

我们地区的许多人骑自行车上下班。我们总共采访了其中八个人,并询问他们对任何想要尝试自行车通勤的人的建议和观察:

 

  • “你必须尝试一下……除非你尝试,否则你不知道那是什么感觉。不是一天,而是一周,看看它对你有什么作用。绝大多数时候,人们会感觉不同——发自内心的不同。” Todd Paige,彭宁顿学校中学校长、数学教师

 

  • “我总是尽力鼓励人们。我告诉他们我认为有一条很好的自行车路线可以走。对于许多人来说,骑自行车上班而不是开车上班甚至不会增加太多通勤时间。”—Rob Forsell,教育考试服务系统工程师

 

  • “有时需要克服一些困难才能说好吧,我会这么做。这需要一些计划。但尝试一下,看看它是如何工作的——有很多好处。”——Sabine Maier

 

  • “我家里有两个年幼的孩子。我不想下班后去健身房,骑自行车回家意味着我有更多时间陪伴家人。”—Mike Laudati,教育考试服务机构企业架构师

 

  • “你这是在帮自己的身体一个忙。你可以防止废气被抽入空气中。它树立了榜样。”——Peter Chase,彭宁顿学校德语教师

 

  • “如果距离很远,你可能需要努力才能到达。带水来!”——伊恩·格林

 

  • “当我骑自行车时,我会思考很多。我正在思考工作中的事情,并开始在脑海中列出一份待办事项清单。那是最好的时光——你的头脑很清晰。我会完成骑行并停下来写下我想到的事情。”—Andy Castro,教育考试服务高级架构师

 

  • “买一条 Gore-Tex 雨裤。我爱我的!我经常把它们穿在我的普通裤子外面,因为额外的一层可以让我保持温暖,而且它们可以很好地挡风。我不喜欢在雨中上下班,但当我遇到暴风雨时,它们就太棒了!”——珍妮特·米尔斯

 

LHT 的通勤目的地

LHT 使自行车通勤对许多人来说安全可行,因为它连接了社区和目的地。这条步道及其连接点通往并穿过这些社区、商业中心和公共空间:

 

布里斯托尔迈尔斯-斯奎布 206 号公路

百时美施贵宝普林斯顿派克

教育考试服务

劳伦斯维尔市中心

彭宁顿

布兰登农场

普林斯顿农场

默瑟梅多斯

默瑟县马术中心

流域研究所

玫瑰山保护区

卡森路伍兹

梅登黑德草甸

乡村公园

 

BMS 和 ETS 都设有淋浴间,两个地点的自行车通勤者在长途骑行后都可以使用淋浴间。 BMS 提供自行车库供员工在室内存放自行车。

 

LHT 还与 D&R 运河步道相连,该步道分为三段,总长 77 英里,可到达新不伦瑞克省和特伦顿。

 

此外,LHT 是 Circuit Trails 的一部分,Circuit Trails 是一个由非营利组织、基金会和政府机构合作组成的项目,致力于将现有的步道和步道项目结合在一起,在我们周围形成一个长达 800 英里的巨大步道网络。该网络建成后,用户将能够步行或骑自行车前往宾夕法尼亚州东南部、新不伦瑞克省、阿巴拉契亚小道和松树贫瘠之地。

zh_CNChinese

A shift supervisor at Starbucks in Lawrenceville. A teacher at Hopewell Elementary School. A vice president at Bristol Myers-Squibb.

 

Three people with very different careers, but they all have one thing in common: They get to and from their jobs by bike on the Lawrence Hopewell Trail (LHT).

 

As bicycle commuters, they are not alone. Ian Green, Janet Mills, and Sabine Maier are three of the scores of people who use the LHT to commute—and are three of the more that 12,000 New Jersey residents who bicycle to and from their place of employment, according to the League of American Bicyclists (LAB).

 

Nationwide, an estimated 860,000 people in the U.S. commute by bike. Many more will give it a try in mid-May, during National Bike to Work Week (May 13-19) and Bike to Work Day (Friday, May 17). Sponsored by LAB, these events showcase bicycling as a feasible, healthy, economic, and environmentally sound way to get to work. And it’s becoming more popular—according to LAB, the number of bicycle commuters in the U.S. grew by more than 62 percent from 2000 to 2013.

 

Part of the mission of the Lawrence Hopewell Trail is to increase the desirability of our region as a place to live and work. Mission accomplished, says Ian Green.

 

Coffee and Community

“I bike to work at least once a week if not twice, if the weather is nice enough,” say Starbucks Shift Supervisor Green, who lives in Pennington on Pennington Lawrenceville Road. “I started biking to the job because I could. It’s a viable option, and I use the LHT to get here.”

 

Green points out that the bike ride helps him get ready for the day. “I have my headphones in and I can prep for work. It makes me more relaxed. I have a different state of mind from when I drive here.”

 

Part of the reason that Green finds the ride calming is the view. “There are farms, wildlife, nice scenery. I love it.”

 

And on one ride, Green saw something that he’ll never forget. “One day I was coming here and looked up and saw this blur, 20 to 30 feet away,” says Green. “It landed and I saw that it was a bald eagle. That was, by far, one of the cooler things I’ve ever seen.”

 

The community-minded Green also volunteers for the Pennington Fire Company on Broemel Place. How does he get there? Often, by bike.

 

Music and Messaging

Janet Mills is an instrumental music teacher at Hopewell Elementary School in Hopewell. A Pennington resident, Mills feels strongly about both the example that biking to work sets for others, and its sustainability.

 

“Riding a bike puts me in a good mood—and it’s good for kids and parents to see it,” says Mills, who has taught at all elementary schools in the Hopewell Valley Regional School District in her career. “I feel that it’s important to not put pollution in the air from internal combustion engines. The fewer cars on the road, the better.”

 

Mills uses the section of the LHT that parallels Pennington Rocky Hill Road, as well as the Pennington Connection, which provides bicycle and pedestrian access to the LHT from downtown Pennington. Her total ride is 7 ½ miles.

 

Because there is no off-road connection to the LHT from Hopewell Borough (one is in the planning stages), Mills has some long, steep climbs to navigate between home and work. How does she do it?

 

“I bought an electric assist bike,” says Mills. “When I go uphill, I still have to pedal, but can arrive at school not hot and sweaty.”

 

Mills, who has been teaching in the district since 1985 and began commuting by bike four years later, uses the bike for more than just commuting. “I try to do most of my local errands by bike,” she says. “I ride to Pennington Market to do my shopping.”

 

Biopharmaceuticals and Beauty

Sabine Maier is vice president, development lead in the oncology department at Bristol Myers-Squibb (BMS) on Princeton Pike. She oversees efforts to develop new compounds for treating lung cancer. “It is very exciting and rewarding,” says Maier, who has been biking to the Princeton Pike campus since it opened two years ago.

 

“In spring, summer, and fall, I try to ride as often as can, says Maier. “When it’s not raining, I’ll use the bike three to four days a week.”

 

Maier lives in Lawrenceville, off of Main Street (Route 206). Because of the LHT, she says she can very easily get from her home to the Princeton Pike location without being on a main road. Her route is not very long—”a mile and half or two miles,” she says—but the ride itself is rewarding, professionally and personally.

 

“I ride past all the beautiful trees at The Lawrenceville School, and it’s stimulating,” says Maier. “I can think more when I’m on the bike then when I’m in a car and have to pay attention to traffic. I find it much more energizing. In the evening it really feels like having a little vacation. It’s relaxing.”

 

Maier says that the ride is also a nice way of getting some exercise every day, even if she does nothing else. But she also points out that the bike commute is rewarding on a larger scale. “I feel that I’m doing something for the environment, sustainability. I’m doing something for a green planet.”

 

Insights from Bike Commuters

Many people in our region commute by bike. We spoke to eight of them in all, and asked for their tips and observations for anyone who wants to give bike commuting a try:

 

  • “You’ve got to try it…you don’t know what it feels like until you try it. Not for day but for a week, see what it does for you. The vast majority of the time, people will feel different—viscerally different.” Todd Paige, Head of Middle School, Teacher of Mathematics, The Pennington School

 

  • “I always try to encourage people. I tell them that I think there’s a good cycling route that you could take. For many people, riding a bike to work instead of driving a car wouldn’t even add much time to their commute.”—Rob Forsell, Systems Engineer, Educational Testing Service

 

  • “Sometimes it takes a little bit of getting over the hump to say ok, I’m going to do this. It takes some planning. But try it out and see how it works—there are so many benefits.”—Sabine Maier

 

  • “I have two young kids at home. I don’t want to go to the gym after work, and bicycling home instead means I have more time with my family.”—Mike Laudati, Enterprise architect, Educational Testing Service

 

  • “You’re doing your body a favor. You’re keeping exhaust from being pumped into the air. It sets an example.”—Peter Chase, Teacher of German, The Pennington School

 

  • “If it’s far away, you may have to work up to it. And bring water!”—Ian Green

 

  • “I do a lot of thinking when I’m cycling. I’m thinking about things at work, and start putting together a to-do list in my head. That’s the best time—your mind is clear. I’ll finish my ride and stop and write things down that I thought of.”—Andy Castro, Senior Architect, Educational Testing Service

 

  • “Get a pair of Gore-Tex rain pants. I love mine! I frequently wear them over my regular pants because the extra layer keeps me warm, and they block the wind very nicely. I don’t tend to commute in the rain, but when I’m caught in a rainstorm they are amazing!”—Janet Mills

 

Commuting Destinations on the LHT

The LHT makes bike commuting safe and feasible for many people because it connects both communities and destinations. The trail and its connections lead to and through these neighborhoods, business hubs, and public spaces:

 

Bristol Myers-Squib Route 206

Bristol Myers-Squib Princeton Pike

Educational Testing Service

Downtown Lawrenceville

Pennington

Brandon Farms

Princeton Farms

Mercer Meadows

Mercer County Equestrian Center

The Watershed Institute

Mt. Rose Preserve

Carson Road Woods

Maidenhead Meadows

Village Park

 

Both BMS and ETS have shower rooms, which bike commuters at both locations take advantage of after long rides. BMS provides a bike room for employees to store bicycles indoors.

 

The LHT also connects to the D&R Canal Trail, which has three segments totaling 77 miles that reach to New Brunswick and Trenton.

 

Additionally, the LHT is part of the Circuit Trails——a collaboration of nonprofit organizations, foundations, and government agencies that strives to knit together existing trails and trail projects to form one giant 800-mile network of trails around us. When the network is achieved, users will be able to travel to southeast Pennsylvania to New Brunswick to the Appalachian Trail to the Pine Barrens, on foot or by bike.